Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 3, 2008, 10:21 PM   #1
MacBytes
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
AT&T Doesn't Support the Mac




Category: News and Press Releases
Link: AT&T Doesn't Support the Mac
Description:: Website to encourage Mac users to email AT%T president Ralph de la Vega to complain about the fact that their free wi-fi is unavailable to Mac laptop users.

Posted on MacBytes.com
Approved by Mudbug
MacBytes is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2008, 10:22 PM   #2
Mudbug
Administrator emeritus
 
Mudbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Central Colorado
Send a message via AIM to Mudbug Send a message via Skype™ to Mudbug
99% of the time I won't link to blogs because the content is often questionable at best, but this seemed interesting to me. Why would Apple partner with AT&T on the iPhone if AT&T isn't willing to support Apple's other computer efforts?
__________________
I think I understand what you're talking about, but where are we going to find a duck and a rubber hose at this time of night?
Mudbug is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2008, 10:28 PM   #3
gilkisson
macrumors 65816
 
gilkisson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach, Horry County (do not pronounce the "H"), South Cacalaki
AT&T is being wrong, obtuse, and pig-headed, for not supporting Macs.

Just like Apple is being equally pig-headed for refusing to support iTunes/iPhone on any version of Linux.
gilkisson is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2008, 10:41 PM   #4
thed0000d
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilkisson View Post
AT&T is being wrong, obtuse, and pig-headed, for not supporting Macs.

Just like Apple is being equally pig-headed for refusing to support iTunes/iPhone on any version of Linux.

You can use your macbook pro as long as you use safari and click on the develop menu and use the 1.1.3 iphone browser. it works i tried it
thed0000d is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2008, 10:59 PM   #5
floatingspirit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Send a message via Yahoo to floatingspirit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudbug View Post
......Why would Apple partner with AT&T on the iPhone if AT&T isn't willing to support Apple's other computer efforts?
Wouldn't that be more Microsoft's style than Apple's?
__________________
Macbook Pro 2010
www.therainforestsite.com
floatingspirit is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2008, 11:23 PM   #6
student101
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
I don't get it. I just went to Starbucks today and used their ATT hotspot. It worked just fine for me. I was using Safari on my white MacBook. I don't really understand what the issue is.
student101 is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2008, 11:45 PM   #7
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
People don't understand that the free wi-fi is only supposed to be for use on the iPhone, not the computer. However, enabling the Developer menu in Safari, allows you to trick the system into thinking your computer is an iPhone.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0
Old Nov 4, 2008, 12:44 AM   #8
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 603
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Lol I didn't even know about the develop menu. That is, until I saw this thread. But AT&T not supporting macs is kinda of stupid.
__________________
YouTube | @beautifulcode
Mac Pro | Thunderbolt Display | iPhone 5 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme | iPad signed by Steve Wozniak
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0
Old Nov 4, 2008, 04:36 AM   #9
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
Quote:
Originally Posted by student101 View Post
I don't get it. I just went to Starbucks today and used their ATT hotspot. It worked just fine for me. I was using Safari on my white MacBook. I don't really understand what the issue is.
The keyword is support. Mac users don't really need that kind of hand holding anyways.
BornAgainMac is offline   0
Old Nov 4, 2008, 05:18 AM   #10
bassproguy07
macrumors 6502a
 
bassproguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Katy, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudbug View Post
99% of the time I won't link to blogs because the content is often questionable at best, but this seemed interesting to me. Why would Apple partner with AT&T on the iPhone if AT&T isn't willing to support Apple's other computer efforts?
sorry this is off topic, but mudbug seeing you name makes me want some crawfish!! I'm a little confused, are we just asking for wifi with an access card or free because it's a mac??
__________________
white macbook, 30 GB video ipod, 8gb iPhone 3G
twitter: bassproguy07
bassproguy07 is offline   0
Old Nov 4, 2008, 06:15 AM   #11
tfrees
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEG View Post
People don't understand that the free wi-fi is only supposed to be for use on the iPhone, not the computer. However, enabling the Developer menu in Safari, allows you to trick the system into thinking your computer is an iPhone.

TEG
How do you do this? I have a macbook and iphone, will it still work? If so, how do i do it?
tfrees is offline   0
Old Nov 4, 2008, 07:41 AM   #12
Porco
macrumors 68000
 
Porco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Apple doesn't support the iPhone on other phone networks, which sucks more.
__________________
I really wish Apple would use the option key a little more, and the command key a little less.
*soundcloud/fdporco*
Porco is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB Hub says it doesn't support Mac OS X. Huh? Billy Boo Bob Mac Peripherals 15 Mar 13, 2014 11:43 AM
coredata doesn't support iOS7 manga iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 Sep 25, 2013 11:37 AM
Install app that doesn't support ML on ML? Sanchez25 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 7 Nov 7, 2012 09:14 AM
Doesn't mac support any mobile usb connectivity?? darksiders Mac Basics and Help 0 Oct 12, 2012 07:35 AM
Why doesn't iOS support favicons? SethBoy iOS 5 and earlier 5 Aug 10, 2012 02:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC