Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rhsgolfer33

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 6, 2006
I'm currently an accounting student at a small university in the US. In the next year I will be applying to MS in Accounting programs at about 10 US universities, but I'm thinking about applying for the MSc in Accounting and Finance at London School of Economics as well. I'm hoping to get into LSE's residence halls, but in case I am unable to get a spot there I'd like to determine a little about the cost to live in London for 10 months before I make a decision to apply.

I've been searching the internet looking at flats in London, they've ranged from about £200 or less for a bed-sit to £1000 for a flat in the city center area (per month). My question is this: where should I be looking for a flat? What are some decent areas? I'm a student, so some nightlife close would be enjoyable (not necessary), access to the Tube is preferable as well. I guess I'd prefer a moderate income area that is fairly safe. I'd like to keep it around £700 (per month) or less for a small studio with en-suite shower and bathroom, and a small hot plate and refrigerator. I know it can be done, I'm just not really sure what neighborhoods or areas are good ones to look into. Any good sites to search for flats on as well?

Also, what other costs should I expect to incur in the flat renting process? How about Tube cards? What does a TV license cost? How about internet access?

Thanks for any help!

iBlue

macrumors Core
Mar 17, 2005
London, England
Areas can go from bad to good in a matter of a few streets distance, so it's difficult to say for certain without just generalising. I'm not sure where that school or how close you want to be to it. OnOneMap.com is a good place to start, it uses googlemaps and will mark places for rent according to your search criteria.