Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 15, 2008, 12:01 PM   #1
Husker41082
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Using iPhone without a Sim Card

Hello all, new to the forums here but have been keeping tabs on the iPhone 3g since it's release. Finally am within days away from pulling the trigger and picking one up. My question that I've had a hard time find an answer to is this.

I'm planning on going on my honeymoon to Jamaica in a couple of weeks and was wondering if I take the sim card out of the iPhone if it will work basically just like and iPod Touch. Have heard of to many horror stories about International roaming rates and data charges. Basically want to use my iPhone on the plane down there and back. Obviously won't need it while I'm down there because I'll have plenty to do.

Thanks in advance and hopefully i'll be a regular contributor soon
Husker41082 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2008, 12:02 PM   #2
cWeems
macrumors 6502a
 
cWeems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: FLORIDA, USA
Send a message via AIM to cWeems
u can leave the sim card in, just put it in airplane mode. jus a wifi ipod then
__________________
iPhone(RIP), iPhone 3G(RIP), iPhone 3GS(RIP), iPhone 4(RIP), iPhone 4S(Current). MacBook 2,1(RIP), MacBook 5,1(Current).
cWeems is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2008, 12:02 PM   #3
zap2
macrumors 604
 
zap2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington D.C
Yes you can.


Or you can put it in Airplane mode, which disconnects it from cell networks, through software
__________________
"We can't all be heroes because somebody has to sit on the curb and clap as they go by." Will Rogers
zap2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2008, 12:09 PM   #4
Husker41082
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Ok, so airplane mode, the only thing that worries me is if somehow that gets turned off then my phone will be using a bunch of data without me realizing it. Unless, correct me if I'm wrong, I am under the assumption there is no way to completly turn off the iphone, just sleep mode.
Husker41082 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2008, 12:12 PM   #5
ryanwarsaw
macrumors 6502a
 
ryanwarsaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Change the APN in your settings to one that doesn't exist. If you do that there is no way it can access data from a network that doesn't exist. Make sure you note those settings for when you want to connect again.
ryanwarsaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2008, 12:23 PM   #6
cWeems
macrumors 6502a
 
cWeems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: FLORIDA, USA
Send a message via AIM to cWeems
if u have data roaming off AND airplane mode on, you'll be fine.
__________________
iPhone(RIP), iPhone 3G(RIP), iPhone 3GS(RIP), iPhone 4(RIP), iPhone 4S(Current). MacBook 2,1(RIP), MacBook 5,1(Current).
cWeems is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2008, 03:55 PM   #7
SektorSan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cWeems View Post
u can leave the sim card in, just put it in airplane mode. jus a wifi ipod then
I'm from egypt, and have a friend who lives in USA and has a plan with AT&T..He is telling me that the new iphone 3G doesn't have a place to put a sim card inside, and he is coming to egypt soon and wondering if it can work in egypt as it is offered here by Vodafone, so any clue?..Does the new iphone really doesn't have a place for a sim card?..cuz as for my knowledge it can't work here in egypt except with a sim card and a plan from vodafone...or can he use it in egypt with a plan from vodafone and then when he returns back to the US he uses his AT&T plan??

Last edited by SektorSan; Nov 16, 2008 at 01:00 AM.
SektorSan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 03:21 AM   #8
theDUB
macrumors 6502a
 
theDUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SLT, CA
^^^^

I have no idea about using different international plans, but I can tell you that iPhone has a sim card, see picture for its location.

theDUB is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 no sim card? west2000 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 8 Dec 5, 2013 01:39 PM
Setting up iPhone 5 without a SIM card...or Help me find a nano-SIM! turbodelta iPhone 5 Dec 7, 2012 05:52 PM
sim card/activation problem/extra sim card ??? tcoche iPhone 0 Sep 22, 2012 07:38 PM
Selling iphone 4S Sim card is needed? iphone5 comes SIM card? chrisfromalbany iPhone 4 Sep 17, 2012 02:36 PM
IPhone 5 Sim Card Help leahpardo iPhone 6 Sep 8, 2012 03:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC