Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 28, 2008, 06:40 PM   #1
randomusername
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Are all monitors Mac compatible?

I was wondering if all monitors are compatible with Macs (I have an Intel Mac running leopard) and if not, how do I find out which ones are or aren't Mac compatible.


Thanks
__________________
2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 250GB HDD Black MacBook
32GB iPhone 3GS (white)
randomusername is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2008, 06:42 PM   #2
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by randomusername View Post
I was wondering if all monitors are compatible with Macs (I have an Intel Mac running leopard) and if not, how do I find out which ones are or aren't Mac compatible.


Thanks
They all are. They'll use either VGA or DVI (DVI is best) so just make sure you get the right adapter if you need one (iMac & MacBook, the MacBook Pro, Mac mini and Mac Pro come with a DVI -> VGA adapter) otherwise just plug it on in.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is online now   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2008, 06:44 PM   #3
neiltc13
macrumors 68040
 
neiltc13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
The monitor must have a DVI or VGA port. If it has a HDMI port or DisplayPort port instead then you'll need an adapter or converter.
neiltc13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2008, 06:44 PM   #4
ZiggyPastorius
macrumors 68040
 
ZiggyPastorius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Berklee College of Music
Send a message via AIM to ZiggyPastorius Send a message via MSN to ZiggyPastorius Send a message via Skype™ to ZiggyPastorius
Yes. As long as they use a port (DVI or VGA or whatever) that you have the input for, it will work.
__________________
The multiplying villainies of nature do swarm upon him, and fortune, on his damned quarrel, smiling, showed like a rebel's whore.
ZiggyPastorius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2008, 07:58 PM   #5
stainlessliquid
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Yes all computer monitors work with intel macs. Older macs like early G4's would need an adapter for that braindead ADC port apple used instead of normal DVI, also older Cinema Displays that have stupid ADC would need an adapter for DVI computers. With the exception of the old apple monitors there are no monitors that dont have at least VGA or DVI.
stainlessliquid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2008, 08:28 PM   #6
localoid
macrumors 68020
 
localoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: America's Third World
Don't forget the DVI comes in different "flavors", e.g., DVI-I , DVI-D, etc. This was recently discussed in this thread.
localoid is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2008, 08:41 PM   #7
cherry su
macrumors 65816
 
cherry su's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
No. Not the ones that have the sticker that says "Works with Windows Vista"

__________________
MacBook Air 13/1.86/4/128 : Dell Streak 5 : Canon EOS 5D Mark II + 24-105L
MIT '14
My Blog
cherry su is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2008, 09:44 PM   #8
stainlessliquid
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by localoid View Post
Don't forget the DVI comes in different "flavors", e.g., DVI-I , DVI-D, etc. This was recently discussed in this thread.
When it comes to monitors thats not an issue, at least not with macs since all of them support analog and digital. That guys problem was using 2 adapters that are supposed to connect directly to the computer, you cant daisy chain them.
stainlessliquid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2008, 04:27 PM   #9
macsig
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles View Post
iMac & MacBook, the MacBook Pro, Mac mini and Mac Pro come with a DVI -> VGA adapter
Hello, I'm thinking to buy a LG W2252TQ and in the support site I found:

Quote:
You will have no trouble with the hardware, but software bundle with monitors will not load on a MAC. (There’s not any DVI support for MAC)
What does it mean? Have I to use the adapter or anyway I can't use it through DVI.

THANKS
__________________
Alla prossima ...
macsig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2008, 04:33 PM   #10
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
Some companies don't test with a Mac, or still think that Macs still have either the Old DE-15 connector that they had prior to the B&W G3, or that they still have the ADC. Any VGA connection will work on a Mac built since the B&W G3 (with an adapter required for some systems that only have DVI, Mini-VGA, Mini-DVI, Micro-DVI, or only ADC & DVI), and any DVI connection will work on any Mac with a DVI or mini/micro-DVI connection, or most with an ADC connection (with adapter), regardless of what the manufacturer states. The only question is resolution support or frequency, which is mostly a software thing.

^^^
What they mean is that their special software won't work on the Mac, but you don't need it, since the Mac will support it out of the box. You may have to use the Colorsync setup yourself instead of relying on other software to color correct.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2008, 04:46 PM   #11
macsig
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEG View Post
You may have to use the Colorsync setup yourself instead of relying on other software to color correct.
Thanks Teg, how can I setup Colorsync? Can I find some software made for Mac in order to handle it?

Thanks again
__________________
Alla prossima ...
macsig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 08:58 PM   #12
frederic.eb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
can't connect to my display

Hi, I cannot connect to a Samsung B2230 ext display with a macbookpro. It did once but never again after that. I have a Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter. Is it the wrong adaptor? or ...
frederic.eb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 10:35 PM   #13
FrankHahn
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry su View Post
No. Not the ones that have the sticker that says "Works with Windows Vista"

Image
A good sense of humor!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by frederic.eb View Post
Hi, I cannot connect to a Samsung B2230 ext display with a macbookpro. It did once but never again after that. I have a Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter. Is it the wrong adaptor? or ...
You may need to make some selections in the System Preferences under the menu.
FrankHahn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2012, 02:50 AM   #14
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by macsig View Post
Thanks Teg, how can I setup Colorsync? Can I find some software made for Mac in order to handle it?
Colorsync calibration is built into the "System Preferences". It's very easy to use and good enough for normal everyday use. If you are a graphics artist who needs absolutely perfect calibration, you will probably buy some hardware solution, and whatever comes on the Windows discs wouldn't have been good enough anyway.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2012, 04:56 AM   #15
GroundLoop
macrumors 65816
 
GroundLoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnasher729 View Post
Colorsync calibration is built into the "System Preferences". It's very easy to use and good enough for normal everyday use. If you are a graphics artist who needs absolutely perfect calibration, you will probably buy some hardware solution, and whatever comes on the Windows discs wouldn't have been good enough anyway.
You do realize that you just responded to a post that is almost 4 years old right? Hopefully, he has figured it out by now.

GL
GroundLoop is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Dell monitors with audio & webcam compatible with Mac OS X? flr Mac Peripherals 3 May 20, 2014 02:00 AM
Monitors, Monitors, Monitors... 2013 Air (13") logo3801 MacBook Air 7 Mar 2, 2014 10:12 PM
using 2 mac monitors pepdesign Mac Basics and Help 5 Feb 9, 2014 06:16 AM
Samsung announced 24" Mac compatible touchscreen monitor. Does it work on Mac 10.8.4? Warrenn Mac Peripherals 7 Jul 12, 2013 10:34 PM
Mac OS X/Mac Pro 4,1-compatible graphic cards? Pörsödil Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Sep 7, 2012 04:35 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC