Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 18, 2004, 12:58 AM   #1
DavisBAnimal
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New Hampshire
Send a message via AIM to DavisBAnimal
Soundtrack Loop Utility Question

After seeing it mentioned a couple of times, I took rare advantage of my Student Developer Membership and went and downloaded the Soundtrack Loop Utility (I was interested in making some of my own loops to use within GB, such that they stretch and transpose to fit the tempo and key of any song I stick them in - and I gathered this was how to do it). I was able to figure it all out, and now have a whole bunch of home-made samples turned into full-out, GB loops.

My question is this: I was trying to poke around in the Application Support folder for GB to see if I could make these home-made samples come up in the GB search box, so I can find all my own samples side by side with the included ones, but I couldn't figure it out. Maybe someone geekier than me can help me out - does anyone with experience with the Soundtrack Loop Utility and GB have any idea how to do that - to make Soundtrack Loop Utility loops come up in the search box?

Thanks guys!

Davis
DavisBAnimal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2004, 05:51 PM   #2
illumin8
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: East Coast, US
Re: Soundtrack Loop Utility Question

Quote:
Originally posted by DavisBAnimal
Maybe someone geekier than me can help me out - does anyone with experience with the Soundtrack Loop Utility and GB have any idea how to do that - to make Soundtrack Loop Utility loops come up in the search box?
It took me a little while to figure this out too, but I finally found it in the Help file. To add your loops to the loop browser in GarageBand, just drag and drop the .AIFF file, or a folder containing .AIFF files onto the loop browser in GarageBand... It will import all of the loops in the folder and add them to the categories that are already defined.

BTW, if you have Soundtrack also, this is a great way to get your Soundtrack loops into GarageBand as well.
__________________
iPhone 3GS 16GB
iPad Wifi 16GB
MacBook Core2 Duo
illumin8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2004, 04:50 PM   #3
jimthorn
macrumors 6502a
 
jimthorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Re: Soundtrack Loop Utility Question

Quote:
Originally posted by DavisBAnimal
After seeing it mentioned a couple of times, I took rare advantage of my Student Developer Membership and went and downloaded the Soundtrack Loop Utility (I was interested in making some of my own loops to use within GB, such that they stretch and transpose to fit the tempo and key of any song I stick them in - and I gathered this was how to do it).
I'd like to play around with that too. Where can you download it?
__________________
Home: MacBook Pro Retina 15" Work: Mac mini i5 Away: iPhone 5
jimthorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2004, 10:28 AM   #4
norville
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Provo, Utah
Apple Loops SDK

http://developer.apple.com/sdk/#AppleLoops

(and... it's public access, no developer membership required. )
norville is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2004, 04:31 PM   #5
gfer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Send a message via ICQ to gfer
Re: Re: Soundtrack Loop Utility Question

Quote:
Originally posted by illumin8
It took me a little while to figure this out too, but I finally found it in the Help file. To add your loops to the loop browser in GarageBand, just drag and drop the .AIFF file, or a folder containing .AIFF files onto the loop browser in GarageBand... It will import all of the loops in the folder and add them to the categories that are already defined.
After the loop is added, you can find it in /Library/Application Support/GarageBand in a separate folder (called Individual Files, if my memory works well) from the loops installed by GarageBand.
__________________
- iMac 17" Core 2 Duo.
- iPod Touch 16 GB 3.1.2 JB.
- iPhone 3G 8 GB 3.1.2 JB & ultrasn0w
gfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2004, 03:52 PM   #6
jimthorn
macrumors 6502a
 
jimthorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Thanks, norville. I didn't realize that the Utility was part of the SDK.
__________________
Home: MacBook Pro Retina 15" Work: Mac mini i5 Away: iPhone 5
jimthorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2004, 06:06 PM   #7
norville
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Provo, Utah
You're welcome, jimthorn! It kind of surprised me too when I found out about it.
norville is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2004, 05:32 PM   #8
IrishLung
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Re: Re: Re: Soundtrack Loop Utility Question

Quote:
Originally posted by gfer
After the loop is added, you can find it in /Library/Application Support/GarageBand in a separate folder (called Individual Files, if my memory works well) from the loops installed by GarageBand.

I have followed your instruction to add my own loops to GB. First I load them into Somdtrack Loop Editor, tag them and save the aiff file on my desktop. Then I tried to import them into GB via drag and drop as mentioned above. The file is in the single file folder but does not show up in the GB loop browser. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for the help!
IrishLung is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes Backup Utility/Restore Question afterjanuary iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Dec 23, 2013 12:48 AM
Disc Utility Partitioning Question Hrothgar Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 Nov 22, 2013 09:20 AM
Recovery Loop | Cant get iPhone 5 6.1.3 out of loop Fatush iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Sep 19, 2013 09:14 PM
iPhone: iPHone 4 stuck in DFU loop then boot loop then DFU loop! urbanmacUser Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Jun 7, 2013 04:30 PM
RAID-0 on OS X Disk Utility - Question opinio OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Apr 27, 2013 06:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC