Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2008, 03:47 PM   #1
Macman756
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to Macman756
Replacing Powerbook g4 12" hard drive. Largest Capacity?

Hey,

I have a 12" Powerbook g4 1.5Ghz and it has the stock 80GB HD. I really want a bigger one, what is the largest I can put in it? Also, which drive do you recommend? I was hoping a 250GB? I don't want to do it if I can only do like a 120GB. Has anyone done like a 320GB? Thanks
Macman756 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2008, 03:59 PM   #2
clyde2801
macrumors 601
 
clyde2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the land of no hills and red dirt.
Geez, what kind of connection does it use? It may be too old to use SATA. Is it ATA?
__________________
I've found that the sanest question I can ask myself is 'Am I going crazy?' --Jack Robbins
2012 base 15" rMBP, 2012 base 11" MBA, late 2011 2.4 i7 17" MBP, 16 gb ram, Crucial M4 512gb SSD
clyde2801 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2008, 04:02 PM   #3
jaeger19604
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
http://www.ifixit.com/Apple-Parts/25...-New/IF107-052
jaeger19604 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2008, 04:05 PM   #4
MasterNile
macrumors 65816
 
MasterNile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
You will need a 2.5" ATA hard drive that's 9.5MM tall, the biggest size is 250GB, here's the only one I found from OWC that matches
__________________
24" Alu iMac, 2.8GHz C2D, 320GB 7200RPM HDD, 2GB RAM;
White MacBook, 2.0GHz C2D, 500GB 5400RPM HDD, 4GB RAM;
Jailbroken 32GB 2nd Gen iPod Touch
MasterNile is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2008, 04:09 PM   #5
TheReef
macrumors 68000
 
TheReef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NSW, Australia.
Be sure to keep note of where each screw goes when disassembling!!
There are heaps!!
__________________
Swing by my gallery - Photos by Reef
TheReef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2008, 04:38 PM   #6
Macman756
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to Macman756
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterNile View Post
You will need a 2.5" ATA hard drive that's 9.5MM tall, the biggest size is 250GB, here's the only one I found from OWC that matches
Ya, this is the only ATA-6 newegg has. The WD Scorpio. Well, newegg is $75 so not too bad. Is this a really tough job? Thanks
Macman756 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2008, 06:40 AM   #7
panzer06
macrumors 68030
 
panzer06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kilrath
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman756 View Post
Ya, this is the only ATA-6 newegg has. The WD Scorpio. Well, newegg is $75 so not too bad. Is this a really tough job? Thanks
Not too bad, just keep track of all the screws.
__________________
Trust, but locate the doors,
2011 Mini 16GB/500GB SSDVerizon 32GB iPad AirMoto X 32GB*MSI GT70-890 20GB*1TB SSD* Flickr *
panzer06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2008, 04:22 PM   #8
Macman756
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to Macman756
Here is the drive I am looking at:

WD Scorpio 250GB

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136159


Will this work?
Macman756 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2008, 05:19 PM   #9
Kaupa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany
As I have just bought me a 12" PB too, this question does also interest me. There are some adapters from ata to s-ata, would it be possible to get one in there to install a 7200 sata drive? or is the space in there too tight?
Kaupa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2008, 07:12 PM   #10
Macman756
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to Macman756
I would love an ATA-Sata converter. Goodbye 80GB Hello 1TB!!!!!!
That would probably get really hot
Macman756 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2008, 07:12 PM   #11
emt377
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman756 View Post
Is this a really tough job? Thanks
I swapped the drive in my PB G4 15" a few years back and the only tricky part was getting the top back on properly. If I remember correctly it had a what looked like a shielding flange around the edge, which had to be carefully aligned or it wouldn't fit.

If you're reasonably handy the PB G4 should be a breeze though. Just give yourself plenty of time so you don't feel a need to rush.
__________________
MP 2.8x8/16GB/6TB/5870,2600/30,27,22" - MBP 15" i7 2.66/8GB/512GB/512M
emt377 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2008, 07:34 PM   #12
munckee
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
I did this replacement on a 1.33 12" a few months ago. Not difficult at all, just be very meticulous (as others have said). I had the ifixit manual open on another computer in front of me. Each step's screws came out and got taped to a post-it note labeled with the step number and then put in chronological order on the desk next to me. Just reversed the post-its putting it back together and it was a breeze. Took about an hour start to finish.
__________________
Interested in design, technology, and creative communications? Check out *AmongMany
munckee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2008, 10:32 AM   #13
moleary77
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
start up?

Does anything need to be done to the drive before replacing? Format/copy old content etc. how does that work. Is it able to start up with the new drive?
moleary77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2008, 10:38 AM   #14
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman756 View Post
Here is the drive I am looking at:

WD Scorpio 250GB

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136159


Will this work?
That's the one.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2008, 12:09 PM   #15
drewsof07
macrumors 68000
 
drewsof07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by moleary77 View Post
Does anything need to be done to the drive before replacing? Format/copy old content etc. how does that work. Is it able to start up with the new drive?
boot from your install dvd and format the drive using disk utility before installing OS X.
drewsof07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2008, 02:37 PM   #16
moleary77
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Thank you very much.
moleary77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting Options for over capacity hard drive DockMac MacBook 2 Dec 16, 2013 03:19 PM
Displaying hard drive capacity alexcanton Mac Programming 7 Sep 28, 2013 02:17 PM
How do I find out my hard drive capacity? Calisi* MacBook Pro 3 Apr 23, 2013 07:28 AM
Internal hard drive capacity upgrade dckj95 MacBook Pro 2 Feb 19, 2013 06:35 PM
Hard Drive capacity problem Poker2009 MacBook Air 3 Jul 25, 2012 08:08 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC