Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lizzerosu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 11, 2008
I have been using my macbook without problem in my home for several months. The other night it froze and when I rebooted the computer, airport no longer picked up our wireless network. We have not changed the router settings so it appears to be a problem with my computer. I am able to connect to the internet via an ethernet cord but no luck with the wireless. (I am able to connect to wireless on a closed network at another site.) Any ideas on how to resolved the problem would be much appreciated.

Me1000

macrumors 68000
Jul 15, 2006
I have been using my macbook without problem in my home for several months. The other night it froze and when I rebooted the computer, airport no longer picked up our wireless network. We have not changed the router settings so it appears to be a problem with my computer. I am able to connect to the internet via an ethernet cord but no luck with the wireless. (I am able to connect to wireless on a closed network at another site.) Any ideas on how to resolved the problem would be much appreciated.

Do you have any other devices that you could (or do) connect to the router (at home) at the moment?

lizzerosu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 11, 2008
couple of other laptops are connecting to wireless on same router (not sure if thats what you mean)

Beric

macrumors 68020
Jan 22, 2008
Bay Area
Do you have any other devices that you could (or do) connect to the router (at home) at the moment?

Yup. Before we bought a new router, my Mom's old G3 iBook on the network (with only a wireless B card) would slow all network traffic to a halt. Now that computer is on a second router "bridged" to the new router (which runs in G/N only mode). The improvements are incredible.

Me1000

macrumors 68000
Jul 15, 2006