Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 6, 2008, 08:12 PM   #1
GovtLawyer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Does The IMac Have a Fax Utility

I'm thinking of switching from a PC to an IMac. I've been to the Apple store and I have gotten to different answers to the following question:

Currently, when I want to send a fax, I scan it in with my scanner or type a letter. I then choose FAX as the printer from a drop down list. The Windows Fax Utility opens, and I follow the prompts and send my fax. First, I plug my telephone line into the modem. If I want to recieve one, I make sure the modem is plugged in, and anyone can send me a fax.

Does the IMac have a comparable built in utility? If not, why not? How would I send and receive faxes?

Buying a fax machine is not an option.

Thanks,
Steven
GovtLawyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 08:15 PM   #2
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
id also like to know this answer im trying to set it up for my dad.
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 08:18 PM   #3
DZ/015
macrumors 6502a
 
DZ/015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New England
Straight from the Help menu in 10.5:


Sending a fax
You can fax files directly from your computer to any fax machine or computer that’s set up to receive faxes. If your computer has a modem connected to a phone line, it’s automatically configured to send faxes.

To send a fax:


Choose File > Print, and then choose Fax PDF from the PDF pop-up menu.


Type the fax number in the To field, or click the Address Book button to the right of the To field to select a number.

If you want to paste a number into the To field and the Edit > Paste command isn’t available, hold down the Control key as you click the To field and choose Paste from the menu that appears.


If your phone system requires you to dial a prefix for an outside line, type it in the Dialing Prefix field.


If you want to include a cover page, select “Use Cover page” and enter a subject and message.


Make sure the correct fax device is selected from the Printer pop-up menu.


To change your options, choose the option category from the print options pop-up menu.

For example, to choose your modem’s behavior when faxing, choose Fax Modem. You can choose whether to dial with touch tones or pulse tones, whether to listen to the modem as it dials, and whether to wait for a steady dial tone before dialing.


Click Fax.

The fax is sent as soon as your modem is available. For example, if you’re using your modem to connect to the Internet, the fax is sent after you disconnect from your Internet service provider.

The top of every page has a header that contains the date and time the fax was sent, a page number, and the fax number of the sender (from Print & Fax Preferences.)

If you include a cover page, it has a heading that contains fax’s recipient (from the To field in the Print dialog), the fax’s sender (the name of the logged-in user), the date and time the fax was sent, the subject line (from the Subject field in the Print dialog), and the number of pages in the fax not including the cover page. The body of the cover page is the Message field in the Print dialog.

If you have a set of options that you frequently use, you can save it as a “preset.” After you set your options, choose Save As from the Presets pop-up menu. To use this set of options when faxing another document, choose its name from the Presets pop-up menu.
__________________
Pay attention boy! I'm cuttin' but your not bleedin"
DZ/015 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 08:21 PM   #4
HLdan
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
The iMac does have a built-in fax utility. It's located in the print dialog box.
HLdan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 08:38 PM   #5
psingh01
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
The fax software is built into OSX but you have to purchase the modem separately! Apple sells a USB modem for $50 http://store.apple.com/us/product/MA034Z/A

You might be able to find cheaper ones. I don't believe any of Apple's hardware comes with a modem anymore. They are available as an option and always it's the USB modem.

Last edited by psingh01; Sep 6, 2008 at 08:44 PM.
psingh01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 08:41 PM   #6
HLdan
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by psingh01 View Post
The fax software is built into OSX but you have to purchase the modem separately! Apple sells a USB modem for $50 http://store.apple.com/us/product/MA034Z/A

You might be able to find cheaper ones. I tihnk none of Apple's hardware comes with a modem anymore, they are available as an option and always it's the USB modem.
You can also use your cell phone as a modem via bluetooth.
HLdan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 08:42 PM   #7
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLdan View Post
You can also use your cell phone as a modem via bluetooth.
even iphone? if so how

i would love to be ble to do this
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 08:47 PM   #8
srl7741
macrumors Demi-God
 
srl7741's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In my world
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukebound85 View Post
even iphone? if so how

i would love to be ble to do this
Sorry that does not include the iPhone (factory default version).
srl7741 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 08:58 PM   #9
HLdan
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukebound85 View Post
even iphone? if so how

i would love to be ble to do this
It works with my Motorola Razr, I don't know about the iPhone due to the bluetooth restrictions from AT&T. I'm on T-Mobile.
HLdan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 09:03 PM   #10
GovtLawyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
So Much For Apple Store Advice

Thanks for the answer. I went to the Apple store and the fellow who came over to help me didn't know. So, he told me to hold on and he'd ask another more experienced helper. He came back and told me NO. I'd have to get a third party utility.

So much for the APPLE store advice. Pretty lame!
GovtLawyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 09:23 PM   #11
Flynnstone
macrumors 65816
 
Flynnstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cold beer land
I have a G5 PowerMac wit built in modem. I have sent faxes before. And received I think. It's been a long time.


DZ/015, HLdan, psingh01 are correct.
__________________
"You can't solve your problems with the same level of thinking that created the problems." - Einstein
New iMac 24"/G5 1.8/...
Flynnstone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 05:30 AM   #12
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
soooooo...

if you dont have a modem you cant send it via your broadband??
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 06:07 AM   #13
AdeFowler
macrumors 68020
 
AdeFowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
soooooo...

if you dont have a modem you cant send it via your broadband??
No. It's very different technology.

I got rid if my dedicated fax machine a couple of years ago and now use the software built into OSX.

Cons - Mac needs to be on, though it can be set to wake up to receive faxes.

Pros - Very easy to use, saves paper/toner, + one less appliance adding to my electricity bill.


PS. The Apple 'Geniuses' should be truly embarrassed
__________________
15” 2012 MacBook Pro | Mac Pro 6-core | 30” ACD
64gb 3g iPad and an iPod or two
AdeFowler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 06:40 AM   #14
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southernboy View Post
No. It's very different technology.

I got rid if my dedicated fax machine a couple of years ago and now use the software built into OSX.

Cons - Mac needs to be on, though it can be set to wake up to receive faxes.

Pros - Very easy to use, saves paper/toner, + one less appliance adding to my electricity bill.


PS. The Apple 'Geniuses' should be truly embarrassed
no as in it does need a modem or no as in it doesnt need a modem hahaha?
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 01:02 PM   #15
AdeFowler
macrumors 68020
 
AdeFowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England
No as in it needs a modem and a phone line
__________________
15” 2012 MacBook Pro | Mac Pro 6-core | 30” ACD
64gb 3g iPad and an iPod or two
AdeFowler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 01:09 PM   #16
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 604
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Mac OS does have this built in, as other posters have mentioned, but this is old technology. Most people nowadays email things and I see less and less of fax.
__________________
Mac Pro | Thunderbolt Display | iPhone 6 | iPad Air 2 | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 02:09 PM   #17
HLdan
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowLeopard2008 View Post
Mac OS does have this built in, as other posters have mentioned, but this is old technology. Most people nowadays email things and I see less and less of fax.
Agreed, I actually www.myfax.com. It's an online fax service for $9.99/mo U.S. I just simply send my faxes through email and they are received as regular faxes on the other end. I have a small Canon flatbed scanner that I use to scan in new documents and then I just fax them. MyFax accepts PDF, MS Word docs, TIFF's and many other formats.
I like this service because I can receive faxes at any time from anywhere since they are all sent to my email address and the Mac doesn't have to be on.

I should sell for them.
HLdan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 06:33 PM   #18
GovtLawyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Old But Still Good technology

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowLeopard2008 View Post
Mac OS does have this built in, as other posters have mentioned, but this is old technology. Most people nowadays email things and I see less and less of fax.
I don't see why I'd pay for a fax service if I could send one from my own computer. The technology might be old, but its very reliable. I'm glad OS X has it built in.
GovtLawyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 07:38 PM   #19
HLdan
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by GovtLawyer View Post
I don't see why I'd pay for a fax service if I could send one from my own computer. The technology might be old, but its very reliable. I'm glad OS X has it built in.
Just for the reasons I mentioned, unless you didn't read my post. Because online faxing (sending/receiving) is done by email you will be able to receive or send your faxes from any computer and they are stored in your email and not just on one computer.
HLdan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 07:53 PM   #20
Flynnstone
macrumors 65816
 
Flynnstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cold beer land
It looks like 2 options.
1) buy a fax modem as described
2) subscribe to a fax service as described

From OP login name, I suspect some security is required.
So #1 is likely the best choice.
__________________
"You can't solve your problems with the same level of thinking that created the problems." - Einstein
New iMac 24"/G5 1.8/...
Flynnstone is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fax using Macs? PW168 Mac Peripherals 18 Dec 19, 2013 09:58 AM
Stuck on disk utility trying to format iMac ventuss iMac 3 Oct 23, 2013 03:46 PM
Creating small partitions with Disk Utility (or not) on 2012 iMac The Phazer iMac 8 Mar 29, 2013 04:07 PM
iMac fails to boot after failed erase empty space action by Disk Utility foundito iMac 5 Dec 12, 2012 07:05 PM
SSD problem w/ disc utility - 2009 iMac eroxx iMac 3 Aug 20, 2012 02:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC