Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 10, 2008, 01:08 PM   #1
Kilamite
macrumors G3
 
Kilamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Accessing Time Machine on Windows XP

My Mac is away for repair, so I have to make do with my Windows laptop. I've got MacDrive and plugged in my Time Machine hard drive so I could at least get some of my music and documents.

However, I can't actually access the Documents, Downloads, Music etc folders - they are just 0KB icons.

Is there any way at all to get access to these?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2GHz i7 8GB 750GB Hybrid | Mac mini 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB Fusion | OS X 10.9.2
iPhone 5 64GB | Apple TV 3 1080p | iOS 7.1
Home Theatre Hackintosh i3 3.5GHz 4GB 3TB | OS X 10.9.2
Kilamite is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2008, 01:12 PM   #2
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Might be a permission problem. I take it you're looking at the initial backup?
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
77 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2008, 01:15 PM   #3
Kilamite
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Kilamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
Might be a permission problem. I take it you're looking at the initial backup?
Yeah - I've got a few backups on it, and each one has the same problem. I don't think it is a permission issue, as it would just deny me access to the folder?

Instead, it is the Windows 'No Assigned Program' icon and says it is 0KB. I would have thought MacDrive would allow this?

Or is it the actual stuff inside my Home Folder (which is an actual folder on Windows) aren't folders that Windows understands?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2GHz i7 8GB 750GB Hybrid | Mac mini 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB Fusion | OS X 10.9.2
iPhone 5 64GB | Apple TV 3 1080p | iOS 7.1
Home Theatre Hackintosh i3 3.5GHz 4GB 3TB | OS X 10.9.2
Kilamite is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2008, 12:15 PM   #4
Kilamite
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Kilamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Anyone?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2GHz i7 8GB 750GB Hybrid | Mac mini 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB Fusion | OS X 10.9.2
iPhone 5 64GB | Apple TV 3 1080p | iOS 7.1
Home Theatre Hackintosh i3 3.5GHz 4GB 3TB | OS X 10.9.2
Kilamite is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
using time machine on a Sparse image BENI Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jan 16, 2013 01:09 PM
Leopard Time Machine can't access Snow Time Machine files? Starhorsepax Mac Basics and Help 3 Sep 21, 2011 04:16 PM
Time machine on unplugged drive HelterSkelter Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 4 Aug 11, 2011 11:37 AM
Airport Extreme or Time Capsule to be used only for Time Machine? alexreich Mac Peripherals 4 Jul 4, 2011 04:24 PM
How to access Time Machine on XP Alan Menhennet Mac Basics and Help 3 Oct 26, 2009 06:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC