Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 16, 2008, 02:26 PM   #1
lokos1998
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Need G4 (Gigabit Ethernet) Dual 500MHz with 23" Cinema Display

I'm a PC guy (unfortunately), and I wanted to get my wife (graphic designer) a Mac present for our 3 year wedding anniversary (maybe a bad choice).

As a cheep axx i looked on eBay for best deals... and happen to stumble
upon an old G4 (Gigabit Ethernet) Dual 500MHz tower.

I understand that is a old model, but the budget constrains gave me a no better choice... $300-400. For the first Apple it is a start.
To make it up i got her a 23" Cinema Display.

My dilemma as you see is the old vs new technology.
I have not yet received the merchandise, but as i read I'm up for a surprise.
1. Do i need a power adapter for the display?
2. Do i need a ADC converter (or something like it)?
3. What (cheep) Graphic card will be a plausible fit to avoid conversions?
4. Will that card work with my motherboard (if there is one inside lol)

Do you have better recomendations?

So far browsing i got:
Recomendations
RADEON 9800 Series

Requirements:
Power Mac G4 or G5 with NVIDIA graphics card or ATI Radeon 7500 or better graphics card

Limitations:
6. The Power Mac G4 Cube computer must have a Nvidia Geforce 2MX graphics card to be compatible with the Apple Cinema Display HD or Apple Cinema Display (20-inch).
The Power Mac G4 - (Gigabit Ethernet) video card does not support the Apple Cinema Display HD or Apple Cinema Display (20-inch) unless the original video card is updated to one that meets the specification for the display.

Thanks for your help...
lokos1998 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2008, 04:02 PM   #2
4JNA
macrumors 68000
 
4JNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: looking for trash files
sweet deal on the display! about par for the g4. you might want to wait and find out what is in the g4 first, but it's likely an older GeForce 2 32mb or equivalent which is no good for that sweet monitor.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lokos1998 View Post
My dilemma as you see is the old vs new technology.
I have not yet received the merchandise, but as i read I'm up for a surprise.
1. Do i need a power adapter for the display?
2. Do i need a ADC converter (or something like it)?
3. What (cheep) Graphic card will be a plausible fit to avoid conversions?
4. Will that card work with my motherboard (if there is one inside lol)

Do you have better recomendations?

1. no power adapter required, as it gets power through the ADC cable which is why you need a video card with the ADC port or the crazy expensive adapter.
2. as above, an adapter only if you go with a video card without the ADC port.
3. recommendations below.
4. see # 3.

the 9800 is out as it does not have the ADC connector on the card (only vga/dvi) and you would need to drop another 75-100 bucks on the adapter.

i would look at the 9000 64mb card, like This

or the GeForce 4 64mb card, like This

advantage of these two cards is that they would plug right in, no taping/flashing/mods required which should make things a bit easier.

these are not my auctions, i don't know or recommend these sellers, just listing examples. best of luck.
__________________
KATE: RISC architecture is gonna change everything. DADE: Yeah. RISC is good.

Last edited by 4JNA; Sep 16, 2008 at 04:13 PM. Reason: added info because i forgot to answer the questions!
4JNA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2008, 04:06 PM   #3
lokos1998
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Thanks

Thanks for the quick response...

Funny thing is I already had you on my watch list on the second item.

I think you got your self's a deal
lokos1998 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2008, 02:55 PM   #4
lokos1998
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
23" Cinema display and Mac 4 do not get along

Well the package came in...

The was a ATI Rage pro 128 Card was installed, with ADC/VGA connector.
On the first Run using the ADC and the 23" screen...
- Apple logo in the middle
- Static all around
- Spinning wheel, progres bar was turnin
- Display tuned off after about 3-4 minutes

Using my 19" PC LCD screed with VGA port, Mac worked fine...
Loaded into GUI, 10.2 OS X

Is is a matter now of graphic card driver issue, or minimum requirements
for the 23" screen? Or possibly a bad screen? Or power supply?
lokos1998 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2008, 03:12 PM   #5
cal6n
macrumors 68000
 
cal6n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
I'm afraid it's down to the 23" ACD's requirements. The card you've got will run the 22" model but not the 23".
__________________
Is your internet experience tainted by trolls, shills, bigots & fools?
Select "User CP" > "Edit Ignore List" > Add [username] to Your Ignore List > Save List
Every little helps.
cal6n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2008, 10:05 AM   #6
lokos1998
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
which one of these will run a 23" display, and not cost arm and leg?

ATI Mac Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB AGP Video 109-A14400-01
300

nVidia GeForce 6800 256MB Ultra DDL for mac
300

nVidia GeForce 4 Ti4600 128 megs Fast on G4 or G5
65

ATI Radeon 9000 64MB (ADC/DVI) AGP Video Card 109-99700
$47

nVidia Geforce4 MX 64MB AGP Video Card ADC/VGA G4
42 Mac Guy

nVidia Apple NV-11 64MB Video Card 630-3534
50

NEW ATI RADEON 7500 32MB AGP ADC VGA MAC EDITION 10476

50
nVidia GeForce2 MX 32MB VGA ADC VIDEO CARD

ATI Rage 128 Pro 16MB (VGA/ADC) (AGP ...
$20
lokos1998 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2008, 10:16 AM   #7
Spock
macrumors 68000
 
Spock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Vulcan
Send a message via AIM to Spock Send a message via Yahoo to Spock
All this money your dropping down you could have a first gen. Core Duo Mac Mini or Core Duo iMac. And you will be able to run 10.5 and 10.6
Spock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2008, 02:14 PM   #8
lokos1998
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Just a personal preference, and choice to have a bigger screen...
and in process sacrificing speed. I think i will go with 42" plasma, instead
of 23" cinema display LOL.
lokos1998 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2008, 08:45 PM   #9
J3tHr0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
ATI Rage 128pro on 20'' apple cinema display

Hi you all!
Hope can solve a quest... (and excuse my english)

I have an old G4 with ati rage 128pro (630-2906) and recently bought a 20'' cinema display.
It seems to be not compatible, but I read on many 3ds that should be... or not?

The card seems to have a dvi-d dual link connector and the display a single link...

Do someone can explain wich is the matter? Can be some malfunction?

Thanks a lot!
J3tHr0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2008, 08:58 PM   #10
Shownarou
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newton, IA
Quote:
Originally Posted by J3tHr0 View Post
Hi you all!
Hope can solve a quest... (and excuse my english)

I have an old G4 with ati rage 128pro (630-2906) and recently bought a 20'' cinema display.
It seems to be not compatible, but I read on many 3ds that should be... or not?

The card seems to have a dvi-d dual link connector and the display a single link...

Do someone can explain wich is the matter? Can be some malfunction?

Thanks a lot!
I don't believe the ATI Rage Pro supports the resolution for the 20" ACD.

*edit* The card supports the resolution, but will not support the new ACD's.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1825 Check the link.
Shownarou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2008, 09:00 PM   #11
dual64bit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shownarou View Post
I don't believe the ATI Rage Pro supports the resolution for the 20" ACD.
THe ATI Rage 630-2906 had DVI and VGA, a cinema display with ADC will require the ~ $100 adapter.
dual64bit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2008, 06:13 PM   #12
J3tHr0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dual64bit View Post
THe ATI Rage 630-2906 had DVI and VGA, a cinema display with ADC will require the ~ $100 adapter.
But my Cinema Display (there is this writing on the back) has a DVI-D single link connector...!
I tried to connect it to the rage pro but the screen goes black after a while...
Am I confusing something?

Thanx!
J3tHr0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 07:54 PM   #13
J3tHr0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
No one?
J3tHr0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt Display Gigabit Ethernet Issues tangfj Mac Peripherals 9 Oct 2, 2013 05:01 AM
External Display and Gigabit Ethernet rrm74001 MacBook Air 2 May 30, 2013 12:49 AM
Dual Gigabit Speed with two Gigabit Ports? eyepea OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Mar 21, 2013 04:46 PM
Who has their 27" iMac set up with a dual 27" Cinema display? JoshMKB24 iMac 0 Jan 11, 2013 10:41 AM
TB gigabit Ethernet vs USB gigabit Ethernet? Lax1085 Mac Peripherals 8 Aug 2, 2012 01:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC