Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 19, 2008, 11:15 PM   #1
itou
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
upgrading powerbook g4. questions!

hi,

in my desperate attempt to save my powerbook g4 from demise, i've ordered as much ram as the powerbook can have, and a 250gb IDE drive. question is, when i pop the new drive in, must i format it to mac? if so, how do i do it?

the attempt here is to start fresh with leopard on the powerbook. i've got the leopard retail dvd and i want to know if it's as simple as plugging the new hdd in, popping in leopard and doing an install. sounds too simple?

thanks a lot! want to feel good before i take apart anything.
itou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 11:41 PM   #2
TDM21
macrumors 6502a
 
TDM21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Once you get the new drive installed you can format it using Disk Utility. If you boot off the Leopard install DVD you can find the program under the Utilities menu. Once you setup a partition on the new drive, close out Disk Utility and finish the install process.
__________________
13" 2011 MacBook Pro/2.7GHz i7/4GB Ram/500GB HD
12" PowerBook/1.33GHz/1.25GB RAM/160GB HD/ComboDrive
PowerMac G4/2x1.8GHz/1.5GB RAM/ATi 9800Pro/Poineer 111D
Newton 2100
TDM21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 10:07 AM   #3
itou
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
you mean i can format the new drive using the new drive?? i'm a bit confused but don't you need to format the drive first to use it?
itou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 10:11 AM   #4
raymondu999
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
insert the leopard dvd, and you can run disk utility from there to format the new drive.
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB black
iPad Air Wifi+3G 64GB black
15" 2.6GHz Core i7 Retina MBP
11" 1.3GHz Core i5 2013 MBA
raymondu999 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2008, 06:52 PM   #5
itou
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymondu999 View Post
insert the leopard dvd, and you can run disk utility from there to format the new drive.
thanks
i shall try.
itou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2008, 07:38 AM   #6
agentphish
macrumors 65816
 
agentphish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
You might be careful...that drive will generate more heat than your original, I've read that PB's really don't handle higher than 120gb nicely from a heat standpoint.

Just FYI.
__________________
agentphish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2008, 08:24 AM   #7
jsr3012
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
upgrading powerbook G4

I just completed the installation of a 250GB hard drive in a similar notebook last week.
Steps:
1. Backup drive to external drive or backup selected data only.
2. Removed hard drive as per instructions from fixit website
3. Installed new 250GB drive
4. Inserted Tiger in DVD drive, (for some reason Leopard would not install, dont know why yet), Used Disk Utility Menu that appears during boot process to initialise new drive
5. Copied data back from old drive using external SATA/IDE to USB adapter
6. Removed DVD booted from new drive

On my first attempt the notebook did not see the new drive.
I opened inotebook back up and diconnected the ahrd drive then remade it again, it worked thereafter.
I have not noticed any extra heat being generated.
The external firewire drive I used to backup 80G, to got very hot.
jsr3012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 02:13 PM   #8
adogtruckPB
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
How do you save apps?

I was reading this thread and have been thinking of doing the same upgrades with my powerbook G4. However, is there a way to "image" or "save" my OS with all of the apps and transfer it to the new HD? I am currently running Mac OS X version 10.4.11. Do I also need to upgrade my OS?

current system specs:
Powerbook G4 aluminum 15"
1.67 GHz PowerPC G4
1 GB DDR SDRAM
80g HDD
Mac OSX 10.4.11

Potential upgrade:
250 gb HD
2 GB DDR SDRAM
adogtruckPB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 02:30 PM   #9
Cory5412
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arizona
An easy way to make the transition would be to install your old hard disk into a firewire enclosure that you can boot from, and install the new drive into the powerbook. Then boot the PowerBook from the firewire drive, and use disk utility to format the new drive. (give it a name like "new drive" or something, to avoid confusion.) Then use a utility like SuperDuper (my preferred one) or Carbon Copy Cloner to copy your data. Once that gets done, shut the machine down, unhook the firewire drive, and you should be able to boot from the new drive. Everything should work really well.

It's also a good way to copy one setup to a bunch of different macs for a computer lab.
Cory5412 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading questions 3Pac iMac 3 Feb 10, 2013 07:40 PM
Upgrading to ML questions Cvadh387 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Jul 25, 2012 05:41 PM
Questions regarding upgrading to ML MBAir 2012 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jul 25, 2012 11:53 AM
Upgrading to ML Questions BigMcGuire MacBook Air 0 Jul 25, 2012 10:04 AM
A few questions about upgrading to ML. lewys OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Jul 25, 2012 05:56 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC