Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 9, 2008, 10:42 PM   #1
Philberttheduck
macrumors 6502a
 
Philberttheduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HB, CA
How to update Genius?

i just added a couple of songs but it says update genius. It said something about going to the store menu but how the heck do i access that? From the left side buttons or from preferences, both of which i do not see. I right clicked on iTunes store but no update Genius. I connected to the itunes store but I can't seem to find the Genius update button. Goddamit they're making it difficult to find.
__________________
2006 iMac 20" | Nano 6G 8GB | iPad 2 32GB
Philberttheduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 10:48 PM   #2
ipodtoucher
macrumors 68000
 
ipodtoucher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Send a message via AIM to ipodtoucher
Just go to Store >> Update Genius

You have to do this everyime you add music to your iTunes, I'm sure they will fix that in an update
__________________
YES WE DID - Twitter @ipodtoucher - My Work
27" 3.4Ghz i7 iMac, 15" 2.8GHz MacBook Pro Mid-2009, Original MacBook Air, iPhone 4S, The New iPad
ipodtoucher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 10:51 PM   #3
Ntombi
macrumors 68020
 
Ntombi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bostonian exiled in SoCal
The Store drop-down menu at the top.
__________________
2.53 GHz 13" MacBook Pro iPod Classic 64GB Black iPhone 5
Switching to AT&T? PM me for a $25 gift card!
Ntombi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 10:59 PM   #4
Philberttheduck
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Philberttheduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HB, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ntombi View Post
The Store drop-down menu at the top.
Ah.. in the menu bar. thank you very much you guys.
__________________
2006 iMac 20" | Nano 6G 8GB | iPad 2 32GB
Philberttheduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2008, 12:26 AM   #5
pamromy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Philippines
Genius Updated

Just did a major overhaul on my iTunes!
Ntombi, awsome answer. Thanks for the tip!
pamromy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 08:30 AM   #6
fldmonty
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Dropdown?

I looked for the iTunes Store dropdown menu, is it the one in upper left hand corner of the iTunes Store, whose heading reads
"iTunes STORE:
Music (genres)
Movies
TV Shows
Music Videos
Audiobooks
Podcasts
iTunes Latino
iTunes U
iPod Games
App Store (New!)"
If so, I'm hard pressed to find 'Update Genius'. Could you be more specific about where the dropdown is?
fldmonty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 08:31 AM   #7
techlover828
macrumors 68020
 
techlover828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
like at the top, this should help:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 2.png
Views:	137
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	144478  
techlover828 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 08:41 AM   #8
fldmonty
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Re:

Thank you very much, good sir.
fldmonty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 08:42 AM   #9
techlover828
macrumors 68020
 
techlover828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
no problem, I'm really enjoying genius, it's great.
techlover828 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 08:48 AM   #10
bsheridan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipodtoucher View Post
Just go to Store >> Update Genius

You have to do this everyime you add music to your iTunes, I'm sure they will fix that in an update
Does Genius not update itself every 7 days or so?

Sometimes I've noticed the iTunes activity bar says 'Updating Genius' even when I haven't done the Store | Update Genius method.
__________________
bsheridan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 08:51 AM   #11
techlover828
macrumors 68020
 
techlover828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsheridan View Post
Does Genius not update itself every 7 days or so?

Sometimes I've noticed the iTunes activity bar says 'Updating Genius' even when I haven't done the Store | Update Genius method.
It updates automatically every so often, I don't know how often though
techlover828 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 10:38 AM   #12
aznguyen316
macrumors 68000
 
aznguyen316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
I update everytime I add new music, but on the new 4th gen nano's how does genius work? Does it keep the genius info from iTunes library and make a playlist from that too? I don't own a new nano yet, but you can make your own genius playlist from the nano itself right?
aznguyen316 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2009, 05:30 PM   #13
f0r4y
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
How to Update Genius

Hey everybody who is also confused by the explanation given by itunes to update genius.

It is actually very simple. When I saw that my songs displayed update genius by going to Store --> Update Genius I immediately assumed to go to the itunes store and and find a button called Update Genius. This button does not exist. The actual way to do this is to just go to the drag down menu bar at the top of the screen (File Edit View Controls -Store- advanced window help) and click on Store and select update genius from the drop down bar.

Pretty easy huh
f0r4y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2009, 08:26 PM   #14
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznguyen316 View Post
I update everytime I add new music, but on the new 4th gen nano's how does genius work? Does it keep the genius info from iTunes library and make a playlist from that too? I don't own a new nano yet, but you can make your own genius playlist from the nano itself right?
Your iPod gets the Genius data from iTunes. iTunes needs to get the data from Apple first. Once you get everything synced, you will be able to make Genius playlists from your iPod.
bohbot16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2013, 02:01 PM   #15
mubarakzahari
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
i found it !

Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	36
Size:	1,018.3 KB
ID:	417500
mubarakzahari is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 12:22 PM   #16
mattg3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ma.
what does genius do on a nano?
mattg3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 11:23 AM   #17
samreddevilz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Does Genius Has any impact on Shuffle version ?
samreddevilz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drive genius 3.2.3 johiko Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Apr 15, 2014 02:43 PM
In need of a genius :/ Stephanie:) iOS 7 2 Mar 24, 2014 09:13 PM
Rap Genius Launches 'Genius' iOS App for Song Lyric Discovery MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 7 Jan 29, 2014 11:34 PM
Genius benaaustin iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Dec 6, 2012 10:50 PM
Updating Genius gets stuck and doesn't update Illuminated Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 30, 2012 04:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC