Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2008, 06:58 PM   #1
newmacchick
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Two G5 Single cores = 1 dual core?

So if you possibly obtained two G5 1.6 GHz single cores, with some finagling, would it be at all possible to create a dual core out of that? Would it involve different hardware or software? Or is it just impossible?
newmacchick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 07:01 PM   #2
SuperCompu2
macrumors 6502a
 
SuperCompu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: MA
Send a message via AIM to SuperCompu2
A dual core computer operates with a single processor, only with two cores on the die instead of one. Taking two separate processors and putting them together gives you a dual processor machine, not a dual core machine. There are Dual 1.8GHz Processor G5s available, but the dual core G5s only use one physical processor.
__________________
MacBook Air 2.13GHz C2D/2GB/128SS/10.8
Canon Rebel XT
MacRumors Scavenger Hunt Score: 1
SuperCompu2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 07:04 PM   #3
sammich
macrumors 601
 
sammich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sarcasmville.
'Ooh, nice use of "finagle."' - mysterious quote

Dual core and dual processors appear to the system the same (loosely speaking). The performance aspect is very different.

If you're speaking of somehow putting two physical processors (single core) into a single socket on a motherboard, well, I'll let logic sort this one out.

I highly doubt this, but I'll mention it anyway, XGrid works if you're doing certain kinds of work with 2 more computers.
__________________
Official MR IRC
Look at me, I'm own a bunch of things and everyone must know about every single one.
sammich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 07:05 PM   #4
newmacchick
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Ah OK. So is there any way to combine them at all and get something faster than I had before? (My google searches have been a bit fruitless on this issue; thanks for responding!)
newmacchick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 07:06 PM   #5
newmacchick
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sammich View Post
'Ooh, nice use of "finagle."' - mysterious quote

Dual core and dual processors appear to the system the same (loosely speaking). The performance aspect is very different.

If you're speaking of somehow putting two physical processors (single core) into a single socket on a motherboard, well, I'll let logic sort this one out.
Finagle is one of my favorite verbs
newmacchick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 07:08 PM   #6
teflon
macrumors 6502a
 
teflon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by newmacchick View Post
Ah OK. So is there any way to combine them at all and get something faster than I had before? (My google searches have been a bit fruitless on this issue; thanks for responding!)
If your logic board only have one socket for processor, then it's physically impossible for you to fit two in there.
__________________
Got a question? MRoogle it!
teflon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 07:10 PM   #7
sammich
macrumors 601
 
sammich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sarcasmville.
Quote:
Originally Posted by newmacchick View Post
Ah OK. So is there any way to combine them at all and get something faster than I had before? (My google searches have been a bit fruitless on this issue; thanks for responding!)
No. If you can afford it, wait for the new Mac Mini's. They should be in the order of 20-30x faster than whatever a 2x1.6 G5 is.
__________________
Official MR IRC
Look at me, I'm own a bunch of things and everyone must know about every single one.
sammich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 07:11 PM   #8
zap2
macrumors 604
 
zap2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington D.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by newmacchick View Post
Ah OK. So is there any way to combine them at all and get something faster than I had before? (My google searches have been a bit fruitless on this issue; thanks for responding!)
XGrid, but you'll need OS X Server...
__________________
"We can't all be heroes because somebody has to sit on the curb and clap as they go by." Will Rogers
zap2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 07:11 PM   #9
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by newmacchick View Post
So if you possibly obtained two G5 1.6 GHz single cores, with some finagling, would it be at all possible to create a dual core out of that? Would it involve different hardware or software? Or is it just impossible?
The single 1.6 G5s only had one socket on the motherboard to attach to. The dual processor models had 2 sockets. There's no way to put 2 of the 1.6 G5 processors onto one socket to make it a dual-core machine. If you want dual-core, you'd have to buy the Dual-core 2.0ghz+ models. You can get a dual processor with dual core 2.5ghz model so that has 4 cores total in the 2 sockets.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 07:16 PM   #10
newmacchick
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Thanks for answering my questions...I really don't want to buy anything; I've got two G5 machines here, both missing hard drives, one of which the case is trash and missing the RAM, so I'll be selling that one. Just wondering if there was anything I could do with it...all I really need is a fancy external hard drive I already own a Macbook Pro for most of my needs.
newmacchick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 07:20 PM   #11
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
They could be used as a really nice home audio/video server. That's what I plan on doing with mine soon.

If you use an external HDD, make sure it's Firewire if you plan to boot from it.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 07:24 PM   #12
newmacchick
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
They could be used as a really nice home audio/video server. That's what I plan on doing with mine soon.

If you use an external HDD, make sure it's Firewire if you plan to boot from it.
Ooh, that is a good idea...I was planning on installing Linux on one of them at first just to play around with it, and then perhaps later putting 10.5 on it. But yeah I have a lot of music and TV I need stored
newmacchick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 09:27 PM   #13
liquid stereo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saint Paul
Yes

Get a fast switch (Myrinet, Infiniband, etc.) and learn to program in MPI or OpenMP. You should get close to 2x performance if your code is well-written.

I get 1.92.

Cheers!

Quote:
Originally Posted by newmacchick View Post
Ah OK. So is there any way to combine them at all and get something faster than I had before? (My google searches have been a bit fruitless on this issue; thanks for responding!)
liquid stereo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G4 single core 1.25 processor to dual core upgrade advice Bru90 PowerPC Macs 14 Apr 6, 2014 11:08 AM
How do Apps use dual or quad cores - and which are faster ajaan Mac mini 1 Dec 20, 2013 07:16 AM
All iPads: A7 chip 5.4x single core & 5.08x multi-core over iPad3 jpiszcz iPad 23 Oct 24, 2013 01:01 PM
Benchmarking Beast Dual-Core iPhone 5s beats Quad Cores Androids MRSucks iPhone 26 Sep 20, 2013 04:13 AM
phones: 4 cores not enough? Samsung to Debut 8-Core ARM Chip Early Next Year gto55 Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 121 Dec 2, 2012 07:30 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC