Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 6, 2008, 01:59 PM   #1
bntz313
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Dual 2.5ghz G5 PowerMac worth it

I have a chance to pick up an PowerMac G5 for a trade for my DSLR setup. I'm wondering how fast it will be. Right now I run my Mbp 2.33ghz with 3gb ram, will the G5 run CS3 apps just as fast.

It's an 2.3...Sorry for the typo on the title
__________________
Aluminum Macbook 2.0ghz 4gb ram Mac Pro Quad 2.8ghz--6gb ram--2 20" ACD's--Portfolio
bntz313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 02:20 PM   #2
Umbongo
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: England
Your MBP is faster.
Umbongo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 02:24 PM   #3
CWallace
macrumors Demi-God
 
CWallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Honestly, PPC is the past. I know plenty of people are getting good life and performance from their PPC machines, but Apple's - and application developer's - focus is on the Intel architecture.

If you have an Intel-based Mac, you are better off keeping it.
CWallace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 02:25 PM   #4
bntz313
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
would it be good? though cause I need an desktop I have an very slow pentium 4 PC. How would it be in photoshop and such?
__________________
Aluminum Macbook 2.0ghz 4gb ram Mac Pro Quad 2.8ghz--6gb ram--2 20" ACD's--Portfolio
bntz313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 02:26 PM   #5
bntz313
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
What keeping the DSLR?
__________________
Aluminum Macbook 2.0ghz 4gb ram Mac Pro Quad 2.8ghz--6gb ram--2 20" ACD's--Portfolio
bntz313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 02:27 PM   #6
CWallace
macrumors Demi-God
 
CWallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bntz313 View Post
would it be good? though cause I need an desktop I have an very slow pentium 4 PC. How would it be in photoshop and such?
It might be better then the P4, but your MBP will likely load faster and work more effectively.
CWallace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 03:36 PM   #7
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
The G5 will be fine as long as you load it with as much RAM as you can. I have a dual core 2.0 with 8 gigs and it beats the tar out my new 2.4 BlackBook, especially when it comes to video-related tasks and DVD burning. As long as you're keeping the MBP, the G5 can only be a good thing.
leekohler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 05:36 PM   #8
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWallace View Post
It might be better then the P4, but your MBP will likely load faster and work more effectively.
Its gonna run circles around the P4 and then some. The P4 is a trash processor. At work I use a 3.0GHz P4 with 2Gb of RAM for the CS3 suite and its just about the slowest POS I've used. Doing the same type of work on a 1.25GHz Mac Mini was faster. No joke.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 10:32 PM   #9
bntz313
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Would leopard run smooth on the G5? The PPC has 2gb ram 2 hdd, I'm gonna give my canon xti, 18-55mm, bg-e3 battery grip, 2gb cf card for it do you think that is a good trade or should I just sell the dslr an buy an ACD

What is the max ram on it too, some places I read 8gb then other have said 16gb
__________________
Aluminum Macbook 2.0ghz 4gb ram Mac Pro Quad 2.8ghz--6gb ram--2 20" ACD's--Portfolio
bntz313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 01:42 PM   #10
bntz313
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Does anyone know the max ram for this model?
__________________
Aluminum Macbook 2.0ghz 4gb ram Mac Pro Quad 2.8ghz--6gb ram--2 20" ACD's--Portfolio
bntz313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 02:37 PM   #11
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
A Mac Mini would be faster, except for maybe Aperture and Pixelmator. Personally, I wouldn't touch a G5 of any kind if you want to use Leopard, and of course you won't be able to install Snow Leopard on it.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 02:55 PM   #12
bntz313
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Well I've been reading that an macbook is not even as fast as an G5 dual 2.3 and I'm gonna max the ram out. So I can't see an mac mini being faster than that. If an mac mini was just like an iMac with no screen I'd be all over that.
__________________
Aluminum Macbook 2.0ghz 4gb ram Mac Pro Quad 2.8ghz--6gb ram--2 20" ACD's--Portfolio
bntz313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 02:58 PM   #13
KingYaba
macrumors 68040
 
KingYaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Up the irons
If you need a desktop to run OS X sell your DSLR and purchase a first gen Mac Pro.
__________________
Texas: illegally acquired; universally admired.
KingYaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 03:06 PM   #14
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by bntz313 View Post
Well I've been reading that an macbook is not even as fast as an G5 dual 2.3 and I'm gonna max the ram out. So I can't see an mac mini being faster than that.
Here you go. The 2 gHz Core 2 Duo Mac Mini gets a 2591, while the 2.3 gHz Power Mac G5 gets a 1962. The top end MacBook gets a 3112.

Quote:
If an mac mini was just like an iMac with no screen I'd be all over that.
Well, that it's not. But it would be substantially better than a PMG5 at this stage of the game. The PPC architecture simply is antiquated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingYaba View Post
If you need a desktop to run OS X sell your DSLR and purchase a first gen Mac Pro.
OP does photography. I'm sure he's not getting rid of the camera.

Quote:
Texas: illegally acquired; universally admired.
Ha, ha. That's pretty funny.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 03:41 PM   #15
bntz313
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Well i dont have the money for an MP and I dont use my Dslr
__________________
Aluminum Macbook 2.0ghz 4gb ram Mac Pro Quad 2.8ghz--6gb ram--2 20" ACD's--Portfolio
bntz313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 03:56 PM   #16
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by bntz313 View Post
Does anyone know the max ram for this model?
I believe it's 16 gigs. If not, it's at least 8.
leekohler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2008, 04:25 PM   #17
applepalace.com
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Los Angeles
8 GB MAX Memory. Sell your SLR camera and buy a 24" iMac. Best for photography.
applepalace.com is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2008, 04:29 PM   #18
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by applepalace.com View Post
Sell your SLR camera and buy a 24" iMac. Best for photography.
With that glossy screen? I don't think so. I'd go with a Mini with a matte display over the current iMacs, that's for sure.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2008, 05:11 PM   #19
djbahdow01
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northeast, CT
Send a message via AIM to djbahdow01 Send a message via Skype™ to djbahdow01
If thinking about the Dual 2.5 GHz look up "Apple PowerMac LCS" on google and see what comes up. A few people have complained on the cooling system leaking. Including myself. Some have made out pretty well with a like for like change to the latest MacPro, and some have been left with a big bill.

I was on the latter, no regrets when I first bought the machine, but when it crapped out, it would have been a $1800 fix.

Anyways do your research. Now is not the time to get a PM Dual 2.5. I loved mine before it died, and plan on repairing it when I can afford it. All it needs now is the processors. Not cheap but doable.
__________________
2.8GHz Mac Pro
G5 Dual 2.5GHz (Deceased)
Photography Portfolio
Sports Photography
djbahdow01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 01:14 AM   #20
Lord Zedd
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Liquid cooling is the only down side to the 2.5 and 2.7 G5s. For that reason alone I avoid them entirely.

Thats why I got the dual core 2.3 G5, its the fastest air-cooled PPC Mac ever made.
Lord Zedd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 01:32 AM   #21
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
Here you go. The 2 gHz Core 2 Duo Mac Mini gets a 2591, while the 2.3 gHz Power Mac G5 gets a 1962. The top end MacBook gets a 3112.
That's based on Geekbench, which is deeply flawed. In fact, there simply isn't an accurate benchmark test out there for Macs. The best test is in practical use (which is the only thing that actually matters anyway), and in practical use CS2 is faster on the G5 and CS3 is probably faster on the MacBook. Still doesn't make the G5 a bad machine by any means, and as another poster pointed out it will run rings around a P4.

Quote:
Well, that it's not. But it would be substantially better than a PMG5 at this stage of the game. The PPC architecture simply is antiquated.
This is totally untrue. My PMG5 runs way, way faster than my partner's core 2 mini. It also has 3X the RAM and 12X the HDD space.
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 07:11 AM   #22
waremaster
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
I glanced through the thread. I did not notice what DSLR you had that you were thinking of trading. It might be helpful to know this info as some DSLR's are not all that valuable in the used market.
waremaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 07:25 AM   #23
AdeFowler
macrumors 68020
 
AdeFowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England
I've got a dual 2.5 with 8gb of RAM. Runs Leopard and CS3 beautifully, has ample room for expansion (hard drives, graphics card etc). Mines 4 years old and I am scared that the liquid cooling will leak, but it's given me years of sterling service. I'd go for it.
__________________
15 2012 MacBook Pro | Mac Pro 6-core | 30 ACD
64gb 3g iPad and an iPod or two
AdeFowler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2008, 03:49 PM   #24
zmttoxics
macrumors 65816
 
zmttoxics's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
If its cheap enough, go for it. Just be aware of possible coolant looks. There are certain brands of the coolers to look for something to avoid.

My 2.0 was amazing with only 2.5 gigs of ram. It only has 6 because my PC got an upgrade so I had spare ram to put in it.
__________________
iMac 20" 2.66 C2D|9400M|4GB RAM|320GB HD ;; MacBook Pro 15" 2.4 Ci5|GT330M|4GB RAM|320GB HD
HP w2558hc 25.5" - not quite an ACD, but damn awesome.
zmttoxics is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PM G5 Dual 2.5Ghz madness mark8 PowerPC Macs 2 May 17, 2014 01:02 AM
PPC G5 Dual 2.5Ghz OS X 10.5.8 mark8 PowerPC Macs 0 Mar 31, 2014 07:32 PM
Reinstalling Dual 2.5Ghz G5 CPUs to the LCS Doward PowerPC Macs 2 Jun 18, 2013 12:01 AM
2.5GHz i5 to 2.9GHz i7 worth it? Jaben3421 MacBook Pro 5 Mar 27, 2013 10:34 PM
G5 Dual 2.5GHz Logic Board Identify applegear PowerPC Macs 2 Mar 16, 2013 05:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC