Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 17, 2008, 05:35 PM   #1
TMorris
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Meeker, CO
Time Machine won't backup

Help! I have been working for days on this Time Machine issue! It all started when I noticed that the Time Machine was no longer backing up. I went into Time Machine preferences and found that the entire harddrive had been placed on the "do not" back up pane. How it got there, I'm not sure and frankly it is neither here nor there at this point. However, when I tried to re-establish the path to the Time Machine back up it wouldn't stay. Now I am getting various errors and Time Machine won't work at all.

When it first start sup in the a.m. I get the can't repair message. And then every hour on the hour I receive the backup disc can't be mounted error. I have tried to create a new back up; used disk repair utility on both the back volume when I can get it to show up and on the harddrive itself; I have unplugged the external harddrive; etc., etc., etc.

Help!

Here are the various errors I have received:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 5.png
Views:	30
Size:	17.7 KB
ID:	135452   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	38
Size:	16.5 KB
ID:	135453   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 2.png
Views:	22
Size:	109.1 KB
ID:	135454  

TMorris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2008, 05:38 PM   #2
blodwyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Looks like the drive you're using for TM has some problems. Have you tried reformatting it like it suggests on one of your error messages?
blodwyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2008, 05:41 PM   #3
TMorris
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Meeker, CO
I would do that, but my machine isn't the only one going to that particular back up drive. There are four other machines backing up to the drive with no problems at all.

I feel with some certainty that the problem lies within this particular machine. My next step is to reinstall Time Machine. Do you know if I can install only that app?
TMorris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2008, 05:45 PM   #4
blodwyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMorris View Post
I would do that, but my machine isn't the only one going to that particular back up drive. There are four other machines backing up to the drive with no problems at all.

I feel with some certainty that the problem lies within this particular machine. My next step is to reinstall Time Machine. Do you know if I can install only that app?
How is the drive connected to the 5 systems, is it a Time Capsule or on a Airport Extreme Base Station?
blodwyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2008, 05:46 PM   #5
TMorris
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Meeker, CO
It is connected through our network. Ethernet
TMorris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2008, 06:02 PM   #6
blodwyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMorris View Post
It is connected through our network. Ethernet
Hmmm, that doesn't help much. There are many ways of connecting a drive across ethernet.

Presumably you can see the drive if you look for it using Finder. On the drive there will be a folder called "Backups.backupdb", and in that folder there will be folders for each of the systems you're backing up to it. Have you tried turning off Time Machine in the TM preferences, and trashing the folder related to the troublesome system on the TM drive? If you can do that then you may be able to re-enable TM and create a new backup.
blodwyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2008, 06:16 PM   #7
TMorris
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Meeker, CO
That is the plan for tomorrow - I was just hoping for something a bit less "permanent" as deleting the back up off the drive.


Thanks anyway.
TMorris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2008, 06:20 PM   #8
blodwyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMorris View Post
That is the plan for tomorrow - I was just hoping for something a bit less "permanent" as deleting the back up off the drive.


Thanks anyway.
I guess you could try renaming the backup folder instead of trashing it, probably worth trying that first before you delete it. Good luck
blodwyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2008, 06:45 PM   #9
TMorris
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Meeker, CO
Thanks - that is certainly a good idea.
TMorris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 03:08 PM   #10
TMorris
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Meeker, CO
Well, I'm back. Tried deleting the current TM back up, but to no avail. I tried creating a new backup and the computer tells me that the volume can't be mounted. The next step (I presume) is to re-install TM, but when I tried to do a custom install off the Leopard install discs it says that I can't go any further because my system is more up-to-date than the install disc. Is there a way to reinstall "just" TM? Will the 10.5.5 update fix my issue?
TMorris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 03:38 PM   #11
Batt
macrumors 65816
 
Batt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMorris View Post
Well, I'm back. Tried deleting the current TM back up, but to no avail. I tried creating a new backup and the computer tells me that the volume can't be mounted. The next step (I presume) is to re-install TM, but when I tried to do a custom install off the Leopard install discs it says that I can't go any further because my system is more up-to-date than the install disc. Is there a way to reinstall "just" TM? Will the 10.5.5 update fix my issue?
Some people are experiencing fixed TM issues using the 10.5.5 Combo update. YMMV.
__________________
13" MBP i7 8/750 Yellow Miata Touch 2 & 5, buncha Nanos iPad 1, iPad 3, iPad Air 3 ATVs more
Batt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 03:39 PM   #12
TMorris
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Meeker, CO
thanks - I will go ahead and update then

will let you know if that does the trick...
__________________
T. Morris
Designer | Meeker, CO
TMorris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 04:40 PM   #13
TMorris
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Meeker, CO
Still no luck - the machine refuses to mount the backup volume. I have tried adding it to the startup items in the accounts part of system preferences. I can get the volume to show up on the desktop, but can't get TM to back up to the sparsbundle.

My goodness, what am I missing?
__________________
T. Morris
Designer | Meeker, CO
TMorris is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macintosh HD replaced with Time machine backup - won't let me install Mazericks Zacintosh OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Apr 17, 2014 11:34 PM
Time Machine doesn't recognize backup history so incremental backup not working dmi OS X 0 Sep 10, 2013 07:56 AM
Time Machine won't backup all of my files Thamiks MacBook Pro 4 Jul 19, 2013 02:55 PM
Time Machine won't recognise backup from old MacBook. Wells190 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Jul 17, 2013 06:23 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC