Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 26, 2008, 03:56 PM   #1
snook911
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
iPhone 3G stuck at the apple screen......

So I was trying to install the movie.app I saw here at macrumors and all of a sudden it crashed to the little silver apple screen and seems stuck there. I have tried the hard reset (home and lock button) several times but it just stays on the apple screen. Its been about 15 min now and its till on the apple. Can hard resets take this long? I think I see a visit to the apple store in my future. Any suggestions?
__________________
iPhone 4GB/3G iPhone 8 GB/5th Gen iPod Nano Video 8GB/ 2 32GB white ipod touch(kids)/iPhone 4 16GB(sold)/32GB iPhone 4S(sold)/16GB WiFi iPad/AppleTV(sold)/July2011 13.3 MBP/32GB iPhone 5(SOON!!!)
snook911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 04:05 PM   #2
Opie
macrumors 6502a
 
Opie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Put in recovery mode. Hold home and sleep button for 10 sec then release the sleep wake button and continue to hold home button for 5 seconds and see if it goes into recovery mode. then hook up to itunes. Then restore. Good Luck
Opie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 04:29 PM   #3
snook911
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opie View Post
Put in recovery mode. Hold home and sleep button for 10 sec then release the sleep wake button and continue to hold home button for 5 seconds and see if it goes into recovery mode. then hook up to itunes. Then restore. Good Luck
Thanks, tried the recovery mode thing it resets but then does not go past the apple screen. Don't have itunes at the office (old computer) will try to plug it into itunes when I get home. Made an appointment at the genius bar for 5:40 pm just in case. By the way for anyone who cares Apple has opened up another store here in vegas at the forum shops at ceasars palace. Thats 3 stores all on the same street within 5 miles and I here 2 more are in the works.. cool.
__________________
iPhone 4GB/3G iPhone 8 GB/5th Gen iPod Nano Video 8GB/ 2 32GB white ipod touch(kids)/iPhone 4 16GB(sold)/32GB iPhone 4S(sold)/16GB WiFi iPad/AppleTV(sold)/July2011 13.3 MBP/32GB iPhone 5(SOON!!!)
snook911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 04:33 PM   #4
trunksu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
i think u have to have the iphone connector connected to your phone and computer when you put it in recovery mode. at least that's what i was told to do and it worked.

but yeah restore your phone via recovery mode once you get home and it should be good to go. as for your recent data, u probably lost it unless you made a backup recently
trunksu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 04:47 PM   #5
snook911
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by trunksu View Post
i think u have to have the iphone connector connected to your phone and computer when you put it in recovery mode. at least that's what i was told to do and it worked.

but yeah restore your phone via recovery mode once you get home and it should be good to go. as for your recent data, u probably lost it unless you made a backup recently

Thanks I'm thinking about taking a trip home to give this a try.(only live about 10 mins from office) By the way anyone know if I bring in the box and all the things that came with the phone can I get a new one in the box. I really want the serial # on the phone to match the box.
__________________
iPhone 4GB/3G iPhone 8 GB/5th Gen iPod Nano Video 8GB/ 2 32GB white ipod touch(kids)/iPhone 4 16GB(sold)/32GB iPhone 4S(sold)/16GB WiFi iPad/AppleTV(sold)/July2011 13.3 MBP/32GB iPhone 5(SOON!!!)
snook911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 04:49 PM   #6
trunksu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by snook911 View Post
Thanks I'm thinking about taking a trip home to give this a try.(only live about 10 mins from office) By the way anyone know if I bring in the box and all the things that came with the phone can I get a new one in the box. I really want the serial # on the phone to match the box.
they gave me one of those OEM type phones when i had mine swapped so probably not although i've read posts on here that people "have" been able to get one with a new box. guess it depends on the genius you get?
trunksu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 04:58 PM   #7
Heyitsme24
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
98% chance restore will fix it so dont get your hopes up on a fresh one.

Same thing happened to me at work. It sucks I had to run home and get my laptop and cable.
Heyitsme24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 05:00 PM   #8
aaquib
macrumors 65816
 
aaquib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
I had the same problem. I put it in DFU mode, restored it, and it worked fine.
__________________
13.3" MacBook Air 1.86GHz, 128GB SSD; 20" Cinema Display
iPad 16GB Wifi
aaquib is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 05:06 PM   #9
snook911
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
I called the apple store and the guy there said if I did not have time to do the restore before the appointment to just bring it in. They would'nt make me wait while they did the restore in the store would they? I mean that could take hours.
__________________
iPhone 4GB/3G iPhone 8 GB/5th Gen iPod Nano Video 8GB/ 2 32GB white ipod touch(kids)/iPhone 4 16GB(sold)/32GB iPhone 4S(sold)/16GB WiFi iPad/AppleTV(sold)/July2011 13.3 MBP/32GB iPhone 5(SOON!!!)
snook911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 05:08 PM   #10
trunksu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
all the replies are right, very good chance a restore will fix your problem. the recovery mode at the apple store will be the same thing you do at home but it won't have your data till you plug it into your itunes @ home. it'll be like when you first got your phone.

also the recovery mode takes less than 5min so you might as well just wait for it. restoring or dumping your mp3s/videos etc will take muuuuucccch longer though (depending how much stuff you have) and can only be done at home.
trunksu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 05:17 PM   #11
snook911
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by trunksu View Post
all the replies are right, very good chance a restore will fix your problem. the recovery mode at the apple store will be the same thing you do at home but it won't have your data till you plug it into your itunes @ home. it'll be like when you first got your phone.

also the recovery mode takes less than 5min so you might as well just wait for it. restoring or dumping your mp3s/videos etc will take muuuuucccch longer though (depending how much stuff you have) and can only be done at home.
Thanks for the info. Will try the rcovery mode plugged into the computer first.
__________________
iPhone 4GB/3G iPhone 8 GB/5th Gen iPod Nano Video 8GB/ 2 32GB white ipod touch(kids)/iPhone 4 16GB(sold)/32GB iPhone 4S(sold)/16GB WiFi iPad/AppleTV(sold)/July2011 13.3 MBP/32GB iPhone 5(SOON!!!)
snook911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 05:23 PM   #12
maverickuk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
This happened to me today updating Ambiance.

My phone was screwed, it even crashed both mine and Apples own iTunes.

They replaced my phone this evening.
maverickuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 06:15 PM   #13
snook911
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Well I found an xp computer at the office to download itunes to and the phone is restoring right now. Once its done I'm sure it will be fine. Thanks everyone.
__________________
iPhone 4GB/3G iPhone 8 GB/5th Gen iPod Nano Video 8GB/ 2 32GB white ipod touch(kids)/iPhone 4 16GB(sold)/32GB iPhone 4S(sold)/16GB WiFi iPad/AppleTV(sold)/July2011 13.3 MBP/32GB iPhone 5(SOON!!!)
snook911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 08:56 PM   #14
nyfinest32
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Thumbs down

second time this week my iphone froze like this. had to restore both times, which took forever! this is getting ridiculous
nyfinest32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 09:43 PM   #15
bluelondon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
just happend to my phone on the way home, weird thing is i wasn't even using it

maybe battery died and then this happend. everything else has been working fine so far. oh well, time for recovery/restore. hope it works.
bluelondon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 09:49 PM   #16
GNice
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by maverickuk View Post
This happened to me today updating Ambiance.

My phone was screwed, it even crashed both mine and Apples own iTunes.

They replaced my phone this evening.
Hmmmm...mine just "died/locked up" installing Ambiance as well. Doing a restore now. Wonder what it is about that about that app...
__________________
13" Macbook Air 'Ultimate' 24" Aluminum iMac 2.4 GHz -3GB RAM 16 GB iPhone 4
GNice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 09:50 PM   #17
nyfinest32
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
i was installing the chopper update when mine froze
nyfinest32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 09:57 PM   #18
SFC Archer
macrumors 68000
 
SFC Archer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Troy, MT
Mine was picture vault last night when it locked up.

This morning it was Picture Vault, Ambience and/or Recorder

I highly recommend to NOT update Apps using the iPhone...there is major software issues and the forums are FULL of them...not just here but in Apple forums and they are pulling complaint threads pretty quickly.

Lets go Apple...get your own CRAPWARE fixed!!!
__________________
Alienware M17X R4 (I'M A PC!)
8gb Classic: iDay; 16gb 3: SOLD $336 used 2 years; 32gb 3GS: 1 July 09 (Now Sons); 32 gb iPhone 4: 29 June 10 (Now Daughters); 32gb iPhone 5: 4 Dec 12
SFC Archer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 03:57 AM   #19
coneybeare
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I am the developer of Ambiance

Hey Guys,

I am the developer of Ambiance. I have received some complaints about crashes in the install of my App and just wanted to say that all of the install code is written by Apple. Here is what I have noticed:

1) Larger Apps tend to fail on download/install more than smaller apps
2) Doing other activity on the phone mid-install is not wise
3) Even Apple's Hold-Em (over 100MB) crashed my phone!

I have a bug filed with Apple (Problem Number 6201858) so if you have developer access, you can check it out.

Here is a list of things to try if this happens to you (most of people that have come to me with problems have been able to fix it using one of these).

I would try powering off/on your phone. If that doesn't work, then a hard reset by holding the sleep and home button until the phone turns off. Power it back on. If that doesn't work, then try syncing up with iTunes. If that doesn't work, I would try removing Ambiance and any other apps that you installed after Ambiance, then letting iTunes reinstall them for you. As a last resort, you can try restoring your phone to a previous date through iTunes and then try again.
coneybeare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 05:37 AM   #20
Bravo0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by snook911 View Post
So I was trying to install the movie.app I saw here at macrumors and all of a sudden it crashed to the little silver apple screen and seems stuck there. I have tried the hard reset (home and lock button) several times but it just stays on the apple screen. Its been about 15 min now and its till on the apple. Can hard resets take this long? I think I see a visit to the apple store in my future. Any suggestions?
Follow this guide: http://arstechnica.com/journals/appl...-recovery-mode

15-MIN SOLUTION: CONNECT TO ITUNES AND REBOOT 3 TIMES TO AVOID RESTORE
So this has happened to me more times than i can count, and I've recovered both my phones (2G + 3G) using this method. I've seen some people in this thread allude to this solution but let me just spell it out completely and hopefully this will save you a few restores on your phone.

1. Connect to iTunes via USB. Do not disconnect for rest of these steps. iTunes may appear frozen or stuck with spinning beachball....this is okay, do not Force Quit iTunes. I tried a few times w/o it being connected to iTunes and it doesn't work.
2. Once connected, hold Home + Power until screen blinks then Apple logo comes back up.
3. Wait until Apple logo dims slightly (~5 minutes or less). Do NOT reboot until the apple logo dims.
4. Hold Home + Power again until it reboots and Apple logo comes back up.
5. After 2 min or so, the phone may vibrate once or twice. Continue waiting for the full 5 min until Apple logo dims slightly. iTunes at this stage MAY recognize the phone...do not sync or do anything in iTunes.
6. Hold Home + Power for the 3rd time until it reboots. Phone may vibrate again after 2 minutes or so. Eventually you'll break into your Home screen.
Hope that helps and let me know if it does.

Apparently what causes this endless loop is that the SpringBoard crashes upon launch (over and over again) and launches CrashReporter on the phone itself. It goes into an endless loop until somehow iTunes while connected via USB triggers some sort of fix on the SpringBoard or its preferences/database.
Bravo0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 06:52 AM   #21
mavis
macrumors 68040
 
mavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Send a message via AIM to mavis Send a message via MSN to mavis
The cause of this is explained in detail here, along with the solution.
__________________
27" iMac | 15" rMBP | 13" MBA | AEBSx2 | ATV3
128GB rMini LTE | 128GB iPhone 6 | 64GB iPad Air
mavis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 11:43 AM   #22
Mikey B
macrumors 65816
 
Mikey B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: the island
Quote:
Originally Posted by mavis View Post
The cause of this is explained in detail here, along with the solution.
SSH'ing in is a good fix, but useless unless you're jailbroken. I only mention this because this post makes it seem like there's a solution for someone facing the ALoD right now, and it won't help them if they aren't jailbroken.

And the 2 times I've tried the "Darwinian Dude" fix, it hasn't worked for me.

Really, the only proper fix is when Apple gets their friggin act together and pushes out a firmware update that addresses this issue. Honestly, I feel like this should be their number 1 priority. I have wsted countless hours of my life and lost a lot of data restoring my iPhone because of the ALoD. I'm getting wicked pissed off. I can deal with SMS and Contact lags, Safari crashing, and just about any other bug, but constant ALoD's is ridiculous.
__________________
2.4 Aluminum MacBook / iPhone 4 Black 16GB / 1.83 ghz CD WhiteBook
Twitter.

Last edited by Mikey B; Sep 7, 2008 at 11:50 AM.
Mikey B is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 02:32 PM   #23
juandixon109
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by coneybeare View Post
Hey Guys,

I am the developer of Ambiance. I have received some complaints about crashes in the install of my App and just wanted to say that all of the install code is written by Apple. Here is what I have noticed:

1) Larger Apps tend to fail on download/install more than smaller apps
2) Doing other activity on the phone mid-install is not wise
3) Even Apple's Hold-Em (over 100MB) crashed my phone!

I have a bug filed with Apple (Problem Number 6201858) so if you have developer access, you can check it out.

Here is a list of things to try if this happens to you (most of people that have come to me with problems have been able to fix it using one of these).

I would try powering off/on your phone. If that doesn't work, then a hard reset by holding the sleep and home button until the phone turns off. Power it back on. If that doesn't work, then try syncing up with iTunes. If that doesn't work, I would try removing Ambiance and any other apps that you installed after Ambiance, then letting iTunes reinstall them for you. As a last resort, you can try restoring your phone to a previous date through iTunes and then try again.
its not just with ambiance, its with any apps, the more apps you have the bigger chance of getting the ASOD to occur. =/ its an apple firmware bug for sure.
juandixon109 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 02:46 PM   #24
PNutts
macrumors 601
 
PNutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest, US
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey B View Post
SSH'ing in is a good fix, but useless unless you're jailbroken. I only mention this because this post makes it seem like there's a solution for someone facing the ALoD right now, and it won't help them if they aren't jailbroken.

And the 2 times I've tried the "Darwinian Dude" fix, it hasn't worked for me.

Really, the only proper fix is when Apple gets their friggin act together and pushes out a firmware update that addresses this issue. Honestly, I feel like this should be their number 1 priority. I have wsted countless hours of my life and lost a lot of data restoring my iPhone because of the ALoD. I'm getting wicked pissed off. I can deal with SMS and Contact lags, Safari crashing, and just about any other bug, but constant ALoD's is ridiculous.
Don't bother replying... It's a crusade.

I agree with your post 100% and it is not my problem to solve.
PNutts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 04:28 PM   #25
Heyitsme24
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I thought it was the asleep app that kept aloding my phone at some point after I installed it everytime. Ambiance works good for me no problems. But I guess that just means any big apps have a chance of crashing it.
Heyitsme24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: iphone 4s restarted now stuck on ios6 screen/activation screen asprings Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 19 Sep 1, 2013 02:06 AM
iPhone 5 BootLoop (stuck at Apple Logo and the brightness dims and stuck) david19au iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jul 13, 2013 01:21 AM
iPhone: jailbroken iPhone 4 with Apple logo stuck on screen shota Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 18 May 8, 2013 03:34 AM
My Iphone is stuck on apple screen and keeps resetting. jasjw iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Mar 28, 2013 05:05 PM
iphone 3g stuck on green screen and apple logo blueezee78 iPhone 2 Jun 8, 2012 01:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC