Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 1, 2008, 05:35 AM   #1
mattjam
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
internet browsers not responding

Just recently i have found that both Firefox and Safari have been "not responding" when i have tried to view some pages... namely some pages on the bbc news site and the guardian site and also mlb.com

It appears they are pages with some form of embedded video on them.

its rather infuriating. the pages begin to open then all i get is the spinning rainbow and all other firefox or safari pages hang too.

anyone have suggestions please?

Thanks

Matt
mattjam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2008, 06:19 AM   #2
Neil321
macrumors 68040
 
Neil321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattjam View Post
anyone have suggestions please?

Yer post some links so we can try them out, oh and welcome to MR's
__________________
stuff
people who care use MRoogle
Neil321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2008, 07:18 AM   #3
mattjam
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
of course...

these are some of the pages that i have opened that look like they are fully loaded apart from the video bit...then crashed.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/
http://www.mlb.com/
http://www.bbc.co.uk/go/homepage/d/i...ss/7645645.stm


matt
mattjam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2008, 08:22 AM   #4
logana
macrumors 65816
 
logana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scotland
All working fine for me on a wireless MacBook 10.5.4 - Flash Player 10 installed.

All the videos play (none very exciting though !).

Check what version of Flash is installed - does youtube.com work ??

Are you in the UK - who is your ISP ?
__________________
MacBook 7,1 - 2.4GHz 8GB 500GB, 32GB iPod Touch 4G
logana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2008, 08:39 AM   #5
mattjam
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
i am in the uk. We have Virgin at home as the ISP. i haven't had a chance to take my MB else where to try a different ISP as yet.

I am running OS X 10.5.5
with flash version 9,0,124,0

youtube works fine!
mattjam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2008, 09:05 AM   #6
logana
macrumors 65816
 
logana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scotland
I am using Shockwave Flash 10.0 d536 - might be worth a try....

The sites are all working using Safari 3.1.2.
__________________
MacBook 7,1 - 2.4GHz 8GB 500GB, 32GB iPod Touch 4G
logana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2008, 10:02 AM   #7
Neil321
macrumors 68040
 
Neil321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
Quote:
Originally Posted by logana View Post
I am using Shockwave Flash 10.0 d536 - might be worth a try....

The sites are all working using Safari 3.1.2.
Sorry i didn't get back sooner mattjam, but I'm with logana on this one, all the sites open & play fine using safari 3.1.2 & flash 10, I'm in the UK but am on BT's broadband, like logana suggested give flash 10 ago
__________________
stuff
people who care use MRoogle
Neil321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2008, 11:24 AM   #8
mattjam
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I have just updated my shockwave player and am now on version 10.

however this hasn't fixed it. hmmm.
mattjam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2008, 11:44 AM   #9
logana
macrumors 65816
 
logana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattjam View Post
I have just updated my shockwave player and am now on version 10.

however this hasn't fixed it. hmmm.
ok - can you sign on to eBay.co.uk ?

any on-line banking sites ?

Virgin - cable or adsl ?

might be an MTU problem.....
__________________
MacBook 7,1 - 2.4GHz 8GB 500GB, 32GB iPod Touch 4G
logana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2008, 03:19 PM   #10
mattjam
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
so i reckon it appears it is something to do with the OS X 10.5.5

looking at other forums i'm not the only one! but i haven't come across any fixes yet.

ebay works and so does my internet banking.
mattjam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2008, 03:28 PM   #11
logana
macrumors 65816
 
logana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scotland
Could well be 10.5.5 in that case - I have not upgraded because I use an external monitor and it seems a lot of folk have been having big problems with MacBooks not recognising the monitor after they upgraded to 10.5.5 - so giving it a miss in the meantime...
__________________
MacBook 7,1 - 2.4GHz 8GB 500GB, 32GB iPod Touch 4G
logana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2008, 04:03 PM   #12
mattjam
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
ahhh

you know what...i think its sorted.

found this:

http://discussions.apple.com/message...168340#8168340

tried changing the DNS codes. my connection has got quicker and i can now look at the dull videos on mlb.com. it dodn't happen right away which made me wonder...but now it does.

thank you every one for your time
matt
mattjam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2008, 04:43 PM   #13
logana
macrumors 65816
 
logana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scotland
Still does not make sense - DNS settings are not going to make the videos appear - I don't use OpenDNS although I did up until a week ago when it started to block sites....Perhaps there was a fault with the Virgin DNS servers....

I am on TalkTalk and using their default DNS servers and your sites (and dull videos) load fine...
__________________
MacBook 7,1 - 2.4GHz 8GB 500GB, 32GB iPod Touch 4G
logana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2010, 08:27 AM   #14
HDH
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Does anyone else have this same problem? It's damn frustrating.

A site will work just fine for days, then one day it will just not respond. I can force quit, reopen the application and go into any sites I want, but that same site will still have that problem, unless I restart my computer.

This happens on all my browsers, Firefox, Camino, Safari........
HDH is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yahoo! has hijacked my internet browsers! Help! UwizK OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 8 May 24, 2014 09:18 PM
trackpad gestures not working in internet browsers jesusplay OS X Mavericks (10.9) 5 Jan 17, 2014 10:09 PM
Internet Browsers have been Hijacked blazingriver OS X 1 Dec 23, 2013 08:29 AM
In terms of Internet browsers jaardz OS X 3 Jul 2, 2013 07:40 PM
RAM Usage for internet browsers Virgule82 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 6 Jun 12, 2012 09:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC