Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 21, 2004, 11:01 PM   #1
abhishekit
macrumors 65816
 
abhishekit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: akron , ohio
Send a message via Yahoo to abhishekit
why does safari use so much cpu?

when i check my activity monitor..
sometimes sfari usage of cpu goes upto 45%..and itunes 35%..so it really slows evrything down..i have g4ibook 800 mhz..640 mb ram,,..
anyone knows what should i do..
thanks
__________________
" Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein
one of the videos I made
abhishekit is offline   0
Old Jan 21, 2004, 11:32 PM   #2
Mac til death
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Memphis
is this while you are running other programs or just safari?

If you are running a lot of programs that utilize webkit, that may lag Safari, but I'm just speculating...

an update wouldn't be so bad though....
Mac til death is offline   0
Old Jan 22, 2004, 12:42 AM   #3
abhishekit
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
abhishekit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: akron , ohio
Send a message via Yahoo to abhishekit
Quote:
Originally posted by Mac til death
is this while you are running other programs or just safari?

If you are running a lot of programs that utilize webkit, that may lag Safari, but I'm just speculating...

an update wouldn't be so bad though....
a lot of times it happens when i am using safari and itunes.just two!!!actually safari usage goes upto even 50%!!!
__________________
" Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein
one of the videos I made
abhishekit is offline   0
Old Jan 22, 2004, 01:17 AM   #4
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
i find safari to be a giant CPU hog. i was hoping it would calm down under panther, but no change. it can grab up to 80% (out of 200%, 2 cpus).

i use 'top' to get that number.
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0
Old Jan 22, 2004, 01:36 AM   #5
Dale Sorel
macrumors 6502a
 
Dale Sorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Safari will use varying amounts of CPU depending on the amount of "activity" on page being viewed.
Dale Sorel is offline   0
Old Jan 22, 2004, 01:50 AM   #6
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally posted by Dale Sorel
Safari will use varying amounts of CPU depending on the amount of "activity" on page being viewed.
well, YEAH, i just think 80% is out of hand. chimera never gets near those levels.
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0
Old Jan 22, 2004, 04:27 AM   #7
altair
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
why's it matter if it uses 80% if you only have two things going at once? I would imagine it scales down if other things are working. What else are you going to be doing with all those processes if safari uses a lower number? You can't put them in the bank to save for later :P
__________________
"But then anyone who has been to any of the higher dimensions will know that they are a pretty nasty heathen lot up there who should just be smashed and done in, and would be, too, if anyone could work out a way of firing missiles at right angles to reality." - Hitchhikers Guide
altair is offline   0
Old Jan 22, 2004, 01:22 PM   #8
abhishekit
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
abhishekit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: akron , ohio
Send a message via Yahoo to abhishekit
Quote:
Originally posted by altair
why's it matter if it uses 80% if you only have two things going at once? I would imagine it scales down if other things are working. What else are you going to be doing with all those processes if safari uses a lower number? You can't put them in the bank to save for later :P
no actually it does matter..it slows a hell lot down..click on the other tabbed windows and you see that busy wheel...and reloading takes a lot of time too....
when safari was using up 50% cpu..and was unable to reload a page..i opened up internet explorer, it was refreshing that page very fast..and was just taking 3% cpu...and it was a page which was giving live scores so it was important that it got refreshed fast..
and i have 640 mb memory ...does safari need even more?
__________________
" Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein
one of the videos I made
abhishekit is offline   0
Old Jan 22, 2004, 01:35 PM   #9
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally posted by altair
why's it matter if it uses 80% if you only have two things going at once? I would imagine it scales down if other things are working. What else are you going to be doing with all those processes if safari uses a lower number? You can't put them in the bank to save for later :P
actually, i run a lot of things, including folding. i'd love for all those extra CPU cycles to be used for folding instead of safari's bloat.

there. i said it. safari's bloated.
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0
Old Jan 24, 2004, 06:35 PM   #10
chris h 1997
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USSA
Safari

Using "top" to check usage the highest reading I got for Safari was 75%. That does seem a bit extreme for a web browser but I don't really see it bothering the other processes running on the machine. iTunes is using about 5% and top seems to use about 12%. Just idle Safari looks to use about 10% but when I grab the scroll bar and move it rapidly the usage really spikes.

Cheers,
Chris
chris h 1997 is offline   0
Old Jan 24, 2004, 08:35 PM   #11
abhishekit
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
abhishekit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: akron , ohio
Send a message via Yahoo to abhishekit
Re: Safari

Quote:
Originally posted by chris h 1997
Using "top" to check usage the highest reading I got for Safari was 75%. That does seem a bit extreme for a web browser but I don't really see it bothering the other processes running on the machine. iTunes is using about 5% and top seems to use about 12%. Just idle Safari looks to use about 10% but when I grab the scroll bar and move it rapidly the usage really spikes.

Cheers,
Chris
how do u use 'top'?
EDIT..hey got it..no need to reply
__________________
" Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein
one of the videos I made

Last edited by abhishekit; Jan 24, 2004 at 08:58 PM.
abhishekit is offline   0
Old Jan 24, 2004, 09:01 PM   #12
chris h 1997
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USSA
top

abhishekit,
Open a terminal window, found in
/applications/utilities, and type top at the prompt. This will show the processes and the % cpu being used by each, along with memory usage. I hope this helps. Just saw your edit, cool.

Cheers,
Chris
chris h 1997 is offline   0
Old Jan 25, 2004, 12:55 AM   #13
rendezvouscp
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Long Beach, California
Send a message via AIM to rendezvouscp
hhmmm.... I have a dual 2 G5 and Safari uses about 65%, and iTunes about 3%. I have 7 open tabs in Safari, and the fans actually go off (or very low) when I don't run Safari. I have Mail and iChat open too. Weird.
–Chase
rendezvouscp is offline   0
Old Jan 25, 2004, 11:19 AM   #14
mklos
macrumors 68000
 
mklos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: My house!
Send a message via AIM to mklos
I have a 1 GHz G4 iMac and Safari doesn't use hardly any CPU on my computer. iTunes doesn't use hardly any CPU either. I'm running Mac OS X.3.2 with 768 MB PC2100 DDR RAM.
__________________
2.66 GHz Quad-Core Mac Pro (Nehlem)
24" LED Cinema
Aluminum MacBook
2.0 GHz Core 2 Duo
16GB iPhone 3GS
mklos is offline   0
Old Jan 25, 2004, 11:40 AM   #15
virividox
macrumors 68040
 
virividox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbara - Boston (ugh hate not knowing where to call home)
im running the laptop i have on my sig, and safari never goes about 10% even with multiple tabs. weird
__________________
17" MBP , 2 gig ram, 200 gig fw800 + 120 gig fw400 + 250 gig usb2 ext, 5g 80gig Ipod, Tiger
d200 & d70
virividox is offline   0
Old Jan 25, 2004, 12:21 PM   #16
latergator116
macrumors 68000
 
latergator116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Providence, RI
Send a message via ICQ to latergator116
Quote:
Originally posted by zimv20
actually, i run a lot of things, including folding. i'd love for all those extra CPU cycles to be used for folding instead of safari's bloat.

there. i said it. safari's bloated.
zimv20, I also find Safari to be a CPU hog. Whenever I hit the reload button, it can take up to seven seconds to respond.

Im curious, what do you use?
latergator116 is offline   0
Old Jan 31, 2004, 03:57 PM   #17
buddha
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Somewhere too cold
Just to throw my two cents in...

I've often had safari suck up every available cycle, even when it isn't doing anything extraordinary. I've also noticed that with certain webpages I use (blackboard edu stuff) safari will almost always suck up every cycle it can. It's pretty ridiculous considering how safari is supposed to be so light on its feet.

I still use it as my predominant browser, but have to switch to camino whenever I'm using more high intensity webpages.

Buddha
buddha is offline   0
Old Jan 31, 2004, 04:19 PM   #18
Rower_CPU
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Well, on the forums here with multiple tabs open, Safari is taking up 0% when I'm not doing anything.

Typing in the reply puts me around 10% tops (3% average). Navigating through the tabs, I can push it to 50% if I use the keyboard shortcuts like a maniac and click non-stop.

Running pages with flash content, Homestarrunner for example, keep me around 20%, as does scrolling up and down the page.

This is on a 1GHz TiBook.
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Jan 31, 2004, 04:59 PM   #19
alset
macrumors 65816
 
alset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East Bay, CA
Quote:
Originally posted by zimv20
well, YEAH, i just think 80% is out of hand. chimera never gets near those levels.
That's odd. I always found Camino to suck down more juice in almost every case. Safari usually hovers around 5-15% with a series of open tabs. It spikes when loading pages and such, but that's to be expected.

On another note, I wish Safari loaded multiple tabs as quickly as Camino does.

Dan
__________________
alsetmusic.com
standing on the shoulders of giants....
alset is offline   0
Old Jan 31, 2004, 05:19 PM   #20
Chaszmyr
macrumors 601
 
Chaszmyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
I've heard lots of complaints about Safari being a CPU hog, but right now i'm running Safari on a dual 2ghz G5 with Panther and its using 0% CPU according to Activity Monitor
Chaszmyr is offline   0
Old Jan 31, 2004, 05:39 PM   #21
abhishekit
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
abhishekit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: akron , ohio
Send a message via Yahoo to abhishekit
Quote:
Originally posted by Chaszmyr
I've heard lots of complaints about Safari being a CPU hog, but right now i'm running Safari on a dual 2ghz G5 with Panther and its using 0% CPU according to Activity Monitor
actually it depends on what you are doing wit safari..open 4-5 tabs, one of them being some website thate refreshing every 45 seconds, broadcasting live scores,..then safari just eats and eats...
__________________
" Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein
one of the videos I made
abhishekit is offline   0
Old Jan 31, 2004, 05:45 PM   #22
NuPowerbook
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
I love safari, don't get me wrong, but it is a huge CPU and RAM hog. I usually browse a very popular internet forum, and can have more than 10 tabs open at once, and Safari is taking up over 230 MB. When using Firebird it hovers around 60 or so with the same tabs. I also notice if I quit Safari with all of the tabs open (I do COmmand-Q), I get the spinning beach ball for a good minute.
NuPowerbook is offline   0
Old Feb 1, 2004, 09:55 AM   #23
latergator116
macrumors 68000
 
latergator116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Providence, RI
Send a message via ICQ to latergator116
Yesterday, I had to quit Safari because it was unbearabely slow. It was using around 70% of CPU just reloading a page. Anything I did ony my computer would go extermely slow. I took about 30 seconds to open up my HD window.

On a side note, it also seems to "unexpetedly quit" a lot.
latergator116 is offline   0
Old Feb 1, 2004, 09:08 PM   #24
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
I've seen a lot of people having their CPU eaten up by Safari, but I've never had a problem on my system.
Nermal is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safari Networking 100% CPU Intelligent Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Apr 5, 2014 11:17 AM
Safari massive CPU hog sziehr OS X Mavericks (10.9) 13 Apr 5, 2014 06:00 AM
Safari + Text Field = 100% CPU a1anm Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 20, 2013 05:08 AM
Safari Web Content CPU hog Taipan OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Nov 6, 2013 09:40 AM
Safari used 100% CPU inscrewtable Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Dec 21, 2012 05:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC