Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 31, 2008, 06:11 PM   #1
myke2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
HELP! Screen is half Light, half Dark!

So I just came home from work and woke up my beautiful two month old 24in iMac. I started up iTunes, checked my email, and looked up to see the top half of my display drop about 15 shades darker than the bottom half! I called Apple Care who told me they had never heard of something like this before and advised me to call the nearest Apple Store. I did, and like Apple Care, they had never heard of this happening. I set up an appointment for tomorrow but needless to say, I'm super pissed. Any ideas on how this could've happened? It's a brand new machine....I didn't expect this.
__________________
24" Aluminum iMac, 2.8 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, iPhone 3G S 32GB White, Black iPod Classic, Apple TV 2G, iPhone 4 16GB
myke2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2008, 06:12 PM   #2
Floris
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by myke2 View Post
So I just came home from work and woke up my beautiful two month old 24in iMac. I started up iTunes, checked my email, and looked up to see the top half of my display drop about 15 shades darker than the bottom half! I called Apple Care who told me they had never heard of something like this before and advised me to call the nearest Apple Store. I did, and like Apple Care, they had never heard of this happening. I set up an appointment for tomorrow but needless to say, I'm super pissed. Any ideas on how this could've happened? It's a brand new machine....I didn't expect this.
2 months old?

1 year warranty : easy fix
__________________
(05) 15" PowerBook / (09) 24" iMac / (06) 2x 20" MacPro 1,1 / (10) iPhone4 16gb, black (11) iPad2, white, 16gb, 3g / (13) iPhone 5s 4g 32gb Silver
Floris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2008, 06:18 PM   #3
myke2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Yea, I know it will be. It's just the hassle of the whole thing. Gotta lug this beast thru the mall. Will they just give me a new one there and transfer my info over or what? I guess I'm just looking for an easy, hassle free fix.
__________________
24" Aluminum iMac, 2.8 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, iPhone 3G S 32GB White, Black iPod Classic, Apple TV 2G, iPhone 4 16GB
myke2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2008, 06:20 PM   #4
Floris
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by myke2 View Post
Yea, I know it will be. It's just the hassle of the whole thing. Gotta lug this beast thru the mall. Will they just give me a new one there and transfer my info over or what? I guess I'm just looking for an easy, hassle free fix.
If you can't back up your data then ask in the store if they can transfer it over. If the answer is no .. then just pick it up and go home and make a backup. If the problem is the monitor and they are willing to just 'switch' it, they could make the effort to remove the hdd and move it to the new one.

If you pimped yours up with extra ram .. make sure you remove the ram first, etc.
__________________
(05) 15" PowerBook / (09) 24" iMac / (06) 2x 20" MacPro 1,1 / (10) iPhone4 16gb, black (11) iPad2, white, 16gb, 3g / (13) iPhone 5s 4g 32gb Silver
Floris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2009, 03:36 PM   #5
Krysa
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Hi,

Did you get your prob solved???? As i have the exact same thing. So only way is taking it to shop or what? And what did they say
Krysa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2009, 07:21 AM   #6
myke2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
They kept my machine for about a week and replaced my LCD screen. Works like a charm now.
__________________
24" Aluminum iMac, 2.8 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, iPhone 3G S 32GB White, Black iPod Classic, Apple TV 2G, iPhone 4 16GB
myke2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2009, 10:43 AM   #7
edgew8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
This is why people should never use the "sleep" mode

I know a lot of people have no problems with it but for the unlucky types such as myself, too many technical issues have cropped up from using it on both windows and Mac. Too much heat can build up over time inside the case and if the fans are not running that can awaken the gremlins. IMO its better to just put the monitor to sleep and let those fans keep the components cool.
__________________
2ghz iMac G5 20"/ 4gb iPod nano 3rd gen:apple/ Macbook Pro 15"
edgew8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2009, 05:19 PM   #8
Duke Mac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas, USA
Hi,
I just saw this topic. I think it looks like a
backlight to the display went out. I had it
start to happen to my 20" ADC, fortunately
I still had one month left on my applecare.
Duke Mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2009, 08:29 PM   #9
gamer2502
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: near Pittsburgh,pa
glad you got it fixed
__________________
13'' aluminum macbook 2.4ghz 2gb ram 250gb
1 quad core intel pc running ubuntu and vista ultimate and 1 amd pc running windows7 ultimate beta
gamer2502 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2009, 03:34 AM   #10
Luvlimum
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Send a message via ICQ to Luvlimum
I too purchased my gorgeous iMac 20" back in September of 2008. The top part of my screen is much darker than the bottom. I spoke to the Re-seller whom I purchased it from and they have asked me to bring it back in. I will backup all my stuff, but I have no idea what I am going to do without my Computer for a whole week!!! I have just started my own home based business (to pay off my gorgeous Mac) and now this? Might have to get my old PC off my mum and use that???


I will take a copy of this Thread with me as I have heard Apple have been trying to convince customers that they know nothing about this and try to convince the customer at the Genius stores that they cannot see anything!!! It has been a real problem for some here in Australia.

I will be taking her in on Monday and fingers crossed it will be repaired on the warranty. I do however, hope that this will not happen again in a few months?

Tanya
Luvlimum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2009, 06:23 PM   #11
floodek
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Hmmm...

Same thing here... 6 months old iMac 24 inch. Fifteen minutes ago while browsing the web the screen got a bit brighter for a split second and then the upper half went went quite few shades darker.

After 16 years of of being a power user of PCs my Mac adventure sure is off to a slow start. It sure is not as bullet-proof as Apple would like us all to think.

Yes, it will get repaired but after the hustle of taking it in for repairs and not having an access to the computer for a week or more ill be an owner of a refurbished now, brand new iMac

I guess for the time being ill dust off my 9 year old AMD t-bird i built my self. In all those years NOT once i had a problem.

Do i sound bitter/disapointed??
floodek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2009, 09:22 PM   #12
deconstruct
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I am now experiencing the same thing on my 20" iMac. The top half suddenly went dim. Even more frustrating is that I just brought it to the Genius Bar last week to fix my optical drive. It took a week to repair and two days later I have to bring it in yet again to fix another problem. Anybody know how long did this repair will take?
deconstruct is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2009, 09:39 PM   #13
Drag'nGT
macrumors 68000
 
Drag'nGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgew8 View Post
This is why people should never use the "sleep" mode

I know a lot of people have no problems with it but for the unlucky types such as myself, too many technical issues have cropped up from using it on both windows and Mac. Too much heat can build up over time inside the case and if the fans are not running that can awaken the gremlins. IMO its better to just put the monitor to sleep and let those fans keep the components cool.
I use sleep mode and so do my friends. The computer cuts all the way off and is ice cold in sleep mode. I'm lost at what you're talking about. Are you talking about actually telling the computer to sleep or just letting it go to sleep after x min?
__________________
You had me at
In love with my rMBP.
Drag'nGT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2009, 10:11 PM   #14
Pugpuppydude
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drag'nGT View Post
I use sleep mode and so do my friends. The computer cuts all the way off and is ice cold in sleep mode. I'm lost at what you're talking about. Are you talking about actually telling the computer to sleep or just letting it go to sleep after x min?
I use put my computer to "sleep" every night when i go to bed. I was under the impression that it is better to put the computer in "sleep" mode to help the HDD last longer since i hear that startup/shutdown is the hardest on a hard-drive.. and i want my hard-drive to last long!
Pugpuppydude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2009, 06:13 PM   #15
Saternoc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
iMac Screen

Recently my aunt's iMac screen went completely black. She took it to the apple store and they told her that it would cost her about $700.00. I started doing browsing around and found that iMac's esp. the 24 inch screens are susceptible to getting spots or lines running through their screens.
I was wondering if you knew if Apple took of this issue because I am considering purchasing a "desktop" Mac. Would I just be better off with a mac mini and a separate screen? I don't do professional photo editing or heavy gaming incase you were wondering. However I do like that the iMac has better graphics, a stronger processor, and more hard drive space.
Saternoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2009, 11:10 PM   #16
Pugpuppydude
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saternoc View Post
Recently my aunt's iMac screen went completely black. She took it to the apple store and they told her that it would cost her about $700.00. I started doing browsing around and found that iMac's esp. the 24 inch screens are susceptible to getting spots or lines running through their screens.
I was wondering if you knew if Apple took of this issue because I am considering purchasing a "desktop" Mac. Would I just be better off with a mac mini and a separate screen? I don't do professional photo editing or heavy gaming incase you were wondering. However I do like that the iMac has better graphics, a stronger processor, and more hard drive space.
All screens are susceptible to this. It is not just iMacs. Keep in mind that people only post on these forums when they are experiencing a problem and not when their computer is running perfectly. If you make an iMac purchase it is wise to get Applecare since it will cover dead pixels and all faulty screen issues. This happens to all screens. Happened to my Dells. Not my iMac yet though.
Pugpuppydude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2009, 01:14 PM   #17
wase4711
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
the same thing has been happening to my wifes 14 month old 24 inch imac;
we bought it from Best buy, and bought the Best Buy extended warranty; will they replace the monitor, the entire computer, and, do they fix it there, or send it to Apple to be fixed? Should I format the computer before taking it in, so her data is safe? We back up to multiple locations, including time machine, I just dont want out financial info open for viewing at the Geek Squad.

Thanks for your input!
wase4711 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2014, 02:26 PM   #18
Hamza720
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
I am somewhat having the same problem. 1/4 of my ipad mini screen is black with blue red and green thin bands on it. It's mainly black but sometimes turns into white or gray. I don't know what to do pleeeeeeeeease help
Hamza720 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2014, 03:26 PM   #19
macthefork
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
You're in the wrong forum, resurrecting an old thread. Why don't you try posting your question over in the iPad forum, here. You'd likely get more help.
__________________
iMac 27" 12,2 (2011) 2.7 GHz i5, 32 RAM, 480 GB SSD & 1TB HDD
iMac 27" 13,2 (late 2012) i7 32 RAM, 1.1 GB Fusion Drive
Mac Pro 1,1 (2) 2.66GHz Xeon 5150, 12GB RAM, 27" NEC Graphics Monitor
macthefork is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Official Dark Knight Rises Image! TJunkers Community Discussion 10 Jul 22, 2012 10:26 PM
Apple Support aware of light leak/bleed issue, advising customers to wait? ahbo iPad 15 Mar 29, 2011 04:07 AM
Half of the screen is yellow, other half is blue? crazytiger86 iPhone 2 Oct 26, 2010 01:52 PM
How close to the screen is the light sensor? arbitrage iPad 7 May 22, 2010 05:59 AM
iMac screen is blurry on half of it ckesten iMac 10 Nov 15, 2008 06:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC