Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Web Design and Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 15, 2008, 01:26 PM   #1
rhopper
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Using Windows CS3 version

I am seriously considering to converting to the Mac world but my only concern is the fact that ive payed a lot for various Adobe software but they are all windows versions. My only concern is that I wont be able to use these and will have to purchase a bunch of Mac licenses.. or can you still use them via bootcamp?
rhopper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2008, 02:40 PM   #2
SrWebDeveloper
macrumors 68000
 
SrWebDeveloper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alexandria, VA, USA
 
This might need to be moved, as it's not really a development question. But on that note, no major features are gained or lost between the platforms with respect to development.

In terms of bootcamp, it is not necessary to go that far knowing the answer I just gave you about using Adobe PS CS3 (or Dreamweaver, etc.) in Mac mode. The main reason people opt for bootcamp is when alot of proprietary Windows software has been invested, third party apps are involved in daily use, gamers, or budget is a huge concern (i.e. *purchasing Mac equivalent software as necessary, although these days very few major apps are not available on both platforms which is the point).

If you have a few Windows apps that requires windows or is your preference, instead invest in Parallels or VMware Fusion, install a cheap OEM copy of XP Home or Pro (not Vista) and run both on any newer Intel Mac. Just make sure it has an anti-virus tool, don't bother installing anything else, create a few shared folders and even copy/paste between Mac and Windows if you wish. Bootcamp is all about booting to one or the other, not both at the same time (where Windows is a virtual guest running on your Mac which is the host). I run Parallels, works great.

-jim

*Note, we do not condone discussion of "hacked" licenses of popular Windows software ported to Mac.
__________________
Jim Goldbloom
Sr. Web Developer, owner GoldTechPro, LLC
http://www.GoldTechPro.com
SrWebDeveloper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2008, 03:51 PM   #3
rhopper
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
right but what im saying is i cant just boot up my windows copy of cs3, i would need to either install windows and boot into it as a second OS. if I run virtual windows will it run my windows copy of cs3 just fine?
rhopper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2008, 04:42 PM   #4
7on
macrumors 601
 
7on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Punk Hazard
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhopper View Post
right but what im saying is i cant just boot up my windows copy of cs3, i would need to either install windows and boot into it as a second OS. if I run virtual windows will it run my windows copy of cs3 just fine?
Should. Though of note, I believe running through a VM your ram in halved. But as long as you aren't doing intensive Flash or Print work you should be fine. And you need a Windows license for the Mac. But other than that it should be hunky dory.
__________________
jonshipman.com
7on is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2008, 04:55 PM   #5
InLikeALion
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greener places than I used to live
Can't you call Adobe and see about a crossgrade program to get mac versions? I have a photographer friend who wants to get a macbook and told me he looked into it. I'm pretty sure he said it was a possibility.
__________________
I use: { Lion; Sublime Text 2; MAMP; VirtualHostX; Drupal ExpressionEngine; Logic Express }
InLikeALion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2008, 05:07 PM   #6
rhopper
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by InLikeALion View Post
Can't you call Adobe and see about a crossgrade program to get mac versions? I have a photographer friend who wants to get a macbook and told me he looked into it. I'm pretty sure he said it was a possibility.
its $159 a license to swap over
rhopper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2008, 05:19 PM   #7
InLikeALion
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greener places than I used to live
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhopper View Post
its $159 a license to swap over
Well, that's a lot cheaper than buying new, but that is still pretty steep. I'd say set up bootcamp, and get vmware fusion, which will use that same bootcamp installation as it's virtual machine for those times you don't want to reboot for native speed. I've been using the Fusion beta for a while (now in RC1) and like its feel and options a lot more than Parallels 3.
__________________
I use: { Lion; Sublime Text 2; MAMP; VirtualHostX; Drupal ExpressionEngine; Logic Express }
InLikeALion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2008, 05:20 PM   #8
InLikeALion
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greener places than I used to live
Down the line, can you "upgrade" to cs5 from the windows version, or do the same charges still apply?
__________________
I use: { Lion; Sublime Text 2; MAMP; VirtualHostX; Drupal ExpressionEngine; Logic Express }
InLikeALion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2008, 09:53 AM   #9
astaab
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Cross-grade is free -- I did it

It doesn't cost a thing to cross-grade from Windows license to Mac license. There's just a couple of forms to fill out, sign and fax in. Tedious, but not unreasonable. I own CS3 Web Standard and the process worked perfectly. Adobe shipped out brand new install media for the Mac.

Just call Adobe and tell them you want to cross-grade. It's FREE.
astaab is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2008, 12:51 PM   #10
rhopper
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
hmm Ill have to look into cross-grading it then. all else fails when I want to use adobe software (which will be a LOT) I will just install xp (i have a copy of my own) and dual-boot.. that way it doesnt half my ram.. because Im a web designer and I deal with a lot of flash and heavy graphics..
rhopper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2008, 12:54 PM   #11
thejadedmonkey
macrumors 604
 
thejadedmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pa
Send a message via AIM to thejadedmonkey
Heavy graphics in web design?
__________________
MacBook 17" MacBook Pro iPod Nano Apple TV
PS4 Custom Windows 8.1 Desktop WP8.1
"Good judgment comes from experience,
experience comes from bad judgment."
- Mulla Nasrudin
thejadedmonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2008, 01:09 PM   #12
rhopper
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejadedmonkey View Post
Heavy graphics in web design?
well by that I mean running photoshop, flash, dreamweaver and after effects all at the same time.. I dont like to edit an image or animation, close the program, open another edit, close, open, repeat.. i just like it all open and working at once. hence why I also need to find a docking station or something so I can have 2 monitors
rhopper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2008, 04:00 PM   #13
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhopper View Post
I am seriously considering to converting to the Mac world but my only concern is the fact that ive payed a lot for various Adobe software but they are all windows versions. My only concern is that I wont be able to use these and will have to purchase a bunch of Mac licenses.. or can you still use them via bootcamp?
Adobe will let you convert the licenses. Just call Adobe customer service. There may be some nominal charge like $10 or something for the new CDs. But you will NOT have to "purchase a bunch of Mac licenses". On the other hand to use Boot Camp you would have to buy a copy of Windows.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2008, 04:06 PM   #14
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhopper View Post
and dual-boot.. that way it doesnt half my ram.. because Im a web designer and I deal with a lot of flash and heavy graphics..
"half my ram?" That is not what happens. Anyone can verify this my looking at Activity Monitor while running VMware's Fusion. Try it. You can assign as much or as little RAM to Fusion as you like and it may not even use the amount assigned.

Look into Sun's "Virtual Box". It does the same thing as Fusion or Parallels but Sun offers it for free, zero cost. So you can try out the concept with little to risk.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2008, 04:19 PM   #15
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhopper View Post
well by that I mean running photoshop, flash, dreamweaver and after effects all at the same time.. I dont like to edit an image or animation, close the program, open another edit, close, open, repeat.. i just like it all open and working at once. hence why I also need to find a docking station or something so I can have 2 monitors
OSX is much better for multi-tasking, so you should crossgrade to osx version.

There is something called "DisplayLink" that will allow you to connect to displays via usb.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Web Design and Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which version of Windows??? glasswave Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 8 Feb 27, 2014 09:49 AM
MacBook 2013: Best Windows (bootcamp) version? (Windows 8.1 is buggy?) sofakng MacBook Air 0 Dec 11, 2013 02:18 PM
CS3 from Windows to a Mac? mcsolas Design and Graphics 14 Jan 25, 2013 07:19 PM
Mac version of Games or windows version macguy360 MacBook Pro 3 Sep 10, 2012 09:48 AM
Which version of Windows should I get? tony3d Mac Pro 30 Jul 9, 2012 05:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC