Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2008, 07:49 PM   #1
motomullet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Time Capsule Won't Turn On

UHhhhhhhh..

Well my 500gb time capsule wont turn on, I think it died, along with all my data that is on there as well.

Here is what it does:
I plug it in, the hdd spins up after a couple seconds, and the yellow light blinks. A moment or two later the hdd starts making noise like its doing something, makes like 8 ticks followed by a bunch of shorter ones and continues this pattern it seems indefinately. It doesnt sound abnormal aside from the continuing pattern. The cycle of ticks takes about 5 seconds per cycle. The yellow light flashes for a bit, then turns off for a while, then turns back on and continues this pattern.

I've tried un plugging it, letting it cool, reseting it. Nothing.

There is a bunch of stuff on there that isn't on my macs either. I was using it as networked storage along with the TM backups of my computers.

I wish there was a way to get the hdd out of it w/o voiding the warranty so I could maybe save my data.........

Any suggestions?
__________________
White MacBook 2.0 C2D
23" ACD
iPhone 3g & 2g
motomullet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2008, 08:47 PM   #2
wackymacky
macrumors 65816
 
wackymacky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: sent to 17.019528,-25.06721 for the next 6 weeks for my sins
Is it just the HDD? ie can you discover the time capsule with airport utilities?.

It sounds more like a disk problem than with the router itself. It is under warranty still why not take it in and let Apple try and retrieve it? It what is on it is too sensitive you may need to forgo your warranty and open the thing your self.
wackymacky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2008, 09:40 PM   #3
motomullet
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Its the whole thing, kinda.

When it first starts to boot, I can get an IP from it and the utility will locate it, but hangs when it goes to retrieve the config from the TC.

I'm headed to the apple store tomorrow to see what they have to say. They will probably give me another one, meaning all my data is gone, which is annoying....

Im thinking the HDD is junk, since I can't access the config, so opening it is probably a lost cause.
__________________
White MacBook 2.0 C2D
23" ACD
iPhone 3g & 2g
motomullet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 06:08 PM   #4
blairwillis
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Funny... well, not really "funny" but I just found this thread searching for a fix for my Time Capsule. It has no power at all. No light, no sound, no nothing. Purchased several months ago, plugged it in and it worked fine for a week or so, then nothing. I pulled it and put back my airport extreme which it was replacing. Summer is a super crazy busy time for me, so I just set it aside then and now I'm getting back to it. Should have just taken it back then and gotten a new one.

On to calling Apple support and figure it will end with me sending it in for repair or replacement.

Good luck with yours, at least there are signs of life!
blairwillis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2009, 01:33 PM   #5
pgsengstock
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I understand this is an old thread, but I figured that I would post in case it might help others...

In my experience, that description of sounds from the hard drive would indicate that it is failing or has already. Sorry...
pgsengstock is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time capsule won't back up Jonathanm1222 Mac Peripherals 3 Feb 24, 2014 09:16 PM
New Time Capsule Clients Won't Stay on AC richard13 Mac Peripherals 15 Jan 12, 2014 11:22 PM
Time Capsule won't back up Philpug Mac Peripherals 1 Nov 24, 2013 12:50 PM
Can I turn off the light on Time Capsule? cosrocket Mac Peripherals 9 Sep 13, 2013 11:42 PM
iTunes causes Time Capsule to turn off, COMPLETELY AnonMac50 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Feb 15, 2013 04:44 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC