Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 8, 2008, 09:58 PM   #1
NoSmokingBandit
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
How to unhide a file/folder?

I have ntfs-3g installed so i can wire to my ntfs vista drive, but for some reason it mounts invisible. If i run the terminal command to show all files i can see my vista drive, but its transparent. Is there a way to make it visible all the time?
Thanks!
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 06:17 AM   #2
Gray-Wolf
macrumors 68030
 
Gray-Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pandora, Home Tree
Send a message via MSN to Gray-Wolf
Best thing to try, is make if visible in terminal, then right click and click "Get Info"

See if you can change the permissions to show it.
__________________
"And Jesus answered him, saying, It is written, That man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word of God.. "
Gray-Wolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 06:21 AM   #3
gusious
macrumors 65816
 
gusious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Greece
You can also use an app called "hide folders".
__________________
Unix: Mystical,dangerous and unforgiving...
Unix is user friendly. It's just very selective about who it's friends are...
gusious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 12:29 PM   #4
NoSmokingBandit
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
There was nothing in the info about hiding the drive and HideFolders only works on folders, not drives. Thanks for the idea though, any thing else i could try?
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 12:51 PM   #5
mason.kramer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Watertown, MA
There are four ways to hide a file in Mac OS X Finder.

1. It hides files that begin with .

Fix: rename the file

2. If there is a .hidden file in a directory, it hides all the files in that directory that are listed in .hidden

Fix: remove the file's name from .hidden

3. It has the hidden flag set.

Solution: (in the terminal) chflags nohidden /Path/to/file

4. It uses a mac os 9 resource fork that is like a hidden flag

Solution: it's complicated, you need a program, and this isn't the problem.
mason.kramer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 03:50 PM   #6
NoSmokingBandit
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
This is what i get when i run that command in terminal:
Code:
sh-3.2# chflags -R nohidden /Volumes/Vista
chflags: /Volumes/Vista/TheVolumeSettingsFolder/HFSExtentTables/AQU7RR34BJR1U5P0VQLADIUPBG/._1TRVC8QF00U5K96Q4C4AAJ6VAS: Input/output error
chflags: /Volumes/Vista/TheVolumeSettingsFolder/HFSExtentTables/AQU7RR34BJR1U5P0VQLADIUPBG/1TRVC8QF00U5K96Q4C4AAJ6VAS: Input/output error
Theres no .hidden file and the drive named correctly so idk what the deal is.
I ran the command without the "-R" but nothing happened. Iirc, the '-R' flag makes it apply to directories instead of just files, correct?
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 05:03 PM   #7
mason.kramer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Watertown, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoSmokingBandit View Post
This is what i get when i run that command in terminal:
Code:
sh-3.2# chflags -R nohidden /Volumes/Vista
chflags: /Volumes/Vista/TheVolumeSettingsFolder/HFSExtentTables/AQU7RR34BJR1U5P0VQLADIUPBG/._1TRVC8QF00U5K96Q4C4AAJ6VAS: Input/output error
chflags: /Volumes/Vista/TheVolumeSettingsFolder/HFSExtentTables/AQU7RR34BJR1U5P0VQLADIUPBG/1TRVC8QF00U5K96Q4C4AAJ6VAS: Input/output error
Theres no .hidden file and the drive named correctly so idk what the deal is.
I ran the command without the "-R" but nothing happened. Iirc, the '-R' flag makes it apply to directories instead of just files, correct?
As I suspected, it's not a matter of a hidden file. It looks like you have an I/O issue. Sorry. See if you can write anything to the volume through any means.
mason.kramer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 09:48 PM   #8
NoSmokingBandit
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Yeah, i can read/write to the drive just fine. I just created several folder and deleted them with no problems. The partition shows up in Disk Utility fine and i just cant figure out what would make it act up. I have another NTFS and a FAT32 partition on that drive and both of them work perfectly.
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 10:18 PM   #9
mason.kramer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Watertown, MA
Wait a minute. I'm a fool/I didn't pay enough attention. I just listed the four ways to hide a file in Mac OS, but I didn't mention that only the first two could be related to an NTFS partition. Of course I should have seen that that post was going to lead you to chflags it (though I don't know why you ad-libbed the -R flag...). You see, NTFS doesn't have unix flags. Of course it'll give you an IO error. Never mind that. Yeah, there's pretty much just the first two ways of having the file hidden. So it's got to be something else. Sorry, but whatever it is, I don't know what it is.
mason.kramer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 11:14 PM   #10
sickmacdoc
macrumors 68020
 
sickmacdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Hampshire
I have my BootCamp drive icon hidden on purpose, and it is NTFS- BUT I also have MacFUSE and NTFS-3G installed to allow writing to it from OSX so not having that may affect the results of the following Terminal commands that I used. I think I did this before I installed MacFUSE but cannot remember for sure.

To hide the NTFS drive icon (or any other drive icon for that matter):

SetFile -a V "/Volumes/Drive Name Goes Here"

(quotes required- substitute your drive name at the end obviously)

To reset to visible, the same command but substituting a lower case v:

SetFile -a v "/Volumes/Drive Name Goes Here"

Perhaps trying the second to reset to visible could be useful.
sickmacdoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2008, 01:27 PM   #11
NoSmokingBandit
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Well, after downloading and installing XCode i am left with this:
Code:
Steven:~ Steven$ setfile -a v "/Volumes/Vista"
ERROR: File Not Found. (-43)  on file: /Volumes/Vista
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2008, 01:59 PM   #12
sickmacdoc
macrumors 68020
 
sickmacdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoSmokingBandit View Post
Well, after downloading and installing XCode i am left with this:
Code:
Steven:~ Steven$ setfile -a v "/Volumes/Vista"
ERROR: File Not Found. (-43)  on file: /Volumes/Vista
Darn- I apologize for that- I forgot you had to have the Developer's tools installed.

With the results you got I would have to say that there is something else going on then, as I just copied the commands out of my post to confirm, and naturally they worked just fine as I had hoped they might for you.

To somebody more Terminal savvy than I am (which pretty much includes everybody...) perhaps the error you got will be meaningful since the command was entered correctly yet it still cannot find the necessary entry in /Volumes.

One question though- if you do a cd /Volumes and press enter, then just ls and press enter, does it show your drive named "Vista" in the directory listing and is it capitalized as shown? I know I am grabbing at straws, but wish I could offer further info!

Last edited by sickmacdoc; Nov 10, 2008 at 02:05 PM.
sickmacdoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2008, 02:08 PM   #13
NoSmokingBandit
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I didnt mind downloading the dev tools, i have a good connection and it only took a few minutes. Im not really familiar with the terminal, i can do basic stuff like delete and move files, so any help is good help. The drive is listed as "Vista" so it should have worked...
I dont mind no seeing it because i can get it it from the Go menu, but it makes me think something got screwed up somewhere along the line.
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to convince my parents to let me buy a 17" MacBook Pro Ulf1103 Buying Tips and Advice 58 Nov 27, 2013 11:45 AM
Tutorial: How to get PCSX2 to run on Mac (without BootCamp) Mirrors Mac Applications and Mac App Store 22 Jun 14, 2013 08:19 PM
How to unhide a file or folder in Snow Leopard? dfine1966 OS X 5 Jun 25, 2011 03:13 PM
[HOW TO] DIY iPhone 4 Swivel Car Mount QuarterSwede iPhone Accessories 13 Mar 8, 2011 02:51 PM
How to hide a file/folder within OSX Cathode OS X 15 Sep 22, 2010 04:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC