Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 20, 2008, 01:32 PM   #1
bonesboom
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Mac OS X Tiger Install DVD Help

Hey, I just bought an iMac G5 off ebay and today I tried to use the Tiger install dvd because the previous owner had deleted software like textedit, etc.

Anyway, I put the disc in and clicked on Install Mac OS X, then clicking restart.

Now here's the problem, once the iMac shuts down and begins to restart, as it is on the grey screen you can hear the disc being read, then as the background goes a different shade of grey and the Apple logo appears, a minute or so passes and then the iMac begins making a lot of noise. I went away for 10 minutes, came back and it was still doing the same thing.

So I'm basically looking for help because I really want to erase and reinstall everything, so help. tips, experience in this would be very much appreciated. Thanks.
bonesboom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 02:49 PM   #2
sOwL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Athens, Greece
could the dvd be corrupted?

if not, then the cd drive could be damaged. Have u tried using it for eg. watching a dvd movie?

what kind of sounds? does it sound like when ur hard drive is in heavy usage or is it the cd drive?
__________________
Hacking Challenges

MacPro 2x3Ghz Quadcore 10Gb w/ HD5870
iPod Touch 32Gb 2G iOS4 [redsn0w'd] - R.I.P
sOwL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 02:55 PM   #3
bonesboom
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
i dont think its the drive
i installed a game from a disc fine
the sounds are the actual hard drive
its like really loud like when its being used heavy
bonesboom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 03:01 PM   #4
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Sounds like the DVD.

Do you have another computer to try firewire boot?

Is your tiger DVD black or gray in color? Did it came with the iMac?

Wow, deleted text edit. What a smart previous owner.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 03:02 PM   #5
sOwL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Athens, Greece
as i thought. unfortunatelly, i cant understand why it would do that. if its really trying to boot from the dvd drive and not from the hdd, why would the hdd be used at all? What i would do:

Open disk utility and check the consistancy of your hdd. S.M.A.R.T status, filesystem, everything, even repair permissions.

When rebooting, try holding down "c" key. This is for manually choosing to boot from dvd. Ive heard that some times a corrupted system could not boot from the chosen drive before rebooting.
__________________
Hacking Challenges

MacPro 2x3Ghz Quadcore 10Gb w/ HD5870
iPod Touch 32Gb 2G iOS4 [redsn0w'd] - R.I.P
sOwL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 03:20 PM   #6
bonesboom
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
the disc is black and came with it as far as i know
i tried the c holding down but nothing changed
i just read holding alt helped some
bonesboom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 03:22 PM   #7
Darth.Titan
macrumors 68020
 
Darth.Titan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Make a copy of the install DVD and try to boot from the copy. I'm guessing your install DVD is buggered.
Darth.Titan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 03:27 PM   #8
bonesboom
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
if i made a copy
how would that work
if the original doesnt
bonesboom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 03:29 PM   #9
sOwL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Athens, Greece
the black disk didnt came with the iMac. Its the retail version, but that means nothing, the retail version SHOULD work just fine. And yeah, it could help if you actually made it to copy it to another DVD. Worths a try. Also, you should contact the guy that sold that to you and ask him why the install dvd doesnt work

EDIT: It might be that ur EFI is corrupted? Someone that knows better on that could help
__________________
Hacking Challenges

MacPro 2x3Ghz Quadcore 10Gb w/ HD5870
iPod Touch 32Gb 2G iOS4 [redsn0w'd] - R.I.P
sOwL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 03:32 PM   #10
bonesboom
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
already emailed her
whats the efi
bonesboom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 03:38 PM   #11
sOwL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Athens, Greece
mhm its hard to explain. The EFI is the software that OSX runs on. Like, before booting osx, or without even having osx installed, theres still some software that would let you choose from which drive to boot etc. Think it like BIOS in windows, if youve been a windows user anytime
__________________
Hacking Challenges

MacPro 2x3Ghz Quadcore 10Gb w/ HD5870
iPod Touch 32Gb 2G iOS4 [redsn0w'd] - R.I.P
sOwL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 03:41 PM   #12
bonesboom
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
mk i kinda understand
i think
bonesboom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2008, 07:09 PM   #13
bonesboom
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
So I bought an Imac G5 off eBay the other day, and apparently they lost the Install discs that came with it, and thus bought a 2nd hand retail Tiger Install Disc package to sell with the iMac. It's the black box one, but as I've mentioned previously, when being prompted to restart, I mean after said restart, it just stays on the grey screen with the Apple logo and the machine begins to make very loud sounds, this lasts up to 10 minutes before I decide to turn it off.

So I'm thinking maybe my disc is corrupt or broken, or it's the wrong install disc version for my Mac. Here are the specifications.

iMac G5 17" screen with iSight
PowerMac12,1
PowerPC G5 (3.1)
1.9GHz
512MB

Does anyone know which Tiger Install disc version comes with or is needed for this version iMac? Or alternatively, if I purchased Leopard, would that work on my iMac?

Thanks.
bonesboom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2008, 11:22 PM   #14
Amdahl
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonesboom View Post
Does anyone know which Tiger Install disc version comes with or is needed for this version iMac? Or alternatively, if I purchased Leopard, would that work on my iMac?

Thanks.
Based on apple-history.com, your model was introduced October 2005, after the first release of Tiger in April. If your Tiger disk is 10.4.0, it probably can't boot that Mac (or you have a hardware/disc problem). You would need a later version of Tiger retail (10.4.3 or 10.4.6), or use Leopard retail.
Amdahl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2008, 10:37 AM   #15
sOwL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Athens, Greece
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonesboom View Post
if I purchased Leopard, would that work on my iMac?
it would, but i wouldnt reccomend running leopard with only 512mb of ram.

UPDATE: oh no wait, isnt Leopard intel only?
__________________
Hacking Challenges

MacPro 2x3Ghz Quadcore 10Gb w/ HD5870
iPod Touch 32Gb 2G iOS4 [redsn0w'd] - R.I.P
sOwL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2008, 10:43 AM   #16
thomasp
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by sOwL View Post
it would, but i wouldnt reccomend running leopard with only 512mb of ram.

UPDATE: oh no wait, isnt Leopard intel only?
Nope, Leopard Retail version is universal, I believe.
__________________
Quote from Douglas Adams:
"I wrote an ad for Apple: 'Mac - We might not get everything right, but at least we knew the century was going to end.'"
thomasp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2008, 06:49 PM   #17
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
I run Leopard on an iBook G4 with 512 ram and it runs fine, although I don't put that much stress on it. I use it for the web, quicken backup, writing letters when travel.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2008, 07:00 PM   #18
Gray-Wolf
macrumors 68030
 
Gray-Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pandora, Home Tree
Send a message via MSN to Gray-Wolf
For Leopard -

General requirements

Mac computer with an Intel, PowerPC G5, or PowerPC G4 (867MHz or faster) processor


512MB of memory
DVD drive for installation
9GB of available disk space
Some features require a compatible Internet service provider; fees may apply.
Some features require Apple's .Mac service; fees apply.
__________________
"And Jesus answered him, saying, It is written, That man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word of God.. "
Gray-Wolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2008, 01:05 PM   #19
bonesboom
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I think I'm going to go ahead and purchase a retail copy of Leopard. Thanks for the help guys.
bonesboom is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install Mac OS X from DVD cob36440 Mac Pro 7 May 29, 2014 07:29 AM
HELP! G4 Quicksilver: Can't get Dvd drive open to install Tiger Frisco PowerPC Macs 13 Nov 22, 2012 09:21 PM
Replaced HD, Mac OS X Install DVD Issue prcproberts MacBook Pro 1 Nov 22, 2012 11:29 AM
Window 7 Install Without External cd/dvd drive for mac mini samacmini Mac mini 7 Nov 6, 2012 07:07 PM
Tiger Install Problem jasonbitesapple OS X 2 Jul 5, 2012 04:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC