Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 18, 2008, 04:28 PM   #1
Koltrast
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Joystick for Mac

Does anybody know of a joystick that REALLY works on a Mac.

My old trusty "ThrustMaster" is dying! I bought a Logitech, but that is a piece of crap -- and no support for a Mac either. One firing button does not even work with Warbirds.

Any suggestions people? A plain old simple joystick is all I ask for.

http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/image...es/redface.gif
Koltrast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 06:40 PM   #2
mongrol
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I picked up a Logitech Extreme 3d at Cash Convertors for 15 bucks. its got 12 buttons and every one works out of the box. No special drivers needed.
mongrol is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2008, 05:25 PM   #3
Koltrast
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
ThrustMaster Top Gun Fox 2 Pro

It seems that my old ThrustMaster is being phased out -- which explains why I could not find a replacement. But, there is still hope. A few of them are still available in Germany (Amazon.de)!

As for Logitech joysticks -- I still say "blah" -- no software for a Mac and no support from Logitech either. And, IT DOES NOT WORK WITH WARBIRDS!

So, I guess once the last "ThrustMaster Top Gun Fox 2 Pro" is gone, we Mac owners will simply have to "stay on the ground".

http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/mad.gif
Koltrast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2008, 09:30 PM   #4
Eric5h5
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Logitech Extreme 3D here too. It doesn't need Mac software. Don't know about Warbirds but it works with everything I have with zero issues.

--Eric
Eric5h5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2008, 05:16 AM   #5
fblack
macrumors 6502a
 
fblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
I've had several logitechs, they look good, but they die fast. I haven't had one last more than 3 months. The plastic holds up, its having to recalibrate it every 10 minutes. I think they must be using real cheap potentiometers.

I'm currently using a Saitek on my PC for the last 8 months. I haven't had to recalibrate it once. But the plastic is cheaper and looks like it will break eventually. Logitech 3D has a heavier base, the Saitek I have is a little too light. The nice thing about the Saitek is that it can be adjusted for left handed use, unlike the logitech 3D. If the Saitek lasts another 3-4 months I'll buy another. Its lasted far longer than any of my logitechs.

On a lot of sticks or pads you have to get shareware to make them run on your mac. I use usboverdrive, but I havent tried it with the Saitek yet.
fblack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2008, 09:16 AM   #6
Black&Tan
macrumors 6502a
 
Black&Tan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Your other option is CH Products. Pricy, but good. I've been using their stuff since the OS9 days, and no issues to speak of. They're designed for flight sims, so no worries there. I have a Combatstick 568 which works in OSX and XP via bootcamp. Also, I've got a set of Pro Pedals. All USB inputs.

http://www.chproducts.com/
Black&Tan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2008, 10:00 AM   #7
dimme
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SF, CA
Logitech Force 3d Pro here and no problems.
__________________
dimme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2008, 10:02 AM   #8
richard.mac
macrumors 603
 
richard.mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 51.50024, -0.12662
Send a message via Skype™ to richard.mac
wrong thread. damn tabs.
__________________
If you can't innovate, you just imitate, but it's never quite as good as the original.
Hackintosh - Core i5 4670K, Z87X, 7870XT, 16GB RAM, 128GB SDD | MacBook Air 13" 2013 | iPhone 6 16GB JB
richard.mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2008, 11:49 AM   #9
KingYaba
macrumors 68040
 
KingYaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Up the irons
I have a cheap Logitech "Attack 3" joystick that I purchased from CompUSA when they were going out of business. It was priced at $19.99. Include their going-out-of-business discount, I spent $15. Great for my little X-Plane adventures.
__________________
Texas: illegally acquired; universally admired.
KingYaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2008, 04:08 AM   #10
Koltrast
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Your other option is CH Products.

Thanks for the tip. I have not even seen these before. But, sadly, no guarantee that they will work on a Mac mini WITHOUT Bootcamp. Anyway, I have a new ThrustMaster on the way from Germany. It should last me another five years!

I'll spend my money on a new Mac mini next spring -- even if Apple doesn't come out with an upgrade. This old PPC is a bit slow for both photography and music.

After that, who knows?

Thanks for all the input, guys.

http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/smile.gif
Koltrast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2008, 01:17 PM   #11
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Saitek joysticks or for better quality, higher cost look at CHProducts.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2009, 03:34 PM   #12
Phonis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Thrustmaster Top Gun Fox 2 Pro w/ X-Plane 8 on Mac?

I have a mint Top Gun Fox 2 Pro with the com->USB adapter that I am trying to use with X-Plane 8 on OS X 10.6.2 with no luck so I am flying from the keyboard/mouse.

I tried USBOverdrive and that recognizes all of the joystick controls but X-Plane still does not. If I cannot find a way to get it to work then I will sell the TM and get something that works. If I sell it what's a reasonable price?

Suggestions welcome.

Thanks,
The New Guy

Last edited by Phonis; Dec 3, 2009 at 03:35 PM. Reason: alignment was lame
Phonis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2010, 10:25 PM   #13
ncc1701d
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Hi, just doing searches before posting a similar thread.

Anyone had any recent luck with joysticks? I'm also looking at gaming consoles (like the "Dual Shock Feedback gamepad") and whatever other cool game controllers there are out there.
ncc1701d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2010, 05:08 PM   #14
pbill1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
You might also consider getting the "Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows" (http://amzn.com/B000KA5T6A) which apparently work with a Mac as well if you use this driver:
http://tattiebogle.net/index.php/Pro...ller/OsxDriver

I have not used it myself, but I saw a youtube video of a guy who had it set this up on his macbook pro, "Using Your Xbox Wireless Controller On Your Mac" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qIu5c9W2DY8

Definitely looks promising, I plan to try setting this up someday.

Edit: Another thread with more info on this: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...errerid=398725

Last edited by pbill1; Jan 13, 2010 at 05:34 PM.
pbill1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2011, 12:32 PM   #15
bullfrog24260
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
CH Products or other joystick

I have just downloaded Xplane 9 to my iMac.

CH Products seem to indicate that their joysticks are not so compatible to Mac OS X.

Any advice gratefully received or suggestions for alternative.
bullfrog24260 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2011, 01:01 AM   #16
Koltrast
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Joystick for OSX

The Thrustmaster "used to" work with OSX -- the new one should. Contact:

Guillemot Inc.

180 Varick Street, Suite 820 -New York, NY 10014

Tel: 00 1 646 443 8000

Koltrast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2011, 08:32 PM   #17
MBABuyer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: VA
What do I do?????????

I have a thrust master top gun fox 2 from my old toshiba portege. I just bought the new macbook air, and when I plug in the joystick into the computer nothing happens??? I play GE Flight Simulator Online.

I can't even find a page on the computer that shows the joystick is connected (on windows, there is a page that showed it was contacted to the laptop)

Ahhhh!!!!
MBABuyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2011, 07:21 AM   #18
edddeduck
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Logitech Joysticks are HID compliant and work on Mac OS X without the need for any drivers. I know you can use a lot of Logitech Joysticks in Feral games and we never have had any major problems (we had a few small ones over the years if a new stick design is released) but no missing buttons etc

If you have a problem in a specific game I would email the makers of the game it is more likely the problem can be fixed in an update rather than an unsolvable problem with the actual joystick design.

Edwin
edddeduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2011, 01:36 PM   #19
ymoridi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
so does the logitech extreme 3d work without specific mac drivers for the microsoft flight simulator games as well?
ymoridi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2011, 05:01 PM   #20
battlekid
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Somewhere in the middle of nowhere
I love my Saitek (http://saitek.com/uk/prod/fly5.html).

Works perfectly with X-Plane, haven't tested it with anything else. AMAZING joystick.
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB
battlekid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 09:03 AM   #21
Koltrast
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Saitek

It seems that Saitek has only programs for Microsoft - PC. Are you sure it works on OSX? Anybody try it on "Warbirds"?
Koltrast is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 06:09 PM   #22
Arctic Owl
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Logitech Joystick

What is the PN fro the Logitech you guys are using. The one recommended to me is 963290-0403. I need to know as I can get one from Best Buy, but it says it is only good for a PC, on the box.

Thanks in advance

Arctic Owl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 06:37 PM   #23
David085
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I use a Saitek x52 flight stick didn't try it on the Mac yet
David085 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 10:50 PM   #24
kaioshade
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Dualshock 3. works perfectly with 10.6 and 10.7. I use it all the time for mame.
kaioshade is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 12:56 AM   #25
Koltrast
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Dualshock 3

Oops! Your Dualshock 3 doesn't have a stick. No stick, no flying ... at least not the way a P-51 is supposed to be flown. I managed to find one of the last Thrustmasters in Germany.... after that goes "kaputt", I don't know what I'll find, may try that Saitek. Remember it is with Warbirds that this stupiid PC Logitech doesn't work. Don't have anything else to try it on either.
Koltrast is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joystick and Keyboard Q's SirFoxx Apple Collectors 9 Jul 26, 2013 02:48 PM
OS X: Joystick eratic? ivnj Mac and PC Games 1 Jul 7, 2013 03:01 PM
OS X: Saitech X52 Pro Joystick with Mac? C4TTR Mac and PC Games 2 May 14, 2013 08:20 AM
All iPads: Gaming Joystick. matt172021 iPad Accessories 1 Apr 26, 2013 05:17 PM
joystick dan01 Mac Peripherals 2 Jul 18, 2012 06:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC