Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

waytoofunny

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 17, 2008
Hi all - I'm new and I am a VERY proud owner of the new Macbook (not pro) that was released this week. I am in love already but I have a problem. I was able to connect to the internet at my school (I'm a teacher) with no issue...it asked for the WEP passphrase and away I went. I was at a cousins house tonight and I was also able to connect there...but only after renewing the DHCP lease. I have not been able to connect ever at home. I have a PC laptop with no prob...
It is a linksys wireless router and as I said I have WEP with a passphrase.

I hope y'all can help a sistah out.

Thanks very much,

Michelle

emt1

macrumors 65816
Jan 30, 2008
Wisconsin
Hi all - I'm new and I am a VERY proud owner of the new Macbook (not pro) that was released this week. I am in love already but I have a problem. I was able to connect to the internet at my school (I'm a teacher) with no issue...it asked for the WEP passphrase and away I went. I was at a cousins house tonight and I was also able to connect there...but only after renewing the DHCP lease. I have not been able to connect ever at home. I have a PC laptop with no prob...
It is a linksys wireless router and as I said I have WEP with a passphrase.

I hope y'all can help a sistah out.

Thanks very much,

Michelle

Get rid of WEP, you might as well have no security at all. If you want security, use WPA or, preferably, WPA2.

waytoofunny

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 17, 2008
thanks - I changed it to WPA with passphrase and I have a complicated one. I still find that airport goes between connecting and a few days later saying it has no IP address....any thoughts?

zachsilvey

macrumors 6502
Feb 5, 2008
Battle Ground
I have a connection problem with a linksys router as well. I find the best thing to do is to turn of airport and turn it back on.