Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 5, 2002, 03:50 PM   #1
Macmaniac
macrumors 68040
 
Macmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile in area, somewhere on the outskirts of town by the railroad tracks
Question Screen Out of Focus

I have a very wierd problem, sometimes I turn on my iMac and the screen is out of focus. Do you have any idea why this is happening? I do not wear glasses, and I was using a computer an hour ago an it was not out of focus. So its not my eyes, Help!!!

After awhile it comes to focus.
__________________
The customer is NOT always right
Macmaniac is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2002, 04:03 PM   #2
AlphaTech
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Natick, MA
Send a message via ICQ to AlphaTech Send a message via AIM to AlphaTech Send a message via Yahoo to AlphaTech
Stop taking the drugs..

What kind of iMac, how old, you know the routine... if it is under warranty, have you called Apple yet??? Most likely you will need to.
__________________
"Wake up, time to die"
800MHz PowerBook G4,1GB RAM, 40GB HD (internal) with 130GB in external drives
2002 Harley Davidson Softail Standard
main site:theTechPub
store site:store
AlphaTech is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2002, 04:22 PM   #3
LimeiBook86
macrumors 604
 
LimeiBook86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
Send a message via AIM to LimeiBook86 Send a message via MSN to LimeiBook86 Send a message via Yahoo to LimeiBook86
Unhappy Hmmmm,

My Aunt has a Graphite iMac SE but when she starts it up, everything, is wierd, the screen is tinted red, and there are wierd red lines to the right, but when you restart it it's fine.....sometimes it repeats though...
__________________
My 'How to Draw Fun Animals' iBook is now on iTunes
"Just you try and stop me..."
My Site Thrift Fails Tech Blog
LimeiBook86 is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2002, 04:50 PM   #4
kiwi_the_iwik
macrumors 65816
 
kiwi_the_iwik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, UK
Send a message via AIM to kiwi_the_iwik
Could be that your screen needs degaussing - a procedure that realligns the tube's magnetic field (and colours) via use of a degaussing rod, which is really just a glorified electromagnet.

Don't try this at home, kids - magnets could screw up your monitor for good. Therefore, I suggest the use of a specialist in the field.

Example: I remember when I was a kid in New Zealand, and was walking around the Audio Visual section of a Department store - having all sorts of fun by putting my toy magnet in the centre of the TV sets and watching all the colours get "sucked in" to the middle of the screens. FUBAR...
__________________
Quote:
"Treat Ordinary People like Royalty, and Royalty like Ordinary People - and you won't go wrong..."
kiwi_the_iwik is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2002, 05:09 PM   #5
AlphaTech
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Natick, MA
Send a message via ICQ to AlphaTech Send a message via AIM to AlphaTech Send a message via Yahoo to AlphaTech
Most monitors (at least the decent ones) have a degauss option via the on-screen controlls. I don't remember if the iMac (crt) gives you that option via the Monitor control panel, but you might want to look.

Which iMac is this happening to??? IF it is one of the new LCD models, then you will have to take it to Apple (or an AASP) for repair. I'd still suggest CALLING APPLE to see if they can walk you through some resets (such as the open firmware) that could resolve the issue. To do that one, just hold down the option+apple+o+f keys on startup and when it gives you the open firmware screen type in (sans the quotes) "reset-all" and hit return/enter. It will reboot the system. That COULD fix the issue.
__________________
"Wake up, time to die"
800MHz PowerBook G4,1GB RAM, 40GB HD (internal) with 130GB in external drives
2002 Harley Davidson Softail Standard
main site:theTechPub
store site:store
AlphaTech is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2002, 05:26 PM   #6
Macmaniac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Macmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile in area, somewhere on the outskirts of town by the railroad tracks
It is a snow 700mhz iMac classic. This has only happened in the past two weeks, but not after every start up. It is normal now and fine. I DO NOT TAKE DRUGS, I don't want to throw my life away. If this happens again I will notify you.
__________________
The customer is NOT always right
Macmaniac is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2002, 06:42 PM   #7
Hemingray
macrumors 68030
 
Hemingray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ha ha haaa!
Quote:
Originally posted by Macmaniac
I DO NOT TAKE DRUGS, I don't want to throw my life away.
Good man! Glad to hear it.
Hemingray is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2002, 06:57 PM   #8
menoinjun
macrumors 6502a
 
menoinjun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Pishah!! (as I pop a tab) Drugs can be great!! Just ask Steve Jobs.

Seriously though...I do believe that the iMac has a degaussing option. Try it.

Macmaniac...New tar? I liked your one with the guy on the red background (no animation) a lot!! In fact...It's one of the better ones I've ever seen! I don't know why, but it seems to fit your macrumors name perfectly.

-Pete
__________________
"Let's Go Exploring!!"
-Calvin and Hobbes
menoinjun is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2002, 08:27 PM   #9
AlphaTech
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Natick, MA
Send a message via ICQ to AlphaTech Send a message via AIM to AlphaTech Send a message via Yahoo to AlphaTech
Quote:
Originally posted by Macmaniac
It is a snow 700mhz iMac classic. This has only happened in the past two weeks, but not after every start up. It is normal now and fine. I DO NOT TAKE DRUGS, I don't want to throw my life away. If this happens again I will notify you.
Dude, can't you take a JOKE??? <-- big clue to when I am joking

As stated before, check for the degauss option under the monitor's control panel. Also try the reset-all from the open firmware. BOTH very well could fix the issue. If not, then it will need to go in for service. Do you have Applecare protection on it?? If not, and you still have time on the first year warranty, get the Applecare added to it. THAT can save you some serious $$ on repairs in the future (as well as give you peace of mind).
__________________
"Wake up, time to die"
800MHz PowerBook G4,1GB RAM, 40GB HD (internal) with 130GB in external drives
2002 Harley Davidson Softail Standard
main site:theTechPub
store site:store
AlphaTech is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2002, 06:40 AM   #10
Macmaniac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Macmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile in area, somewhere on the outskirts of town by the railroad tracks
Ya I can take a joke, lol. I have the 3 year apple care protection plan, so if it gets bad I will take it it for repairs. If it happens again I will start gettin worried.

As for my tar, it still needs alittle work, the M$ symbol is off center.
__________________
The customer is NOT always right
Macmaniac is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2002, 07:52 AM   #11
mmmdreg
macrumors 65816
 
mmmdreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Send a message via AIM to mmmdreg Send a message via MSN to mmmdreg
what do you mean it's out of focus? like the screen isn't the right size? because my monitor (iMac 600) after night's rest or something, the viewable area is higher and narrower than what I set it to, then it levels out after a while of being on...is this what you're talking about?
mmmdreg is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2002, 08:40 AM   #12
palala
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Long Island
Bondi

I had this same problem years ago with an original Bondi blue iMac. There was a way to degauss the screen, but I think it was pretty involved and not accessible through software means. I remember the cheat was to open the CD drawer all the way, and push down on it slightly. On most of the earlier iMacs, it would get the screen to degauss. I am sure there is something somewhere that tells you how to deguass the screen on that iMac, but if you still have the Applecare I wouldn't even waste time looking for it...just take it in.
palala is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen issue. White, fuzzy, out of focus. Comes and goes. Help!!! thinkhope MacBook Pro 1 Jan 23, 2011 08:07 PM
Quickcam Vision Pro out of focus problem milk242 Mac Peripherals 2 Jul 15, 2009 02:22 PM
iMAC 24" shadow affect / out of focus around text in all Apps KevinClarke iMac 4 Sep 22, 2008 05:23 AM
Fuzzy/Out of Focus Screen on new iMac? MyAwesomeBlog iMac 4 Jun 9, 2008 01:57 AM
Preview out of focus ? theposse Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Feb 11, 2005 06:22 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC