Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 10, 2008, 12:46 PM   #1
durija
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seattle
Mac Equivalent to Refresh key (F5) on Windows?

Two things I don't know how to do:

1 Refresh a internet browser window from the keyboard.
2 Refresh a Finder window from the keyboard.

I just press F5 on Windows. I'd like to be able to avoid the mouse for it on Leopard as well. Anybody have shortcut or method?
__________________
15" Macbook Pro 2 GHz i7 Quad 8GB Ram 10.6/10.8/Win7/ | 20" iMac AL 2.4 GHz 4GB Ram SnowLeo/Win7
durija is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2008, 12:47 PM   #2
mlemonds
macrumors 6502a
 
mlemonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lexington, KY
command + R

also called

apple + R

'cloverleaf' + R
__________________
2.4 GHz Unibody MacBook Pro (8GB ram 256GB SSD) / Sony SZ230p
32 GB iPhone 5S / 16GB iPad rMini (T-Mo)
mlemonds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2008, 12:48 PM   #3
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
Use F5 in Safari/Firefox, or Command-R.

In Finder, simply click, and it will auto-update.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2008, 02:18 PM   #4
durija
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seattle
I only have a Tiger machine here at work but, I assume it is the same. Here are the results:

F5 does nothing in Safari.
Command+R refreshes Safari, so problem #1 solved.

The Finder window I am trying to refresh is for a folder on a Windows server. Specifically, so the color labels will update. That is how we track job status in our little network. Command+R has zero effect on this window, so am I out of luck on problem #2?
__________________
15" Macbook Pro 2 GHz i7 Quad 8GB Ram 10.6/10.8/Win7/ | 20" iMac AL 2.4 GHz 4GB Ram SnowLeo/Win7
durija is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2008, 02:23 PM   #5
Sam Yikin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
To make F5 work you could try going into system prefs, keyboard pane, and check the Use Function keys as normal function keys setting.
Sam Yikin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2008, 02:46 PM   #6
durija
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
To make F5 work you could try going into system prefs, keyboard pane, and check the Use Function keys as normal function keys setting.
I'm sure that would work for the browsers (already solved, but thanks anyway!), but I don't think that would help my Finder issue.
__________________
15" Macbook Pro 2 GHz i7 Quad 8GB Ram 10.6/10.8/Win7/ | 20" iMac AL 2.4 GHz 4GB Ram SnowLeo/Win7
durija is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X Equivalent of Windows dBpoweramp JoelBC Digital Audio 2 Nov 26, 2013 02:42 PM
Windows compatible equivalent for TextExpander 4 features ianbonachita Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Mar 3, 2013 06:54 AM
Screenflow equivalent for Windows Doctor Q Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Sep 5, 2012 02:17 PM
Pushbutton key equivalent misterlynn Mac Programming 0 Jul 27, 2012 11:31 AM
Dragon Age - using Windows key on Mac Sue De Nimes Mac and PC Games 4 Jul 1, 2012 06:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps