Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Old Nov 24, 2008, 12:50 AM   #1
maccuser
macrumors member

which is more secure: Safari or Firefox?

I'm new to mac, recently bought the new aluminum macbook and was wondering if it is more secure to use firefox vs safari. I noticed that scrolling is way more smooth in safari than in firefox and the fact I have more of the page since safari has thinner borders and also the loading thing is right in the address bar. More to it, with the new trackpad i can use the multitouch capabilities that is only built in safari but not firefox.

Could you guys let me know which one is better to use?

Also, I installed Sophos antivirus (which is free for UCLA students) on my mac, is that of any help? or does it catch windows viruses only?
maccuser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2008, 12:58 AM   #2
J the Ninja
macrumors 68000

Assuming you are up to date about both, you are fine. Use Firefox and strap on NoScript and FlashBlock if you are paranoid.

Download MultiClutch (Google it) to get 3 finger swipe, zoom, and other gestures into Firefox (It's a preference pane that lets you bind gestures to key combinations for either the whole system, or an individual Cocoa app.

You don't need Mac AntiVirus, there are no Mac viruses. There are a very small number of programs that could be called Mac malware, every single one requires at the very least that you manually launch them. Many even require you to type your password or assign them a firewall port before they can do damage. Just stay smart and don't get social-engineered, and you'll be fine.
Old Nov 24, 2008, 01:17 AM   #3
gracemac
Banned

both OK, safari is more safe IMO, but i used to firefox, it doesnot matter if you take care when browse
gracemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2008, 01:24 AM   #4
MasterNile
macrumors 65816

Quote: