Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 19, 2008, 10:58 PM   #1
littfam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
How do you downgrade apple tv firmware

does anyone know how to downgrade to a previous firmware version
__________________
2 iMacs - 2.5 Ghz i5, 500 gig HD's
MacBook Air - 2.0 Ghz i7, 256 SSD, 8 Gb ram
White Crackbook 2.16 Ghz C2D 500 gig HDD
MLion 10.8.2 etc... etc... And all that good stuff!
littfam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 11:56 PM   #2
BoulderBum
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by littfam View Post
does anyone know how to downgrade to a previous firmware version
Let me guess. You have Boxee and downloaded the latest version?
BoulderBum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 12:12 AM   #3
littfam
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
No......I was in the middle of flashing my atv with "aTV Flash 3.3.5" at the exact time of the update! Noticed that some things were not right with the patch and restored the atv and re-patched. I had no idea that there was an update at the same time as the restore. I will chalk this one up as bad luck!
I could give a rats a?#$ for Boxee, it is the external hard drive and DVD support I really wanted tonight. Will have to wait for 3.3.6
__________________
2 iMacs - 2.5 Ghz i5, 500 gig HD's
MacBook Air - 2.0 Ghz i7, 256 SSD, 8 Gb ram
White Crackbook 2.16 Ghz C2D 500 gig HDD
MLion 10.8.2 etc... etc... And all that good stuff!
littfam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 12:44 AM   #4
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by littfam View Post
does anyone know how to downgrade to a previous firmware version
It's not firmware, it's just the OS.

You need to pull your drive, initialize the OSBoot partition and used the Restore function of Disc Utility to put whatever version you want on the drive.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 03:25 AM   #5
skrutzen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Cave Man, could you explain how to do that, or post a link?
skrutzen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 06:35 AM   #6
PIX
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Do a restore to factory in settings. I reverted back to v.2.0.
PIX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 07:38 AM   #7
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by skrutzen View Post
Cave Man, could you explain how to do that, or post a link?
It's somewhere in the "My 750 gb Apple TV" thread that I talked about it. But basically, here's how it's done:

1. Pull the ATV drive and connect it by USB or FW to your Mac. I use a universal drive adapter for this (PATA interface).
2. Two partitions should mount - OSBoot and Media.
3. Launch Disc Utility and select the OSBoot partition (NOT THE DRIVE, just the partition) and erase it.
4. Click on the Restore tab of Disc Utility and drag and drop the OSBoot partition to Destination.
5. Drag and drop the ATV disk image that you downloaded from the link in my previous post to Source.
6. Click Restore and you're done in about a minute.
7. Replace your drive into your ATV and boot.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 11:14 AM   #8
skrutzen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Thanks! It actually doesn't sound too bad. Maybe I'll just upgrade my hard drive in the process.
skrutzen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 11:25 AM   #9
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by skrutzen View Post
Thanks! It actually doesn't sound too bad. Maybe I'll just upgrade my hard drive in the process.
Now that gets trickier. What I listed assumes the drive is already properly partitioned and has other, invisible, files in their proper places. Have a read here.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you sync apple tv with a new computer?????? rsdq Apple TV and Home Theater 11 Apr 16, 2011 05:43 AM
How do you downgrade from 3.1.1 back to 3.0 badjoke317 iPod touch 2 Sep 12, 2009 02:51 PM
How do you downgrade from 2.1 to 2.0.1 snook911 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Oct 7, 2008 08:28 PM
How do you downgrade to version 1.1.1 Ilovemyipod iPod touch Hacks 2 Dec 6, 2007 07:27 PM
How Do You DownGrade From 1.1.2? Oliver G iPod touch Hacks 0 Nov 13, 2007 08:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC