Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Xino

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 5, 2008
Maybe a simple question:
I've created an application and I need some help with executing a method every 5 minutes (or so).

My first idea about this was to create a while or for loop and increasing a variable. When the variable is high enough (lets say 10000) I execute the method and reset the timer. I think this will cause a high CPU load and besides that, there must be a nicer way to do this.

I've some experience with threads so I'm think of something with NSThread?

kpua

macrumors 6502
Jul 25, 2006
Agreed, but if you're writing a command-line app, you'll need to start the run loop for it to work. If its a GUI app, then don't worry, AppKit started it for you.

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX
Does your program maintain state in memory that could not be persisted to a backing store? If not, i would say that having the program run the task once, then exit, would be best. Then you can use any number of scheduling tools like at or cron, or something OS X specific (i'm sure there's something) to run it every 5 minutes. Not that you should be sloppy, but this also keeps you from having to track down every memory leak, since your program does not need to run forever.

-Lee

HiRez

macrumors 603
Jan 6, 2004
Western US
Maybe a simple question:
I've created an application and I need some help with executing a method every 5 minutes (or so).

My first idea about this was to create a while or for loop and increasing a variable. When the variable is high enough (lets say 10000) I execute the method and reset the timer. I think this will cause a high CPU load and besides that, there must be a nicer way to do this.