Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 16, 2008, 12:16 PM   #1
techTeach2010
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Run OS Tiger 10.4.11 on my new iMac Intel Core 2 Duo as of Oct. 2008

I am buying 20 new iMac computers but I want to run OS Tiger 10.4.11 on my new iMac Intel Core 2 Duo... Would their be an issue? We do have known issues using the new Leopard OS
techTeach2010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 12:19 PM   #2
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
There's unfortunately no officially sanctioned way, of which I'm aware, to run OS X of a previous generation on new Macs. This has always been (to me) a sticking point with Mac viability in managed environments. AFAIK, the discs will refuse to install onto that Mac (presuming this is a new black/aluminum C2D iMac with Leopard pre-installed).

I don't know if there are any unofficial ways, such as taking a cue off the osx86 kind of hacks, to do it....
__________________
Mira C. Krishnan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 12:21 PM   #3
OllyW
Moderator
 
OllyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Black Country, England
You can't actually buy a retail version of Tiger which will install on an Intel Mac.
__________________
Some Apple stuff
Some other stuff
https://soundcloud.com/disco-tramps
OllyW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 12:22 PM   #4
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
What problems do you have with Leopard? Tiger is not available as a retail Intel pack, only for PPC Macs.

Besides, as mkrishnan points out, new Macs tend to only boot in the OS they're supplied with or higher.

Beaten to the punch. Read this thread.
Blue Velvet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 12:38 PM   #5
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Velvet View Post
What problems do you have with Leopard?
I'm not saying the OP has a valid need for Tiger, but I do sympathize... Suppose that I were an IT manager responsible for 5,000 or 8,000 seats, and so as it follows, I probably buy a few dozen new computers every week, and I manage (or my team does) the installed software, updates, etc, on all of them.

If Apple were to tell me that, today, on xx/xx/2008, I will now be running Leopard on all my new computers whether I like it or not, and I have zero grace to continue getting and using Tiger (or SL vs. Leopard or whatever), and my options are essentially to ... temporarily stop buying computers (not feasible), upgrade all my old computers immediately to the new OS so I have a uniform fleet (probably also not feasible), or else manage a mixed fleet, I would understandably not tolerate this.

In the Windows world, it's still routine to re-image these computers back to XP or sometimes even Win2k, because my job is to keep a bunch of office workers, most of whom don't really need the latest software, able to work efficiently. Of course Leopard is better than Tiger, and of course by this point, it's become quite stable and most of the compatibility issues have been resolved. But I think my efficiency concerns are not completely irrelevant.

But this is exactly what Apple says.

/rant ... sorry.
__________________
Mira C. Krishnan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 12:41 PM   #6
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
^ I was just asking the OP out of curiosity.

Wondering whether there was a solution to their problems. Not causing any fuss.
Blue Velvet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 12:51 PM   #7
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Velvet View Post
Not causing any fuss.
Awww, I sowwies. You know I know.
__________________
Mira C. Krishnan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 01:03 PM   #8
foidulus
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
You won't even get to the install process if you try. Just out of curiosity, I tried to boot a new mac pro off an external drive that had a Tiger image on it. The drive appeared as bootable, but as soon as you attempted to boot off it, it just restarted, didn't even see a screen or get a warning message.

However, I can sympathize with your plight. Were I work we are just rolling out the mac pros we bought in January. Our dev team is small and usually devoted to more pressing issues, it wasn't until recently that we really had some time to work on making sure our apps ran on Leopard. We really wanted to replace our G5s with Tiger Intel mac pros, but in order to do that we would have had to buy old equipment, not a good move.

I really REALLY do wish Apple would allow users to install older OSs on newer hardware. Would do wonders for them in the enterprise world....
foidulus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 01:27 PM   #9
Benjamindaines
macrumors 68030
 
Benjamindaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
Take an older machine (must be an Intel Mac) that is running Tiger, boot it from its restore CD, then install Tiger from the Restore CD onto an external hard drive. After that you can boot the external install of Tiger on any Intel Mac (including the new ones), simply install Carbon Copy Cloner and clone the Tiger install from the external drive to the internal drive.

The only issue with this is you're going to want to use 2 of the same computers (iMac and iMac, or Mini and Mini, or Mac Pro and Mac Pro) to help eliminate driver issues. Unless the restore CD installations of OS X include drivers for all Apple hard ware... (I don't know if they do or not, I assume they only have drivers for the Mac they came with... anyone know?)
__________________

Benjamindaines is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 01:53 PM   #10
nick9191
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Britain
The only way you'll get around it is if you find some clearance or refurb models from the previous generation. They'll run Tiger.
nick9191 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 01:56 PM   #11
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
whats worse is that the drivers and firmwares needed may be found in tiger for some components
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maverick on Macbook pro 2008 (Intel Core 2 Duo) Tom Schrijvers OS X Mavericks (10.9) 8 Nov 12, 2013 04:18 PM
How do I upgrade my 2006 Mac Mini from intel core duo to intel core 2 duo? MacHaris Mac mini 2 Jun 22, 2013 10:12 PM
Updating processor in Intel core duo iMac? mcman77 iMac 5 Nov 29, 2012 05:00 PM
Need advice on 24" iMac 10.5.8 Intel core 2 Duo kdesouky iMac 0 Oct 2, 2012 12:02 AM
iMac 24'' 3.06 Intel Core 2 Duo max temperatures dylesid iMac 2 Aug 18, 2012 04:29 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC