Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

zarusoba

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 3, 2006
Australia
My background is mainly in multimedia and animation, but I'm interested in going to into graphic design.

My impression is that most graphic design work is in advertising. This is a worry for me as I have strong ethical concerns. That is, there are many companies and products that I wouldn't feel comfortable promoting because they have poor ethical score cards. (Environment, human and animal rights etc.)

Should I just stay out of the industry, or is it realistic to seek out clients who are in alignment with my values?

Peace

Cancelled
Apr 1, 2005
Space The Only Frontier
A friend of mine is in the advertising industry. While it is very hard to find a company that even has ethics ( you can tell by seeing print ads and commercials ) it isn't impossible. Keep looking around until you find a place that fits. They are out there. Just hard to find.

Doylem

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2006
Wherever I hang my hat...
A designer friend of mine is very careful about who he works for ("Our strict code of business ethics successfully excludes us from all the most lucrative areas of work": his words, not mine...).

He's the 'go-to' guy for local charities, alternative technology companies and other concerns that are 'on the side of the angels'...

He lives in a small house, drives an old car and understands that this is the consequence of his ethical stance. Not rich, then, but pretty content... :)

design-is

macrumors 65816
Oct 17, 2007
London / U.K.
A designer friend of mine is very careful about who he works for ("Our strict code of business ethics successfully excludes us from all the most lucrative areas of work": his words, not mine...).

He's the 'go-to' guy for local charities, alternative technology companies and other concerns that are 'on the side of the angels'...