Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 19, 2008, 03:18 PM   #1
yani2k8
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to yani2k8
HELP > "The iPhone "iPhone" could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (1600)"

Hi everyone.

I tried jailbreaking my iPhone 3G (2.1 firmware) using PwnageTool on my iMac, using this tutorial: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=550964

Everything was going well until I got to the point where I had to shift-click on the Restore button on iTunes and choose the ipsw. file it had created. I located the file, clicked on it, it started extracting and when it got to the end, I got the following message.

"The iPhone "iPhone" could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (1600)"

I tried to Google it but the results I got were not very clear so I decided to ask you guys for some help.

Any suggestions?


Thanks in advance.

Yani
yani2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2008, 09:01 PM   #2
TheConfuzed1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Send a message via AIM to TheConfuzed1
You may have a corrupt .ipsw. Try rebuilding a new one, and see if that makes a difference.

If that doesn't help, try QuickPwn.
__________________
http://www.last.fm/user/theconfuzed1
Words With Friends: theconfuzed1
Chess With Friends: theconfuzed1
GameCenter: theconfuzed1
TheConfuzed1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2008, 11:44 PM   #3
XClint
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Unknown error 1600 - me too!

Not matter how many times or different macs I use to make a custom ISPW and restore the custom way (opt+click on restore in iTunes using the Pwnage iPhone1,1_2.0.1_5B108_Custom_Restore.ipsw on the desktop) my original First generation iPhone has the same error - 1600. Should I upgrade letting iTunes 8 restore it fully & then use Pwnage to hack at it? HELP us please!

Last edited by XClint; Oct 19, 2008 at 11:49 PM. Reason: typos
XClint is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2008, 12:08 AM   #4
Opie
macrumors 6502a
 
Opie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Use quickpwn for mac. Pwnage tool failed me about 50 times and finally I went to quickpwn and it worked on the first try. The results are the same. and a Jailbroken phone is WAY better then one thats not.
Opie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2008, 12:01 PM   #5
yani2k8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to yani2k8
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheConfuzed1 View Post
You may have a corrupt .ipsw. Try rebuilding a new one, and see if that makes a difference.

If that doesn't help, try QuickPwn.
Thank you all for the replies.

I tried building the .ipsw file like 5 times but I got the same result every time.

I think I know where I might be going wrong. The stage where you choose the .ispw file to start off with:
.

I used "iPhone1,2_2.0_5A347_Custom_Restore.ipsw" but I'm not sure if this is the correct one? Btw, its a 3G iPhone with a 2.1 firmware. Can you please guide me to what the correct .ipsw file to use is and possibly a link to download it.


Another thing is, pwnage tool didn't ask me for the bootloader file at any stage during the process? Is that normal?
yani2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2008, 01:04 PM   #6
dZp
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
From your snapshot, why are you using the version 2.0 firmware meant for the original iPhone to build your Custom_Restore ?
Why not use the iPhone 3G's 2.1 firmware ?

-> iPhone1,2_2.1_5F136_Restore.ipsw

And here's a very good guide including download link to the right firmware:
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1558

Pay attention to the guide, you must select the "Expert Mode". The iPhone 3G can't (at this time) be software unlocked, so there's no bootloader involved.
__________________
ɹɐǝddɐ ʎǝɥʇ uɐɥʇ ɹǝsolɔ ǝɹɐ ɹoɹɹıɯ uı sʇɔǝɾqo

Last edited by dZp; Oct 20, 2008 at 01:09 PM.
dZp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2008, 03:44 PM   #7
yani2k8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to yani2k8
Quote:
Originally Posted by dZp View Post
From your snapshot, why are you using the version 2.0 firmware meant for the original iPhone to build your Custom_Restore ?
Why not use the iPhone 3G's 2.1 firmware ?

-> iPhone1,2_2.1_5F136_Restore.ipsw

And here's a very good guide including download link to the right firmware:
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1558

Pay attention to the guide, you must select the "Expert Mode". The iPhone 3G can't (at this time) be software unlocked, so there's no bootloader involved.
Thanks for the reply.

I went on the 'iClarified' tutorial. I followed every single step exactly.

I downloaded Pwnage 2.1 and the correct .ipsw file (iPhone1,2_2.1_5F136_Restore.ipsw) and put them in a folder on my desktop.

Everything was going well but once again, when I shift-clicked on Restore and selected the custom .ipsw, I got exactly the same message as before:

Screenshot = http://img227.imageshack.us/my.php?i...icture3rj1.png (couldn't get it to show on the page)

Please help

Last edited by yani2k8; Oct 20, 2008 at 03:50 PM.
yani2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2008, 03:49 PM   #8
gkarris
macrumors 604
 
gkarris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: "No escape from Reality..."
There are bad copies of pwnage out there. I heard you can try downloading from a different mirror.
__________________
"This gate's plastic - where's the REAL one?" Captain Carter, Stargate SG-1, "Touchstone"
gkarris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2008, 04:25 PM   #9
yani2k8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to yani2k8
Quote:
Originally Posted by gkarris View Post
There are bad copies of pwnage out there. I heard you can try downloading from a different mirror.
I downloaded it from the link given in the iClarified tutorial. Could that be a bad copy?
yani2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2008, 01:39 AM   #10
prodigy883
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I had this problem before. You have to make sure your phone is in recovery mode. Once it is in recovery mode you will have no choice but to restore and from here you will be allowed to restore from a custom ipsw.
prodigy883 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2008, 04:49 PM   #11
yani2k8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to yani2k8
Quote:
Originally Posted by prodigy883 View Post
I had this problem before. You have to make sure your phone is in recovery mode. Once it is in recovery mode you will have no choice but to restore and from here you will be allowed to restore from a custom ipsw.
So how do I make 100% sure that it's in recovery mode?

edit: I used this tutorial to make sure I'm doing it right: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=367

Mostly everything works exactly just like it's shown in the tutorial - I get the message saying that iTunes has detected an iPhone in recovery mode and that it needs to be restored. However there is one thing that is different. In the tutorial it says that my iPhone will look like this:



But mine didn't look like this. Mine just didn't have anything on the screen whatsoever.

Last edited by yani2k8; Oct 21, 2008 at 05:13 PM.
yani2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2008, 06:31 PM   #12
RRutter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Send a message via AIM to RRutter
Download the firmware .ipsw online, check iClarified, and put your iPhone into DFU mode, than hold down option (when on a mac) and click restore, and locate the .ipsw file to restore it.
RRutter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 12:14 AM   #13
prodigy883
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
In recovery mode your phone screen should be all black. It shouldn't look like the picture. To put in recovery mode have you iphone plugged into your computer with usb. Then hold both power and home for ten seconds. After ten seconds release the power button and continue to hold the home for ten more seconds. If you get a 1600 error do a regular restore and then try it again.

You are right it was my mistake it is DFU but even with me mistaking the word recovery for dfu this way works.

Last edited by prodigy883; Oct 22, 2008 at 01:07 AM.
prodigy883 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 12:28 AM   #14
RRutter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Send a message via AIM to RRutter
Quote:
Originally Posted by prodigy883 View Post
In recovery mode your phone screen should be all black. It shouldn't look like the picture. To put in recovery mode have you iphone plugged into your computer with usb. Then hold both power and home for ten seconds. After ten seconds release the power button and continue to hold the home for ten more seconds. If you get a 1600 error do a regular restore and then try it again.
No, recovery mode has the picture of the chord with an iTunes logo. DFU mode is black with no icon(s).
RRutter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 05:02 AM   #15
itsmedeka
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Had the same 1600 issue like some of you, after endless searching on google I found nothing..

Then I thought "Instead of using the custom .ipsw or the .ipsw on iclarified why don't I use the .ipsw file in itunes"

DING DING DING !

go into harddrive/users/"yourusername"/library/itunes/device support and create your custom .ipsw for pwnage with the .ipsw located in this folder.

Voila !
itsmedeka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 05:08 PM   #16
yani2k8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to yani2k8
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsmedeka View Post
Had the same 1600 issue like some of you, after endless searching on google I found nothing..

Then I thought "Instead of using the custom .ipsw or the .ipsw on iclarified why don't I use the .ipsw file in itunes"

DING DING DING !

go into harddrive/users/"yourusername"/library/itunes/device support and create your custom .ipsw for pwnage with the .ipsw located in this folder.

Voila !
Right, I located the file but how do I change it to create it my custom using pwnage? Or do I just delete the existing one and replace it with the custom one that I created? And what do I name it? Give a bit more detail if possible please.

Thanks a lot.
yani2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 06:44 PM   #17
TheConfuzed1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Send a message via AIM to TheConfuzed1
Quote:
Originally Posted by yani2k8 View Post
Right, I located the file but how do I change it to create it my custom using pwnage? Or do I just delete the existing one and replace it with the custom one that I created? And what do I name it? Give a bit more detail if possible please.

Thanks a lot.
No, you don't change anything. When PwnageTool asks for the file, all you do is navigate to it.
__________________
http://www.last.fm/user/theconfuzed1
Words With Friends: theconfuzed1
Chess With Friends: theconfuzed1
GameCenter: theconfuzed1
TheConfuzed1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 07:00 PM   #18
yani2k8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to yani2k8
Good news

I just did it using my vista laptop. I took me like 5 minutes to do. I should have tried that earlier but I always thought mac would be easier.

Thanks for all your help everyone
yani2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 08:19 PM   #19
yani2k8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to yani2k8
OK, bad news again. I just realized that after jailbreaking my iPhone, now it doesn't have any network coverage so I can't make any calls or send texts. I only got 1 bar on the network coverage thing at the top of the screen.

PLEASE help

Thanks.
yani2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 08:46 PM   #20
RRutter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Send a message via AIM to RRutter
Quote:
Originally Posted by yani2k8 View Post
OK, bad news again. I just realized that after jailbreaking my iPhone, now it doesn't have any network coverage so I can't make any calls or send texts. I only got 1 bar on the network coverage thing at the top of the screen.

PLEASE help

Thanks.
If you mean you jailbroke your phone with PwnageTool, than make sure you didn't add any custom logos when booting, etc. This is a major glitch with Pwnage Tool, as it makes it unable to receive service. I know this from reading online, and also from experience. Happened to my brother's phone when I tried adding a custom boot-up image.
RRutter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 12:08 AM   #21
prodigy883
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Make sure when you make your image that activate phone is NOT clicked. That is big if you use att.
prodigy883 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 03:23 AM   #22
yani2k8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to yani2k8
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRutter View Post
If you mean you jailbroke your phone with PwnageTool, than make sure you didn't add any custom logos when booting, etc. This is a major glitch with Pwnage Tool, as it makes it unable to receive service. I know this from reading online, and also from experience. Happened to my brother's phone when I tried adding a custom boot-up image.
I did not add any custom logos whatsoever. I just kept it the way it is. I says No Service on the top of the screen.

Any other suggestions?
yani2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 05:40 AM   #23
yani2k8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to yani2k8
Quote:
Originally Posted by prodigy883 View Post
Make sure when you make your image that activate phone is NOT clicked. That is big if you use att.
I did it on Vista where that option wasn't available...
yani2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 04:24 PM   #24
yani2k8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to yani2k8
Hey guys.

Just letting you know that the problem has been solved. I restored it back to normal using iTunes and then I used QuickPwn (Mac) which was fast and effective. I now got a jailbroken iPhone 3G with network coverage.

Happy days

Thanks for the help everybody!
yani2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2008, 11:59 PM   #25
redeyedtreefrog
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Thumbs up Thank you for posting this!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsmedeka View Post
Had the same 1600 issue like some of you, after endless searching on google I found nothing..

Then I thought "Instead of using the custom .ipsw or the .ipsw on iclarified why don't I use the .ipsw file in itunes"

DING DING DING !

go into harddrive/users/"yourusername"/library/itunes/device support and create your custom .ipsw for pwnage with the .ipsw located in this folder.

Voila !
Gotta thank you, itsmedeka, for this--I had this exact problem today and was just thinking I was going to have to start everything all over again, but saw this and tried it tonight and your solution worked like a charm! Thank you for posting it!
redeyedtreefrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The iPhone "iPhone" could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (9) myusernamename iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Feb 10, 2014 11:12 PM
iPhone: The iPhone "iPhone" could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (11) php111 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 28 Jan 16, 2014 06:02 PM
Help! "iTunes could not back up the iPhone "iPhone" because an error occurred." cooky94 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Apr 14, 2013 07:35 PM
The iPhone "iPhone" could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (3014). BMX-Casey iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Apr 13, 2013 02:37 PM
The iPhone "iPhone" could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (-1). dogthateats iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Feb 13, 2013 01:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC