Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 6, 2008, 07:19 PM   #1
J-Rod
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I have a really wierd problem with my car amp, plz help

K, I've been struggling over this for the last week or two and really need some help.

Simply, I'm running a 10" sub off of a Sony XM-504X amp. Everything worked fine and really thumped. Jumped in one morning and started playing some music but i noticed the sub wasn't working. As random as that.

There is an indicator light on the amp
Green-Working fine
Off-Cars off
Red-The head is turned on but the amp isn't working (I think this is like a standby mode)

I can turn my amp on (green light) and the whole setup works at really low volume, but as soon as i turn it up the amp stops working and the light turns red.

I've checked every wire
Tried my friends sub with it
Good Ground

I just can't figure out whats wrong, plz help.
J-Rod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 07:21 PM   #2
p.luik
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Faribault, MN
Send a message via AIM to p.luik
Did it work with your friends sub? It sounds like an heat problem. Most amps have a fail safe for overheating. When you turn the amp up, it gets too hot and powers down.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8x8 10GB RAM
11" MacBook Air 1.4 4GB/64GB
27 Mb/s download rate:http://www.speedtest.net/rank/2176499404.png
p.luik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 08:28 PM   #3
J-Rod
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
No, it didn't work with my friends sub, and no, it's starting cold
J-Rod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 08:32 PM   #4
p.luik
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Faribault, MN
Send a message via AIM to p.luik
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Rod View Post
No, it didn't work with my friends sub, and no, it's starting cold
Is it stopping cold?
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8x8 10GB RAM
11" MacBook Air 1.4 4GB/64GB
27 Mb/s download rate:http://www.speedtest.net/rank/2176499404.png
p.luik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 08:42 PM   #5
J-Rod
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Well, it only stops when i try and turn it up. I've run it way hot and way cold before and it didn't really effect it.

Thanks
J-Rod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 08:44 PM   #6
p.luik
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Faribault, MN
Send a message via AIM to p.luik
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Rod View Post
Well, it only stops when i try and turn it up. I've run it way hot and way cold before and it didn't really effect it.

Thanks
Where are you turning it up from? At the head unit or the amp? It could be wiring in the amp that is getting messed with if youre turning a knob on the amp.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8x8 10GB RAM
11" MacBook Air 1.4 4GB/64GB
27 Mb/s download rate:http://www.speedtest.net/rank/2176499404.png
p.luik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 08:49 PM   #7
J-Rod
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I've tried turning it up on the head, and also the gain and level on the amp. same problem.

It's driving me crazy

Last edited by J-Rod; Oct 6, 2008 at 09:39 PM.
J-Rod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2008, 09:32 PM   #8
J-Rod
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
can anyone help??? plz
J-Rod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2008, 09:34 PM   #9
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
How many watts continuous is this amp, and what gauge wire do you have running to it? Is it directly connected to the battery?

EDIT: I should also add that you should be using preamp out from your radio leading to your amp. My guess is that your power and ground wires are either too small or don't have a good connection.

Last edited by belvdr; Oct 7, 2008 at 09:42 PM.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2008, 09:41 PM   #10
J-Rod
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
0 gauge running from the battery into a distribution block, 8 gauge to amp, 8 gauge ground

1000 watts
850 RMS

Usually it runs fine tho
J-Rod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2008, 09:47 PM   #11
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Well, by Googling around, I noticed this amp has protection for temp, voltage & current faults. If temp is out, since you said it is cold, you need to check voltage and current when the volume is low and when you turn it up. My guess is voltage is dropping too low or current is getting too high.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2008, 09:48 PM   #12
J-Rod
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
would you have any idea how to something like that
J-Rod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2008, 09:52 PM   #13
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Rod View Post
would you have any idea how to something like that
Yes, get a multimeter and put the meter into something just above 12V and connect the leads to the meter correctly.. Then put the positive lead of the meter on the positive feed. Put the negative feed on ground and measure. Anything around 12.0 - 12.5V or less is a problem. To note, 12 volt systems in cars are actually 13.8 volts. You don't want anything greater than a 10% difference (1.38 volts +/-). This means the voltage should read somewhere between 12.42 and 15.18, although 10% difference is getting to an extreme point.

For current, you need to put the meter into something greater than what the amp pulls (can't find specs, but if the amp pulls approx 15A, then find something on the multimeter labeled 15A or better), and put the leads into the correct pins for measuring current. Now disconnect the positive lead from the amp. Connect the meter inline (one lead goes to the distribution block, the other goes to the amplifier), and measure the current when the volume is low and when it is high.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2008, 09:54 PM   #14
J-Rod
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
awesome, i'll see what i can do.

Thank you so much
J-Rod is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Really wierd problem with 2TB Western Digital external drive. MacRobert10 Mac Peripherals 58 Oct 7, 2014 04:33 AM
Viber problem.. Plz help me sarah86 Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 0 Aug 1, 2013 03:22 AM
Sound problem plz help zirai Digital Audio 0 Jul 10, 2013 06:15 PM
Very wierd problem with iphone 4s and wifi network hakuna-matata iPhone 5 Jul 15, 2012 03:55 PM
Wierd Gevey Ultra S problem! CarlFredrik Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jul 7, 2012 03:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC