Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2004, 09:16 AM   #1
MacBytes
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Lacie bring out a 1 terabyte external HD


Category: 3rd Party Hardware
Link: Lacie bring out a 1 terabyte external HD

Posted on MacBytes.com

Approved by Mudbug
MacBytes is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2004, 09:24 AM   #2
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
OMG! That's just nuts! But so very cool if you do video or animation....

And its only $1200! You'd think it would be so much more. Very impressive. I'd love to have one just to say I have a TerraByte of storage on my desktop

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2004, 09:29 AM   #3
Laslo Panaflex
macrumors 65816
 
Laslo Panaflex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tokyo
I have a terrabyte of storage on my desktop in the form of a jbod that is four 250gig drives. This lacie drive is way smaller and comporable in price. Of course I have only 500gigs of storage space, I have the drives set up as a mirror for redundancy. Cool drive.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.6ghz, 12GB RAM, 4 - 1 TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 3870
Macbook Pro 15" 2.8ghz, 8GB RAM, 500GB HD || iPhone 4 16GB
Laslo Panaflex is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2004, 10:13 AM   #4
machinehien
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: houston
thatsa big meatball

wow, a terrabyte. Pretty scary if you think about it.
machinehien is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2004, 11:40 AM   #5
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
my plan for taking over the world is getting cheaper and cheaper by the day. anyways, that is pretty awesome, and even better its made by a quality company like lacie, still rather have a xserve raid, much cooler but much more xpensive.

iJon
iJon is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2004, 12:02 PM   #6
Gymnut
macrumors 68000
 
Gymnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hawaii
One word: Wow. My 240GB is getting pretty cramped!
Gymnut is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2004, 12:03 PM   #7
kettle
macrumors 65816
 
kettle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: England, Great Britain (Airstrip One)
Send a message via AIM to kettle
If I got one for my tangerine iMac, would I have to install OSX in the first 7Gigs of the drive or could I put it in any of my hundred odd partitions?
__________________
Well gentlemen, a great deal of money has been invested in this project...
...and we can't allow it to fail.
File Under - METAL
kettle is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2004, 12:45 PM   #8
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
That's pretty amazing, and $1200 (652!!!) for 1 terabyte external drive is outstanding, imagine how much it will be down to a year from now
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2004, 01:21 PM   #9
gerardrj
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally posted by kettle
If I got one for my tangerine iMac, would I have to install OSX in the first 7Gigs of the drive or could I put it in any of my hundred odd partitions?
The 8GB boot partition only applies to drives on the built-in IDE bus of the affected machines. SCSI, FireWire, and PCI card connected IDE drives are not affected by the limitation.
If you connect this to your system and it supports booting to Firewire, then you can boot to a 1TB partition if you like, barring any other OS or firmware limiations.
gerardrj is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2004, 02:09 PM   #10
kettle
macrumors 65816
 
kettle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: England, Great Britain (Airstrip One)
Send a message via AIM to kettle
no.. I mean what if I get a 1Terra and stick it inside my fictitious tangerino mobile? What would I do then? ay?
__________________
Well gentlemen, a great deal of money has been invested in this project...
...and we can't allow it to fail.
File Under - METAL
kettle is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2004, 03:50 PM   #11
jasonbw
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
i'm assuming thats just 4 250 gig HDs mounted side by side in a case...sata or ide the cost for 4 drives like that is under $1000.
jasonbw is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2004, 07:41 PM   #12
latergator116
macrumors 68000
 
latergator116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Providence, RI
Send a message via ICQ to latergator116
Wow!! That is making my 20gb hd feel kinda small.

Last edited by latergator116; Jan 14, 2004 at 09:43 PM.
latergator116 is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2004, 10:00 PM   #13
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
I've never had the "joy" of a 20 gig. I went from an 8 to a 40, which was fine at the time (Windows PC). My first Mac was an iBook with a 30 gig drive - too small! My current Power Mac has an 80, which I thought I'd never fill up, but I've already used over 50 gigs...
Nermal is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2004, 06:56 AM   #14
irmongoose
macrumors 68030
 
irmongoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
This is a killer for video people. I thought my iMac's 60 would do good enough... boy was I wrong. I quickly got an external 120GB. I felt I was covered for at least 2 years. Again I failed in predicting the future... within 6 months I had to buy another external... this time a 160GB. And this is for a prosumer high-school student... imagine how fast the professionals' drives fill up! This extra terabyte is definitely a welcome choice.



irmongoose
__________________
A Film and Artwork Portfolio and Re: Gruber
irmongoose is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2004, 09:07 AM   #15
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
I might eventually get something like this - especially when i have a new machine with FireWire 800.....its truly amazing.

Only one thing I can see that will be a problem.....backups

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External LaCie anarti Mac Peripherals 1 Apr 7, 2014 11:08 AM
Recovery data on external LaCie drive. 1tio1 Mac Basics and Help 2 Apr 1, 2014 09:52 AM
Test new LaCie external drive? jwjsr Mac Basics and Help 0 Apr 9, 2013 06:00 PM
New LaCie d2 Thunderbolt External Drive dvdchance Mac mini 6 Dec 6, 2012 06:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC