Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 1, 2008, 06:42 AM   #1
atreidesduke
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Issue with Powerbook G4 using second monitor...

Hi, I was wondering if anyone could help me with a problem I've been having with my Samsung LE37R87.

Basically, I watch a lot of things off of my PowerBook G4 and wanted to hook up my laptop with the TV in order to enjoy a larger image, etc. I have a DVI to HDMI cable connected to the TV and use VLC in order to watch things on the Samsung. It registers no problem and allows me to select it as a second monitor.
However, when the picture shows up, it is zoomed in and cuts off a lot of the screen! I have since played around with it and have taken it off of 'Over Scan' however, now the image is surrounded by a black box which, although slightly better than having a large area of the image cropped out, is very distracting and unhelpful whenever I went to watch, or work, off of it as a second monitor.
I tried the Apple help and it said that if I don't have the 'Geometry' option in the 'Displays' panel, then I'd have to refer to my manual for the TV, etc. I have, but couldn't really find anything.

Can anyone help me with my problem so I can watch shows in their proper aspect ratio as intended? Thanks in advance!
atreidesduke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2008, 07:06 AM   #2
Insulin Junkie
macrumors 65816
 
Insulin Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mainland Europe
I found this for you, it may help.
http://discussions.apple.com/thread....sageID=6847615
Insulin Junkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2008, 06:01 PM   #3
iHateMacs
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Coventry, UK
I had my PB G4 connected to my Samsung 22" LCD yesterday via DVI. When I went into the settings and chose display I got TWO windows appear. One on each monitor allowing me to choose the resolution I wanted for each.

Do you not get that?
__________________
Mac Pro 09 Quad Core
iHateMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2008, 04:33 AM   #4
atreidesduke
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Hi, yeah, I get two windows open that allow me to change resolution, etc. I've managed to get a fix for the problem though, so in case anyone else was suffering from the same problem try this:

Set it so that Over Scan is ON and on the Samsung (my experience is only with the Samsung) set the Picture to 'Just Scan' and that should fix it. It helped sort mine out and I can now watch things in a correct aspect ratio and my dock, etc now sit perfectly on the second monitor.
atreidesduke is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connectivity issue with the macbook pro 15 and a 2k monitor(not apple monitor) howareyoukk Mac Peripherals 0 Apr 13, 2014 08:49 AM
Is this monitor issue fixable? jonapot MacBook Pro 0 Feb 22, 2014 03:27 PM
Issue with Activity Monitor MarcusCarpenter OS X Mavericks (10.9) 5 Oct 25, 2013 11:46 AM
Dual Monitor Issue shuttermonster MacBook Pro 7 Feb 21, 2013 09:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC