Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 9, 2008, 06:39 AM   #1
ascender
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Send a message via MSN to ascender Send a message via Yahoo to ascender
Power Mac G5 - how many HDDs and is RAID possible?

I'm looking to try and solve my storage and backup problems just now and was thinking that a G5 machine might be the answer. We have a dual 1.8GHz G5 tower sitting here doing nothing, so I was wondering if its possible to fit 4 new 1TB drives to it and get a RAID card?

I notice that there's two HDD drive bays at the top, but is there any other way to expand the number of drives it can hold?

I'll have a look on here to see if there's any RAID cards available for it, but if anyone knows, that would be a help too.

Thanks!

Edit:

Would a card like this allow me to do software RAID 5 via Leopard? This machine is going to be used as a backup server, so speed isn't a major issue which I'm guessing would be the main advantage of going with a hardware RAID controller.

Last edited by ascender; Oct 9, 2008 at 06:49 AM.
ascender is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2008, 07:36 AM   #2
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ascender View Post
I'm looking to try and solve my storage and backup problems just now and was thinking that a G5 machine might be the answer. We have a dual 1.8GHz G5 tower sitting here doing nothing, so I was wondering if its possible to fit 4 new 1TB drives to it and get a RAID card?

I notice that there's two HDD drive bays at the top, but is there any other way to expand the number of drives it can hold?

I'll have a look on here to see if there's any RAID cards available for it, but if anyone knows, that would be a help too.

Thanks!

Edit:

Would a card like this allow me to do software RAID 5 via Leopard? This machine is going to be used as a backup server, so speed isn't a major issue which I'm guessing would be the main advantage of going with a hardware RAID controller.
The Sonnet card: No, as it only listed RAID 0,1,10.

The RocketRAID 2210 could serve your needs (4 int. drives RAID5), and is OS X compatible. It's available at provantage.com, for $168.73USD. Cheaper, and they ship to the UK as well. You could also try span.com, as I didn't check there.

As for squeezing in drives, the Sonnet G5 Jive would help. It would allow you to install a total of 5 drives. Also available at provantage.com for $72.74USD.

Added up, $139.373 GBP + VAT + s/h. (Used xe.com for currency conversion).

Hope this helps.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2008, 08:14 AM   #3
iamcheerful
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Try modding the Pro Drive ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ascender View Post
I'm looking to try and solve my storage and backup problems just now and was thinking that a G5 machine might be the answer. We have a dual 1.8GHz G5 tower sitting here doing nothing, so I was wondering if its possible to fit 4 new 1TB drives to it and get a RAID card?

I notice that there's two HDD drive bays at the top, but is there any other way to expand the number of drives it can hold?

I'll have a look on here to see if there's any RAID cards available for it, but if anyone knows, that would be a help too.

Thanks!

Edit:

Would a card like this allow me to do software RAID 5 via Leopard? This machine is going to be used as a backup server, so speed isn't a major issue which I'm guessing would be the main advantage of going with a hardware RAID controller.
Given that you are intending to use it as a backup server, I would suggest (as stated in the Title), if you do not mind some hands on experiences, modding the Pro Drive offered by Transintl.com.

Alternatively, you can have a complete diy solution applying the Pro Drive's concept.

Why 2.5", simply because they are apparently more reliable (typically able to sustain higher Gs). Also, supposedly lower power consumption over the 3.5" counterparts. I myself have always toyed with the idea of having 2.5" in desktops and 3.5" in portables simply just for the fun of it. And NO, my solutions ain't neat at all. I totally appreciate the companies than come up with elegant solutions.

There's a more detailed analysis over at Barefeats.
iamcheerful is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2008, 05:35 PM   #4
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamcheerful View Post
Given that you are intending to use it as a backup server, I would suggest (as stated in the Title), if you do not mind some hands on experiences, modding the Pro Drive offered by Transintl.com.

Alternatively, you can have a complete diy solution applying the Pro Drive's concept.

Why 2.5", simply because they are apparently more reliable (typically able to sustain higher Gs). Also, supposedly lower power consumption over the 3.5" counterparts. I myself have always toyed with the idea of having 2.5" in desktops and 3.5" in portables simply just for the fun of it. And NO, my solutions ain't neat at all. I totally appreciate the companies than come up with elegant solutions.

There's a more detailed analysis over at Barefeats.
This is definitely an interesting product, but the OP is using a G5, not a (2006 or newer) Mac Pro. Different internal layout.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2008, 06:16 PM   #5
iamcheerful
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
@nanofrog & others:
with ref. to my post above, thus i mentioned "modding the ..." or perform a "complete diy ..." unfortunately, it certainly will not be a simple online purchase and plug&play solution.

@TS:
MAXupgrades's MaxConnect concept may apply to your G5 model. You may wish to explore this area too.
iamcheerful is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2008, 07:02 AM   #6
The Bandit
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
You can fit in 11 hard drives if you remove the DVD drive.
The Bandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2008, 05:22 PM   #7
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamcheerful View Post
@nanofrog & others:
with ref. to my post above, thus i mentioned "modding the ..." or perform a "complete diy ..." unfortunately, it certainly will not be a simple online purchase and plug&play solution.
If there wasn't "some assembly required", then it wouldn't be DIY.
That would take all the fun out of it (cut hands and fingers, loud swearing....).
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2008, 09:38 PM   #8
iamcheerful
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
hi-5, nanofrog :)

hi-5!
iamcheerful is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2008, 02:30 PM   #9
ascender
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Send a message via MSN to ascender Send a message via Yahoo to ascender
Thanks for all the info. Not sure why I was bothered about RAID 5 as this will be a backup of fairly static information, so I'll just create a striped set out of the drives. Love the look of that Jive unit to hold 3 HDDs. I'd also forgotten just how well thought-out the inside of PowerMacs were.
ascender is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2008, 07:16 PM   #10
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ascender View Post
Thanks for all the info. Not sure why I was bothered about RAID 5 as this will be a backup of fairly static information, so I'll just create a striped set out of the drives. Love the look of that Jive unit to hold 3 HDDs. I'd also forgotten just how well thought-out the inside of PowerMacs were.
Nothing to be scared about on RAID 5.
Use enterprise drives, and you reduce your risk of failure greatly compared to consumer drives. I know a lot of people use the consumer units, but I've seen too many early failures in this scenario. RAID 0 is a particular problem, as when 1 drive fails, everything is lost. OK if you have everything backed up, can afford the down time, and a new replacement.

Good luck.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2008, 03:50 AM   #11
iamcheerful
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
You may try the popsicle method. It is more affordable than the Jive/MaxConnect.
iamcheerful is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two different 2008 Mac Pros, 2 different Raid Cards, no HDDs technotica Mac Pro 6 Jan 15, 2013 03:16 AM
To RAID or not to RAID in Mac Pro 2009 heved Mac Pro 26 Oct 30, 2012 06:20 PM
External HDDs in RAID 0 ? MacMan988 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Oct 13, 2012 03:48 AM
HDD-s on Mac Pro RAID linked, more power? Andrei Nemo Mac Pro 1 Jul 19, 2012 03:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC