Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 21, 2008, 06:20 AM   #1
Mugs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Walton-on-Thames, UK
Heroes 3 for Mac?

hey, I have been searching the internet for ages trying to find a version of heroes 3 complete for mac, the only place I can find it is amazon for $150!!! But I live in the UK. After not being able to find it for ages I decided to look if there were any torrents for it, and I found one. After downloading it, it installed perfectly on my imac g3, but the play disc part of the torrent won't work. There are only two files in the play disc folder and they are: Heroes3.snd and heroes3.vid and they are in a folder called data. I've tried everything but the install keeps saying I have to insert the play disc even though I have made a cd of those files and they are in the computer! I know it's illegal torrenting the game but there is literally no way of getting this game in england! If anyone could help it would be much appreciated.....and if anyone has the game and doesn't want it anymore I would love to make an offer. Thanks.

Mugs
__________________
iMac 27", 3.4GHz Quad i7, 16GB Ram, 1TB HDD, 120GB SSD, AMD 6970m 2GB ; iPad Mini 16GB Wifi+3G ; iPhone 5 64GB
Mugs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 03:04 AM   #2
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
I think 3DO published Heroes for Mac and as far as i know they doesn't exist anymore.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 03:05 PM   #3
comictimes
macrumors 6502a
 
comictimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berkeley, California
I'd definitely offer to send you my copy since I'm definitely not using it anymore but if I still have it at all it's at my home in California while I'm in Massachusetts.

If you still want it in later December let me know then
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.53ghz late 2008, running OSX 10.5.5
comictimes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 06:00 PM   #4
Mugs
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Walton-on-Thames, UK
hey thanks a lot for the offer. But randomly a friend of mine, who I didn't even know had a mac, let alone heroes 3, told me that I could have his!!! It installed perfectly and works really well on the old iMac g3!!! I love this game so much. Hehehe. Anyway thakyou so much for the offer, it's really kind of u. Thanks
__________________
iMac 27", 3.4GHz Quad i7, 16GB Ram, 1TB HDD, 120GB SSD, AMD 6970m 2GB ; iPad Mini 16GB Wifi+3G ; iPhone 5 64GB
Mugs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2009, 04:20 PM   #5
ilovesneakerz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Hey comictimes, do you still have that copy? I lost the play disk for mine when I was moving out of my old house.
ilovesneakerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 06:01 PM   #6
jetkid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Anyone has Heroes III for Mac?

Hi Guys,

Anyone has Heroes III for Mac?
Would be glad if you can send me a copy. Complete would be great.

I'm in Berlin


Cheers,
B
jetkid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 06:08 PM   #7
Hansr
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
The best bet is:

http://www.gog.com/en/gamecard/heroe...mplete_edition
+
http://wineskin.doh123.com/

http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...rsion&iId=2628
Hansr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 06:44 PM   #8
goMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I run Heroes 3 in VMWare. Works absolutely perfectly. Better option than running the Mac version.

Note that Heroes 3 works in OS 9 only, there was never an OS X version.
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 07:16 PM   #9
Angels&Airwaves
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
as the previous poster said you will need a mac with classic mode to play this great game. i don't have one so i play heroes in bootcamp under windows xp.

Last edited by maflynn; Nov 2, 2011 at 07:40 PM. Reason: removed piracy reference
Angels&Airwaves is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 07:18 PM   #10
Hansr
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Don't use VMWare nor Bootcamp, go with Wineskin.
Hansr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 08:11 PM   #11
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
+1 for heroes3+wineskin, it's an old game and runs very well in wine.
The mac version needs os8 or older I guess and running a old mac emulator is more troublesome than using wine.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2013, 10:54 AM   #12
carolo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by comictimes View Post
I'd definitely offer to send you my copy since I'm definitely not using it anymore but if I still have it at all it's at my home in California while I'm in Massachusetts.

If you still want it in later December let me know then
I want it if you still have it
carolo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing Outlook for Mac 2011 Calendar to iCal cycocelica Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 May 13, 2013 01:55 PM
Twitter for Mac Sucks rdowns Mac Applications and Mac App Store 63 Oct 20, 2011 10:08 AM
Office for Mac, Page or Microsoft set from my pc? Politis MacBook Pro 3 Jan 20, 2011 02:55 PM
For sale: guitar hero 3 for mac and pc thechidz Marketplace Archive 2 0 Apr 6, 2008 10:25 AM
aspyr to release Guitar Hero 3 for Mac synth3tik Mac and PC Games 17 Dec 8, 2007 05:18 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC