XP thinks my iPod Touch is a camera - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2008, 07:02 PM   #1
claylj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
XP thinks my iPod Touch is a camera

I know that others have this problem as I have seen a reference to it in another post.

When I connect my ipt to my XP computer I get a popup that says "Camera connected" and wants me to select an application to open. This is not so much a problem but an irritation. Does anyone know how to tell XP that this USB devise is an iPod and not a camera?

I have selected the option in iTunes to open when the ipt is connected and this works, but the camera popup window still comes up.
claylj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2008, 07:25 PM   #2
Touchy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cape Breton
I have the same problem and likewise I don't know how to correct it. I also have developed another problem (see thread here re: missing music after syncing) that I think started afterwards. The pop up thinking that it is a camera started about a week ago and the erasing of the music when syncing started last night. I wonder if they are connected. I ran the diagnostics in the iTunes and it says that "one or more sync tests failed", but gives no clue as to how to correct the sync. Anyone with ideas about these problems?
Touchy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2008, 07:33 PM   #3
maclook
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
iPhoto would open (in addition to iTunes) when I plugged in my Touch and that really annoyed me. it happened to me because I saved images from safari on the Touch. So...iPhoto was pretty much asking me if i wanted to sync the images from my Touch to my Macbook. Hopefully your situation is the same as mine. The images I saved on my Touch weren't good so i just deleted the pictures and iPhoto doesn't open anymore when I plug it in.
maclook is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2008, 07:53 PM   #4
bndoarn
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
if you have screenshots/saved photos on your ipod touch then it will do this every time you connect it so you can move the pictures from your ipod to your computer and i don't think there is a way around it except to delete all of your screenshots/saved photos but it is normal so don't worry
__________________
White iPhone 5 64GB | Black iPad mini 16GB | 13" MacBook Air 2011 | AppleTV 3G
bndoarn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2008, 08:20 PM   #5
Touchy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cape Breton
The original post and mine were concerning XP (and in my case a PC) not a Mac so iPhoto doesn't seem to be the issue. Further, other than saving photos from the computer to the iPod touch (which still is working fine) I haven't any screenshots or other photos saved on the unit. Any other thoughts out there?
Touchy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2008, 10:40 PM   #6
jbernie
macrumors 6502a
 
jbernie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Denver, CO
I connect my 2nd gen touch at work on my XP laptop just to charge, I don't have iTunes installed at all, I get the pop up the original poster is referring to, but not when at home with my Vista pc. I do have photos on the device.

It would almost seem as though the iTunes install is possibly corrupted or similar? The only time I have ever seen the popup is on my XP machine where itunes is not installed.

Claylj, did you by ance chance copy iTunes or something to the current location from another part of the hard drive? Sounds like an uninstall/reinstall might be what you need.
__________________
Talk is cheap, sometimes it is on sale!
ibernie.com
jbernie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 12:23 AM   #7
chainprayer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Send a message via AIM to chainprayer
I know that for flash drives and other USB devices it initially asks what you want to do with the device. When charging my touch at work I first chose "ignore" and clicked on "remember this choice". Never came up again.

Do you remember seeing a window like that?
__________________
ViralPixel.net
chainprayer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 12:30 AM   #8
iParis
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
Strange, this happens on my Vista computer, I'm not sure if it happened on my XP.
And it happened on my school's Vista.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / Verizon / iOS 7.0.6 / JB'n
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / 10.9.2
- Mac mini C2D 1.83GHz / 4GB ram / 120GB HD / 10.8.4
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 02:06 AM   #9
Touchy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cape Breton
I thought maybe it was an iTunes problem so I downloaded the latest version and did the restore of that. The problem of the "camera" still persisted! So unless there is a bug in the latest iTunes this is not the cause. Also I still have the problem with music syncing. As long as I leave the "sync only checked...." box unchecked it will sync all the checked playlists, however if I check it before a sync it will wipe out all the music from the iPod touch. This is just the opposite of what it is supposed to do. Any suggestions?
Touchy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 05:39 AM   #10
big-blue-wolf
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 15.8 miles from Molineux
Quote:
Originally Posted by Touchy View Post
I thought maybe it was an iTunes problem so I downloaded the latest version and did the restore of that. The problem of the "camera" still persisted! So unless there is a bug in the latest iTunes this is not the cause. Also I still have the problem with music syncing. As long as I leave the "sync only checked...." box unchecked it will sync all the checked playlists, however if I check it before a sync it will wipe out all the music from the iPod touch. This is just the opposite of what it is supposed to do. Any suggestions?
You need to remove all iTunes and iPod software from your PC COMPLETELY. Reboot and download and re-install and it should cure your problem with iTunes. It did for me.

As for XP thinking its a camera, it is usually when you have saved images or screenshots and it wants to 'save' them for you. But with you not having any images saved, it may be a problem with your iTunes installation.

Edit:
When you restored your iPod did you use an existing back up to recreate the iPod?

If you did, you will just be putting the problem back onto your iPod. I had to restore my son's touch and used an existing back up and the problem he had persisted. When I created a new iPod instead of using a back up, the problem disappeared.

Last edited by big-blue-wolf; Nov 18, 2008 at 06:06 AM.
big-blue-wolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 07:53 AM   #11
Touchy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cape Breton
Thanks for this information. I really do think you are correct. It is interesting that this has happened to others also. Wonder what is the cause.
I guess I will have to remove iTunes and the iPod software from the computer. Regarding this: where is the iPod software located to remove, ? in programs or elsewhere?
Further, I did not set the iPod up as a "new one" after the restore and this may well be where the problem is. I think I will first do a restore on the iPod and set it up as a "new" and see if that corrects the sync problem. The "camera" issue seems to be just a nuisance but it is new and unexplained at present. Interestingly it does label it as "iPod" when the menu comes on the screen. Thanks, hopefully I can report success.
Touchy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 08:23 AM   #12
big-blue-wolf
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 15.8 miles from Molineux
Go to Add/Remove Programs and let that uninstall anything with iTunes/iPod in the name. That's how I sorted it.
big-blue-wolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 09:02 AM   #13
fleshman03
macrumors 68000
 
fleshman03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sioux City, IA
Quote:
Originally Posted by maclook View Post
iPhoto would open (in addition to iTunes) when I plugged in my Touch and that really annoyed me. it happened to me because I saved images from safari on the Touch. So...iPhoto was pretty much asking me if i wanted to sync the images from my Touch to my Macbook. Hopefully your situation is the same as mine. The images I saved on my Touch weren't good so i just deleted the pictures and iPhoto doesn't open anymore when I plug it in.
It asks you that because when you first opened iPhoto, you said you wanted it to open when you connected a "Camera."

I thinks it's a Camera because it uses the iPhone OS and carries pictures.
__________________
Penguin: Early 2008 MacBook Pro C2D @ 2.5, 2GB, 250GB / iPhone 3GS 32GB
Monkey: Early 2006 MacBook Black CD @ 2, 2GB, 80GB / iPhone 4GS 32GB
fleshman03 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 09:37 AM   #14
Touchy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cape Breton
What would be the explanation for it happening on my PC running XP. It didn't do this originally, but started about 2 weeks ago. Would it still try to download pictures from the iPod touch. I did save "backgrounds" app and this may be what it is trying to download to PC.
Touchy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 09:41 AM   #15
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
It does it for me daily on my work PC running XP. It's annoying, but it's not a problem. I think XP sees it as a mass storage device and assumes it is a camera. Unfortunately we have to click the "do nothing" button each time, but again, I wouldn't say this was a problem so much as an annoyance.

Know that the iPod Touch and iPhone (which does it as well) doesn't allow you to mount it as a hard drive like the HDD iPods do. I am guessing it is a mix between Apple's restriction and Window's misunderstanding.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 02:23 PM   #16
Touchy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cape Breton
Has anyone actually chosen one of the options to download? And if so what happens?
Touchy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 04:45 PM   #17
big-blue-wolf
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 15.8 miles from Molineux
Quote:
Originally Posted by Touchy View Post
Has anyone actually chosen one of the options to download? And if so what happens?
You choose an option then iTunes transfers your saved pictures or screenshots into your chosen application. You can then save them wherever you want on your hard drive.

I chose to open in Photoshop then saved the ones I wanted to keep into "My Pictures" and synced them back onto my touch.

After that I didn't get the dialogue box as I didn't have anything in "Saved Pictures".
big-blue-wolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 11:27 PM   #18
claylj
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by big-blue-wolf View Post
After that I didn't get the dialogue box as I didn't have anything in "Saved Pictures".
Having something in "Saved Pictures" is the answer I was looking for. I had some screen shots in there and after I deleted them, the dialog box no longer comes up.

Thanks everyone for the help.
claylj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 11:50 PM   #19
semin28
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I had this same problem for like 2 months. It wouldn't let me sync to iTunes bc it thought it was a camera. But I found out the problem was mcfee was blocking it. But I don't know if this is the same case .
semin28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 03:54 AM   #20
Touchy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cape Breton
Thanks Claylj, how did you delete the "saved photos" as I also have some in there and would like to delete them but can't see how to do it?
Touchy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 04:54 AM   #21
auggie2k
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Send a message via MSN to auggie2k
Same for me but only the odd time, I find it convenient actually.
__________________
Samsung NC10 (Windows 7)
iPod Touch 16 GB 2.1 (Sold)
iPhone 8GB 2.2 (Sold - 350)
auggie2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 05:41 AM   #22
big-blue-wolf
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 15.8 miles from Molineux
Quote:
Originally Posted by Touchy View Post
Thanks Claylj, how did you delete the "saved photos" as I also have some in there and would like to delete them but can't see how to do it?
On your touch, open the Photos app and there will be a folder called 'Saved Photos'. Open it, touch the photo you want to delete then touch the wastebasket (trash) icon in the bottom right hand corner, then press 'delete photo' to confirm.
big-blue-wolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 07:31 AM   #23
Touchy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cape Breton
Bingo!! Thanks for that information. I deleted the "saved" and now don't get the pop up photo thing. Take care.
Touchy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 07:09 AM   #24
Cest moi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
All great ideas, but removing all the photos from your ipod is just a workaround really.

Anyone who is having this problem, have you tried plugging in your ipt; wait for the message to come up and press cancel. Now go to 'My Computer' and you should see your ipt listed amongst the drives and folders there.

Right Click on the listing representing your ipt and click properties, go to the tab that says 'events'. Make sure the event in the drop down menu is 'Camera Connected' and then click the 'Take no action' option. Click 'Apply' and this should solve your problem.

I'm using XP but presumably this should work in a similar way for Vista aswell.
Cest moi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 09:37 AM   #25
elan123
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by big-blue-wolf View Post
Go to Add/Remove Programs and let that uninstall anything with iTunes/iPod in the name. That's how I sorted it.
simple but effective
elan123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ipod Touch 4G camera access dj9486 iPod touch 3 Jan 12, 2014 02:02 PM
ipod touch 5g vs Iphone 4 camera will be.... vp18 iPod touch 9 Dec 31, 2013 06:19 AM
Camera upgrade for iPod touch 5g? akiley iPod touch 2 Jul 24, 2013 05:18 AM
iPod Touch 5 Camera Lens? jboyzh iPod touch 4 Oct 19, 2012 03:35 AM
5Gen iPod Touch as Camera ctyrider iPod touch 11 Sep 21, 2012 12:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC