Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 22, 2008, 05:51 PM   #1
Zer00
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austria Vienna
Send a message via MSN to Zer00 Send a message via Skype™ to Zer00
MacBook grafic card Intel GMA X3100

i just bought a new macbook and realized that it has the Intel GMA X3100 grafic card.
i have to say that it is totally useless for most of the games i wanted to play as i thought that the macbook would have a Nvidia as the macbook pro.
my question now:
is it possible to insert a new grafic card into the macbook???
__________________
APPLE RULEZ
Black Macbook 2.4Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD
Ipod Touch 16 GB
Zer00 is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2008, 05:53 PM   #2
MasterNile
macrumors 65816
 
MasterNile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
No
__________________
24" Alu iMac, 2.8GHz C2D, 320GB 7200RPM HDD, 2GB RAM;
White MacBook, 2.0GHz C2D, 500GB 5400RPM HDD, 4GB RAM;
Jailbroken 32GB 2nd Gen iPod Touch
MasterNile is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2008, 05:54 PM   #3
ayeying
macrumors 601
 
ayeying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yay Area, CA
Send a message via AIM to ayeying
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer00 View Post
i just bought a new macbook and realized that it has the Intel GMA X3100 grafic card.
i have to say that it is totally useless for most of the games i wanted to play as i thought that the macbook would have a Nvidia as the macbook pro.
my question now:
is it possible to insert a new grafic card into the macbook???
No.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" | 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3L, 1TB SSD, Iris Pro + GT 750M 2GB, Retina, 10.9.4, 8.1 Pro Update 1
iPhone 5 | White, 64GB, AT&T, iOS 7.1.2
iPad Mini | White, 32GB, T-Mobile, iOS 7.1.2
ayeying is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2008, 05:57 PM   #4
airjuggernaut
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
no you can't insert a new "graphic" card into your MacBook.

The most you could do is max out the ram to 4gb which will give the integrated card a slight performance boost.
__________________
15" Unibody MacBook Pro
20" Alu iMac
iPod Touch 16gb
airjuggernaut is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2008, 07:04 PM   #5
JoeDRC
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Nope.
Should of done your research.
__________________
Some of my graphics work
JoeDRC is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2008, 07:17 PM   #6
wilmor42
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London & Jersey
bing bang boom.. yep its been said..
should have done the research, would have taken you less than a minute to find the information.. upgrading the ram is your only bet.. personally i dont play games with my mac.. i never play games.. might aswell just have a peecee for that really...
wilmor42 is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2008, 07:18 PM   #7
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
You'd be much better off getting a PC for a few hundred dollars to game.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2008, 08:17 PM   #8
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Even if you could upgrade it, the cost would be better justified to spend a extra few bucks and get a PC like Eidorian said
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2008, 08:21 PM   #9
Winter Charm
macrumors 6502a
 
Winter Charm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer00 View Post
i just bought a new macbook and realized that it has the Intel GMA X3100 grafic card.
i have to say that it is totally useless for most of the games i wanted to play as i thought that the macbook would have a Nvidia as the macbook pro.
my question now:
is it possible to insert a new grafic card into the macbook???
If YOu use bootcamp, and install windows vista, - it allocates the GMA X3100 with 358 MB of video RAM - a big boost over OSX for games (OSX only gives 144 MB of VRAM)

so you can still play games like crysis.... but only in low detail.
__________________
21.5 2010 iMac; 15" 2011 MBP 2.2Ghz; iPad 2 64GB Wifi; iPhone 4S 32GB; Late 2009 Mac mini 2.5Ghz
Winter Charm is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2008, 08:22 PM   #10
Warbrain
macrumors 603
 
Warbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
What games? The X3100, from my own experience, isn't that bad.
__________________
WARBRAIN
Twitter | Blog
Warbrain is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2008, 08:28 PM   #11
DeusInvictus7
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer00 View Post
i thought that the macbook would have a Nvidia as the macbook pro.
being perfectly honest, since when has the macbook had anything more than just integrated graphics?

and like Warbrain said, the X3100 isnt that bad, it just wont play any intensive games and especially not at really high FPS
DeusInvictus7 is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2008, 09:38 PM   #12
Elven
macrumors 6502a
 
Elven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to Elven
Dude you bought a Macbook, then found out.


BUAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHHA OWNED DUDE.


Seriously what a plank you are, you mean you did not even check the specifications of a expensive machine, come to my store I'll happily sell you a Pentium 2 with onboard gfx, I'll put it in a modern case and hell you'd buy it.
__________________
iMac 27' i7, 4GB, 1TB, 2GB 6970M - iPhone 4s White 16GB - iPad 3rd Gen White 16GB wifi - 2010 MacBook Pro 13' 2.4GHZ C2D 4GB
Elven is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2008, 09:49 PM   #13
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer00 View Post
i just bought a new macbook and realized that it has the Intel GMA X3100 grafic card.
i have to say that it is totally useless for most of the games i wanted to play as i thought that the macbook would have a Nvidia as the macbook pro.
my question now:
is it possible to insert a new grafic card into the macbook???
No.

The system specifications for the MacBook are listed on the website, the box, anyone who sells them would be able to tell you the specs.

Nothing you can do I'm sorry.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2008, 03:41 AM   #14
Zer00
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austria Vienna
Send a message via MSN to Zer00 Send a message via Skype™ to Zer00
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elven View Post
Dude you bought a Macbook, then found out.


BUAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHHA OWNED DUDE.


Seriously what a plank you are, you mean you did not even check the specifications of a expensive machine, come to my store I'll happily sell you a Pentium 2 with onboard gfx, I'll put it in a modern case and hell you'd buy it.
Well I thought due to the fact that it IS AN EXPENSIVE MACHINE they could at least have some good hardware...
well whatever i bought it now and wont make the same mistake again.
my next computer is gonna be a macbook pro or mac pro ^^
__________________
APPLE RULEZ
Black Macbook 2.4Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD
Ipod Touch 16 GB
Zer00 is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2008, 03:49 AM   #15
mosx
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer00 View Post
Well I thought due to the fact that it IS AN EXPENSIVE MACHINE they could at least have some good hardware...
well whatever i bought it now and wont make the same mistake again.
my next computer is gonna be a macbook pro or mac pro ^^
Take it back and get a different computer.

If I could I would have returned my MacBook for a computer with real hardware. But I made the mistake of buying into the Apple Hype until the return window was closed.
mosx is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2008, 04:56 AM   #16
Lachman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Send a message via MSN to Lachman
The X3100 isnt that bad i can play Halo on it
Lachman is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2008, 05:08 AM   #17
Scarlet Fever
macrumors 68040
 
Scarlet Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bookshop!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer00 View Post
Well I thought due to the fact that it IS AN EXPENSIVE MACHINE they could at least have some good hardware...
well whatever i bought it now and wont make the same mistake again.
my next computer is gonna be a macbook pro or mac pro ^^
find us a 13" notebook with a 2.1GHz or 2.4GHz dual core chip, bluetooth, N wireless, SATA HDD and up to 4GB of RAM with anything more than the X3100 for the same cost as a MacBook and we'll believe that statement.

Honestly, if your goal is to play games on your computer, you'd be better off building yourself a desktop PC.
Scarlet Fever is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2008, 05:26 AM   #18
mynameisshawn
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lachman View Post
The X3100 isnt that bad i can play Halo on it
Dude, my 5 year old Dell Dimension 4600 could play Halo with its integrated graphics chip, mind you this specific computer is #10 in PC World's 10 worst computers (the 256mb NVidia card died along with half of the computer). Honestly I like bragging about it

Anyway back on topic: I don't get gaming with a laptop, unless its flash, widgets, or ROMs - something small and occasional.
__________________
17" MBP, Penryn 2.5 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 200 GB HD 7200 RPM; iMac 233 MHz; Macintosh IIvx 32 MHz; 8 GB iPod Touch; LaCie 500GB FW800 & Maxtor 1TB USB
mynameisshawn is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2008, 06:29 AM   #19
Admonitor
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarlet Fever View Post
find us a 13" notebook with a 2.1GHz or 2.4GHz dual core chip, bluetooth, N wireless, SATA HDD and up to 4GB of RAM with anything more than the X3100 for the same cost as a MacBook and we'll believe that statement.

Honestly, if your goal is to play games on your computer, you'd be better off building yourself a desktop PC.
http://configure.euro.dell.com/dells...N08X3307&s=dhs

That's in the price range between the low and mid range Macbook in the UK, and it has a dedicated graphics card, with Bluetooth, N wifi, can have up to 4GB (and in fact comes with more RAM by default than the Macbook), can have a free upgrade to a much bigger battery..etc

Challenging people to find a similar spec PC to a Mac is not exactly hard...
Admonitor is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2008, 06:44 AM   #20
nick9191
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Britain
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinjin201 View Post
If YOu use bootcamp, and install windows vista, - it allocates the GMA X3100 with 358 MB of video RAM - a big boost over OSX for games (OSX only gives 144 MB of VRAM)

so you can still play games like crysis.... but only in low detail.
You can chuck 900gigs of VRAM on it and thats what it will be. A useless ancient card with 900gigs of VRAM. Its not VRAM that increases speed, its just a contributing factor.

OP, within a month or two they will be releasing new Apple laptops. Take it back and see what rolls around. At the very least it will have the X4500 integrated chip, which is comparable to Nvidia's 8400GS.
nick9191 is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2008, 07:01 AM   #21
UltraNEO*
macrumors 68040
 
UltraNEO*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 近畿日本
Send a message via AIM to UltraNEO*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elven View Post
Dude you bought a Macbook, then found out.


BUAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHHA OWNED DUDE.
I second that!!

FYI: http://www.apple.com/macbook/specs.html
__________________
i7-3060X @4.9Ghz/RIVE/16Gb/BDRE/GTX580SLI/RAID5/3008WFPx2 | 光
UltraNEO* | follow me
UltraNEO* is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2008, 07:52 AM   #22
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeDRC View Post
Nope.
Should of done your research.
Yep- what was the OP thinking? Macs aren't for gaming- they're for work. You wanna play games, get an XBox or a Wii.
leekohler is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2008, 07:57 AM   #23
bartzilla
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admonitor View Post
http://configure.euro.dell.com/dells...N08X3307&s=dhsand it has a dedicated graphics card,
People keep going on about "dedicated graphics card" like simply having one is the holy grail of being able to play games. The 8400M you're talking about there is a nice card to have for pushing pixels about on a laptop but in terms of being able to play recent games "properly", it's still carved out of pure fail.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Admonitor View Post
Challenging people to find a similar spec PC to a Mac is not exactly hard...
Well no, but looking at laundry lists of circuit boards that got slung inside the case kinda misses the point. Fit and finish is what counts, and is why Dell are cheap and cheerful but spanked by quite a few other PC manufacturers when it comes to making products that are actually nice to use, without even having to bring Apple and OS X into the equation.
bartzilla is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2008, 08:35 AM   #24
*Sandy*
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Always in a path of a Hurricane!
Everyone makes mistakes , buy a MBP in the future.
*Sandy* is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2008, 08:53 AM   #25
panzer06
macrumors 68030
 
panzer06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kilrath
Quote:
Originally Posted by leekohler View Post
Yep- what was the OP thinking? Macs aren't for gaming- they're for work.
This is great, the Mac guy of the commercials would heartily disagree, though I can see PC smiling at that one!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarlet Fever View Post
find us a 13" notebook with a 2.1GHz or 2.4GHz dual core chip, bluetooth, N wireless, SATA HDD and up to 4GB of RAM with anything more than the X3100 for the same cost as a MacBook and we'll believe that statement.

Honestly, if your goal is to play games on your computer, you'd be better off building yourself a desktop PC.
Not the same form factor but definitely more power for a very reasonable price.

A Friend of mine got this version of the 16 inch Vaio VGN-FW139E/H. It has a 1600x900 resolution running the Centrino 2 2.26 CPU, ATI 3470, 3GB RAM, GBe, HDMI, FW and 250GB HD. I must say for $999 (when it was on sale, now $1050 -$ 1150) it was a good deal. Also the 3470 does pretty good on most games, no super high frame rates but certainly enjoyable with Company of Heroes (using the DX9 settings), AOE3, C&C3, etc.

At 6.5 lb. its nice, as general purpose Windows laptop that can play games but its certainly not a Mac (no OSX).

Cheers,
__________________
Trust, but locate the doors,
2011 Mini 16GB/500GB SSDVerizon 32GB iPad AirMoto X 32GB*MSI GT70-890 20GB*1TB SSD* Flickr *
panzer06 is offline   0

Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just how bad is a gma 950? Zellio Mac mini 31 Aug 18, 2013 06:36 PM
OS-neutral: GMA 950 vs X1600 (MacBook vs iMac) Goftrey Mac and PC Games 5 Feb 13, 2013 05:00 AM
MacBook X3100-64bit NO OpenGL - Quartz Extreme Support? pranayam OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Oct 14, 2012 04:27 PM
Question about returning a Macbook purchased with credit card and gift card combinati andy318 MacBook Pro 4 Jun 17, 2012 12:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC