Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

stefanwoe

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 24, 2008
Installing Windows XP 64 Bit on A Mac Pro with Highpoint RAID and 2,5 Inch SAS drives
Without Bootcamp

Why a Mac Pro for Windows?

I am a Developer and i frequently get large datasets that i have to test in my software. My Software is multithreaded. It uses all processors and all available RAM. So get a big machine with many cores. If you look for such a machine you get offered very expensive "Workstations" which all are quiet exotic and from small specialized vendors. Didn't sound good to me. A Mac Pro is not that expensive, its standardized and its of course about the maximum you can get at all.

Decision for RAID was also a clear decision a s a question of data throughput. I was thinking about a Apple raid but Its expensive and moreover as far as i can read - it doesn't support Windows (! See http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2855 and others).
So i got a Mac pro, a HighPoint Rocket Raid 2640X4 (as tested by barefeet http://www.barefeats.com/hard104.html)
and 4 Seagate 146 GB 2,5 10k Drives (ST9146802SS) together with standardized PC mounting frames for 2,5 Drives to 3.5 slots.

1. Hardware Installation
The Mac Pro has removable metal plates to mount the drives in from top. You push the plates withe the drives in the Mac Pro and they directly fit into the SATA Connector. It was only a little bit handcrafting work to customize the mounting frames for that: I drilled some 2.5 mm holes in them, got myself a M3 tapper, and made additional female screw threads into the frames.
IMG_2777.jpg
IMG_2778.jpg

Then i replaced the origianal screws in the frames (seems to be 3.5mm) by M3 Screws.Thereby it's possible to mount the 2.5 drives in the mac pro.
IMG_2781.jpg
IMG_2785.jpg

(Full sized images are available at http://www.nextop.de/gallery/v/stefan_40/MacProRaid/).