Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Old Sep 6, 2008, 07:23 PM   #1
snickrep
macrumors newbie

Upgrading a older imac G4

Hello, I own a imac G4 Superdrive with a 800MHz CPU,
256MB of RAM, a geforce2 MX 32MB of RAM, and I believe it has a 60GB hard drive.

I'm aware that those specs are highly outdated, but I'm a college student and can't really afford to purchase another computer. I have a more modern PC, but I'd rather use mac. So I was wondering if increasing the memory, hard drive space, and possibiliy the operating system would be worth putting money into.

Even if I decided to upgrade my imac, I know it won't be a powerhouse. I specifically use my mac for all the basics, but I'll be using photoshop and perhaps other adobe software for school and personal use. So I'm wondering what version of photoshop would perform best on my machine (not the elements versions). I'll also be using blender.

So is the upgrade worth it?
snickrep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 10:16 PM   #2
hughvane
macrumors 6502

Short answer to your final question is another question ... "is it worth it to you?"

First, check your iMac version with both Mactracker and Everymac.com http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...800_17_fp.html to see what the maximum specs are. For what you're looking to do eg. Photoshop, then maximum 1 Gb RAM is probably essential. A larger hard drive would be useful (its present one is more likely 80 Gb).

2 x 512 Gb RAM Use the Crucial RAM scanner to get the best type and price for your Mac; or Kingston http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/conf...submit1=Search
Est Cost for RAM $80 - $120, depending on where it's bought, forum guys in the US can advise you more accurately,
1 x 250 Gb Hitachi drive, $50 - $60 est (OWC price used as a guide)
I can't comment on a video upgrade.