Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 9, 2008, 05:13 PM   #1
swb1192
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Shake to Shuffle?

Wouldn't this go off while in your pocket running/walking? I would be afraid that I would walk with the new Nano in my pocket and the song would repeatedly change...
Did Apple do anything to prevent this from happening (Perhaps not working when in sleep mode?)
__________________
20 Apple Shirts. And Counting.
swb1192 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 05:18 PM   #2
xJulianx
macrumors 6502a
 
xJulianx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
I'm sure Apple has engineered this feature so it doesn't happen accidentally.

If not, perhaps it will only work when the iPod isn't in 'hold' mode.
xJulianx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 05:28 PM   #3
milani
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
So much for those dancing iPod commercials!
milani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 05:33 PM   #4
CrackedButter
macrumors 68040
 
CrackedButter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 51st State of America
Umm is this feature exclusive to the Nano? I tried it with my ipod Touch and it doesn't work.
__________________
"Absorb what is useful, Discard what is not, Add what is uniquely your own" - Bruce Lee
http://jonathanjk.com
CrackedButter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 05:34 PM   #5
xJulianx
macrumors 6502a
 
xJulianx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrackedButter View Post
Umm is this feature exclusive to the Nano? I tried it with my ipod Touch and it doesn't work.
I believe so.

Though it wouldn't surprise me if somebody writes an app to enable the Touch to do with as well. It has an accelerometer too after all.
xJulianx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 05:40 PM   #6
Fuzzy14
macrumors 65816
 
Fuzzy14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Renfrew, Scotland
We've seen it with the Wii, won't be long until somebody puts one through their TV....
__________________
Tiresome monologue
Fuzzy14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 05:41 PM   #7
carve
macrumors 6502a
 
carve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I think you have to shake it quite violently to make it shuffle.
carve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 05:41 PM   #8
M-5
macrumors 6502a
 
M-5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by xJulianx View Post
I believe so.

Though it wouldn't surprise me if somebody writes an app to enable the Touch to do with as well. It has an accelerometer too after all.
I don't think apps are allowed to access your music library. They are confined to their own space.
M-5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 05:42 PM   #9
Mac-Addict
macrumors 65816
 
Mac-Addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by xJulianx View Post
I believe so.

Though it wouldn't surprise me if somebody writes an app to enable the Touch to do with as well. It has an accelerometer too after all.
It would be rather useless as the app cannot run in the background or as a plug in, so the app would have to be open (iPod on the app screen and not asleep.)
__________________
-
Mac-Addict is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 05:42 PM   #10
telf22
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
The screen has to be on for more than 2 seconds for the shake to work.
telf22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 05:47 PM   #11
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy14 View Post
We've seen it with the Wii, won't be long until somebody puts one through their TV....
But my TV is too heavy to shake!
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 06:05 PM   #12
dizastor
macrumors 6502a
 
dizastor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Remember, if you shake it more than twice... you're playing with it.
__________________
ejc on Twitter
dizastor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 06:18 PM   #13
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
RTFM

Enable or disable Shake for shuffling songs

Choose Settings > Playback, choose Shake, and then select Shuffle or Off.
__________________
If your religion is worth killing for, please start with yourself.
rdowns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 07:47 PM   #14
swb1192
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by telf22 View Post
The screen has to be on for more than 2 seconds for the shake to work.
Where'd you read that?
__________________
20 Apple Shirts. And Counting.
swb1192 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 07:48 PM   #15
Cynicalone
macrumors 68040
 
Cynicalone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Okie land
Sorry rdowns beat me to it.

Last edited by Cynicalone; Sep 9, 2008 at 07:50 PM. Reason: Already posted
Cynicalone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 07:52 PM   #16
Schtumple
macrumors 601
 
Schtumple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
 
Send a message via Skype™ to Schtumple
Surely would having the Hold button on also stop it from going off? I doubt apple would make a feature that defies the point of the hold button...
__________________
Schtumple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 03:54 PM   #17
computerji
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
iPhone / iPod Touch OS 3

I just installed the update on my iPod Touch and the "Shake to Shuffle" works really well. Random movement doesn't set it off, it takes a sharp chopping motion. Also you can disable the feature in the Settings Menu.
computerji is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 05:20 PM   #18
narumis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Remember, if you shake it more than twice... you're playing with it.
slap slap slap punch punch!!!
narumis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 09:43 PM   #19
Hayduke60
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
One has to give it a pretty good shake to get it to do anything. Very deliberate even
Hayduke60 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:34 AM   #20
YanniDepp
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Yeah, the shake-to-shuffle on the touch needs quite a violent shake.

Moreso than the nano. It often goes into shuffle mode in my pocket when I'm walking. That's why I always keep the hold switch on.

On both iPods, you can turn off this feature in the Settings menu.
YanniDepp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2009, 01:41 AM   #21
Machorky
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: HongKong
Send a message via AIM to Machorky Send a message via MSN to Machorky Send a message via Yahoo to Machorky Send a message via Skype™ to Machorky
just put the hold switch to on and it will disable this feature. I am not sure that/
__________________
24" Aluminum iMac, 2.8 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 750 GB HD ; 16 GB iPod Touch
Machorky is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone have this issue? Shake to shuffle doesn't work. TrenttonY iOS 7 2 Dec 28, 2013 02:28 AM
Shake yourself with Shake This Space! alikorsika iPhone and iPod touch Apps 7 Sep 17, 2013 08:42 AM
shake to shuffle? diazj3 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jun 14, 2013 03:26 AM
Nano goes into Shuffle even when Shuffle mode is off GanChan iPod 1 Jun 15, 2012 09:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC