Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 11, 2008, 09:05 AM   #1
detz
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Does the ipod Touch Vibrate?

Sorry, I don't own one but as a developer it's something that I'm curious about. If the iPod Touch does not vibrate I will have to think of another way to alert the user.
detz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2008, 09:22 AM   #2
RKO
macrumors 6502
 
RKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
No vibration on the ipod touch at this stage.
RKO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2008, 11:22 AM   #3
iLoveMyApple
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
No
iLoveMyApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2008, 05:09 PM   #4
crmccashin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Not unless it gets reeeal cold.
crmccashin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2008, 05:47 PM   #5
kinchee87
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by crmccashin View Post
Not unless it gets reeeal cold.
Well a nuclear physicist would say the opposite. When at 0K the atoms of the iPod touch would not be vibrating at all (no energy)
__________________
Appletiser
kinchee87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2008, 07:14 PM   #6
scotty96LSC
macrumors 65816
 
scotty96LSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
You've got an alarm, but no vibrate.
__________________
Scott
15" macbook pro, 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 3GB Ram, 10.6.3; magic mouse; 16gb iPhone 4.3.2
scotty96LSC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2008, 09:12 PM   #7
iAppleONE
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
well to be honest it kinda does, when you max the volume the back metal plate does vibrate ....
iAppleONE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2008, 10:46 PM   #8
mrdonnelly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinchee87 View Post
Well a nuclear physicist would say the opposite. When at 0K the atoms of the iPod touch would not be vibrating at all (no energy)
lmao. True.
But the iPod touch doesn't vibrate, the iPhone does.
When the speaker is at max, there is a slight hint of vibration.
__________________
iPod touch 2nd Gen [16GB] | PSP Slim and Lite , Black with 8GB card | Compaq Presario, switching to Mac | Out of contract iPhone EDGE [8GB] |
mrdonnelly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2008, 06:03 AM   #9
kwk1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Well, hahahaha I just cracked up!

I was playing Texas Holdem and I thought I saw a button for vibrate.
Never tried it out though.
__________________
iPhone 4 32gb
kwk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2008, 06:09 AM   #10
Ivan P
macrumors 68030
 
Ivan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Home
Send a message via AIM to Ivan P
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwk1 View Post
I was playing Texas Holdem and I thought I saw a button for vibrate.
Never tried it out though.
Yeah, there's an option for it in the Facebook app too. It'd just be there for people with an iPhone.
__________________
Black 64GB iPhone 5 / Black 3rd-gen iPad, 64GB Wi-Fi
17" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.4GHz Core i7, 750GB HDD, 6GB RAM
11" 2010 MacBook Air, 1.4GHz, 128GB SSD, 2GB RAM
Ivan P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2008, 03:47 PM   #11
mackmgg
macrumors 65816
 
mackmgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
i guess in theory you culd have it play the lowest note that the speaker can play and then it wont be audible to humans but will still vibrate
mackmgg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2008, 04:47 PM   #12
Ivan P
macrumors 68030
 
Ivan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Home
Send a message via AIM to Ivan P
Quote:
Originally Posted by mackmgg View Post
i guess in theory you culd have it play the lowest note that the speaker can play and then it wont be audible to humans but will still vibrate
The volume has to be turned up really loud (as in, between almost full and full) for it to start vibrating.
__________________
Black 64GB iPhone 5 / Black 3rd-gen iPad, 64GB Wi-Fi
17" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.4GHz Core i7, 750GB HDD, 6GB RAM
11" 2010 MacBook Air, 1.4GHz, 128GB SSD, 2GB RAM
Ivan P is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touch Recognition Issue on iPhone 5, 5th Generation iPod Touch with Rapid Diagonal Swipes MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 355 Jan 3, 2013 03:11 PM
Touch Screen Not Working in my Ipod Touch sanjananb1 iPod touch 3 Dec 27, 2012 10:12 AM
ipod touch 2g touch screen unresponsive arara iPod touch 1 Sep 26, 2012 09:40 PM
Should I sell my iPod touch 3G for the iPod touch 5G? coolguy879 iPod touch 10 Sep 24, 2012 10:00 AM
External Touch Screen Display for iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad. NbinHD iPhone Accessories 2 Jul 2, 2012 12:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC