Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 25, 2008, 04:35 PM   #26
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
8 inches. Beat that!
__________________
The distance in time between 1980 and now is the same amount as the distance in time between 1980 and WWII.
rdowns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2008, 06:25 PM   #27
SFStateStudent
macrumors 604
 
SFStateStudent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Francisco California, USA
Send a message via AIM to SFStateStudent Send a message via Yahoo to SFStateStudent Send a message via Skype™ to SFStateStudent
Here's my 3G, WiFi, and EDGE Speedtest results:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Test 1.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	145901   Click image for larger version

Name:	Test 2.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	79.7 KB
ID:	145902   Click image for larger version

Name:	Test 3.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	145903  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Test 4.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	44.4 KB
ID:	145904  
__________________
MBP 2.5GHz 640GB 4GB RAM Mac Pro iPhone 4S iOS 5 Black 64GB AC+ NEW iPad Apple TV 2G
SFStateStudent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2008, 05:34 AM   #28
cWeems
macrumors 6502a
 
cWeems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: FLORIDA, USA
Send a message via AIM to cWeems
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFly123 View Post
Wow, can that even be called 3G??? AT&T really needs to fix their #@&% "3G" network!!! ...and with full bars of 3G none the less...

I also dropped literally about 15 calls yesterday after I updated to 2.2 I LOVE my iPhone but @^#!%#$!# AT&T and Apple fix this bull @#$*!!!
u just have a bad sim card, calm down lol
__________________
iPhone(RIP), iPhone 3G(RIP), iPhone 3GS(RIP), iPhone 4(RIP), iPhone 4S(Current). MacBook 2,1(RIP), MacBook 5,1(Current).
cWeems is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2008, 06:43 PM   #29
MacFly123
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cWeems View Post
u just have a bad sim card, calm down lol
Are you being serious? So do I need to go to the AT&T store and they will just switch it out? Will I keep the same phone number and everything? Thanks!
__________________
- Steve Jobs' best friend!
MacFly123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2008, 07:38 PM   #30
cWeems
macrumors 6502a
 
cWeems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: FLORIDA, USA
Send a message via AIM to cWeems
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFly123 View Post
Are you being serious? So do I need to go to the AT&T store and they will just switch it out? Will I keep the same phone number and everything? Thanks!

yes everything will stay the same... once its swapped out jus make sure u r turning the phone completely off then back on daily to keep the sim updated after that.
__________________
iPhone(RIP), iPhone 3G(RIP), iPhone 3GS(RIP), iPhone 4(RIP), iPhone 4S(Current). MacBook 2,1(RIP), MacBook 5,1(Current).
cWeems is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2008, 07:43 PM   #31
jlake02
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: L.A.
2.5 to 3.0 for European 3G?!

MAN I HATE YOU GUYS!! :P
__________________
iPhone 5; iPhone 4S; iPad 1,2,3; iPod Touch 4 x2, AppleTV
jlake02 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 12:54 AM   #32
Dr. Cabrera
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Send a message via AIM to Dr. Cabrera
I is WinRar ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0005.png
Views:	10
Size:	59.6 KB
ID:	146273   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0004.png
Views:	12
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	146274   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0008.png
Views:	12
Size:	62.0 KB
ID:	146275  

Dr. Cabrera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 01:32 PM   #33
vinay427
macrumors 6502a
 
vinay427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Exclamation

I guess my speed is quite slow compared to many others especially considering I have 5 bars of 3G coverage.



I have 1.5 Mbps private home internet.



I live in the suburbs of Detroit, Michigan if you can't see the little blue location circle.



EDIT: I forgot to add that those results were indoors.
__________________
Sorry, but my signature out right now. He'll be back soon.
***PM me to get $25 for free when you switch to AT&T. *** Only 1 left!

Last edited by vinay427; Nov 30, 2008 at 11:28 AM.
vinay427 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 04:34 PM   #34
Dr. Cabrera
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Send a message via AIM to Dr. Cabrera
good point about the bars

I'll test the 3g speed when im outdoors
Dr. Cabrera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 09:03 PM   #35
Rayfire
macrumors 68020
 
Rayfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Here's mine, from Seattle, WA.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	download.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	146383  
__________________
Are you a new subscriber to AT&T? You could get a $25 gift card, pm me for details
13'' MBP iPhone 5 32GB White iPod Nano 5th Gen
Rayfire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 10:35 AM   #36
scirica
macrumors 68020
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Here's mine...seems higher than I would expect. Are others finding this app to give high results?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	58.1 KB
ID:	146428  
scirica is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 11:20 AM   #37
Dr. Cabrera
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Send a message via AIM to Dr. Cabrera
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post
Here's mine...seems higher than I would expect. Are others finding this app to give high results?
I'm on a T3 Line, so pretty much anything is below my expectations of "maximum". I've seen my router spit about 7-9mb/ second over WI-Fi so I think the application is pretty accurate

I once had 3x 10mb/s transfers going at once connected directly to the wall =)
Dr. Cabrera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 03:55 PM   #38
scirica
macrumors 68020
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Cabrera View Post
I'm on a T3 Line, so pretty much anything is below my expectations of "maximum". I've seen my router spit about 7-9mb/ second over WI-Fi so I think the application is pretty accurate

I once had 3x 10mb/s transfers going at once connected directly to the wall =)
Thanks...I'll think I'll just be happy with my results then!
scirica is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 06:17 PM   #39
Habakuk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vienna Austria Europe
Here my speedtests from the center of Europe. Private Wi-Fi with cable modem. Mobile net carrier is Orange Austria. Please note that Orange has no EDGE net - see the indicator in the first line (little circle for GPRS net right besides the carrier index instead of "E"/EDGE) although the speedtest software calls it EDGE (has no separate GPRS setting).

The 3G net is not very good. The average results seem to be okay but keep in mind it's one o'clock in the morning. Austria is one of the rare countries with two iPhone 3G carriers (Orange and T-Mobile).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	iPhone_3G_speedtest.PNG
Views:	9
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	146490   Click image for larger version

Name:	iPhone_location.PNG
Views:	11
Size:	123.3 KB
ID:	146491   Click image for larger version

Name:	iPhone_WiFi_speedtest.PNG
Views:	8
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	146493  

Click image for larger version

Name:	iPhone_GPRS_speedtest.png
Views:	9
Size:	64.3 KB
ID:	146494  
__________________
Hurry up! Selected & time-limited iOS App Store FREEbies and sales
(German-language blog; but you'll find all links, pics and videos)

Last edited by Habakuk; Nov 30, 2008 at 06:50 PM.
Habakuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 06:19 PM   #40
calculus
macrumors 68040
 
calculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdowns View Post
8 inches. Beat that!
I thought you liked to beat it yourself...
calculus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 07:41 PM   #41
Auzburner
macrumors 65816
 
Auzburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Syracuse, NY - USA
Send a message via AIM to Auzburner
Here's mine.

Hey! I took the WiFi ScS at 1234. Must be good luck!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0002.PNG
Views:	12
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	146508   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0003.PNG
Views:	10
Size:	59.9 KB
ID:	146509   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0004.PNG
Views:	9
Size:	62.3 KB
ID:	146510  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0005.PNG
Views:	14
Size:	214.3 KB
ID:	146511  
__________________
My main squeeze:-2012 RETINA MacBook Pro+2.7GHz+16GB RAM+512GB - iPhone 5S 32GB
Auzburner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2008, 02:15 PM   #42
cWeems
macrumors 6502a
 
cWeems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: FLORIDA, USA
Send a message via AIM to cWeems
man this is the fastest ive got, and it was at my moms house!!!

EDIT: winning so far!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	New Image.JPG
Views:	11
Size:	102.7 KB
ID:	146979  
__________________
iPhone(RIP), iPhone 3G(RIP), iPhone 3GS(RIP), iPhone 4(RIP), iPhone 4S(Current). MacBook 2,1(RIP), MacBook 5,1(Current).
cWeems is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2008, 09:01 AM   #43
skMed
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I'm getting 481 Kbits down and 100 Kbits up as my max. It's been fluctuating but staying pretty low and sometimes lower. I live in Northern VA near DC. I'm getting full friggin 3G bars too!

Anyone have similar experiences? Maybe something is wrong with my phone? Or maybe that's just the way it is out here? @@
skMed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2008, 09:24 AM   #44
lavrishevo
macrumors 65816
 
lavrishevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Georgia
This is what I am getting on my business trip to DC.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0001.PNG
Views:	9
Size:	66.0 KB
ID:	147109   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0002.PNG
Views:	11
Size:	315.4 KB
ID:	147110  
lavrishevo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2008, 09:40 AM   #45
skMed
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I must be hooked up to a bad tower, or something is up with my phone. Thanks for the reference - I'll try it in a different area, then call AT&T if nothing changes.
skMed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2008, 08:19 PM   #46
mmn100
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Arrow See the heatmap of speeds by country by the developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by iWizzard View Post
Unless this app uses a local server to test speed averything is meaningles.
Does it?
According to the application's description, they are using a global content distribution network for the files so they should be fairly accurate worldwide.


On a more interesting note, the developers of the application have posted today on their blog about worldwide 3G speeds based on the data from the tests. There is a cool interactive heat map of 3G speeds by country and some other interesting facts.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	heatmap.png
Views:	28
Size:	60.0 KB
ID:	147191  
mmn100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2008, 05:44 AM   #47
sparkyms
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southampton UK
I'm pissed I didn't screenshot the speedtest I did the other day, i got 3.2mbps
sparkyms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 10:43 AM   #48
Akachris1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Here's mine
Taken in Cork city center, Ireland. (on St.Patrick Street for my Irish friends)

Personally I think O2 can do better that this, saying that its still a hell of a lot faster that Edge.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.PNG
Views:	11
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	148836   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.PNG
Views:	12
Size:	113.1 KB
ID:	148837  
__________________
32gb ipod touch 1st gen 16gb iphone 3G (White)
Akachris1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 01:52 PM   #49
eric1971
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Virginia Beach, VA
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	57.6 KB
ID:	148869  
eric1971 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 04:48 PM   #50
ghostshadow777
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Man... sucks where I am right now, Vancouver Washington. The signal switches between 3G to Edge once a while.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	148893  
ghostshadow777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What video recorder application works on the iPhone 3G iOS 4.2.1? Granitel iPhone and iPod touch Apps 5 Oct 31, 2011 12:17 PM
Why won't the bootrom version show up in WinXP Device Mgr iPhone 3G 3.1.3 BB 06.15.00 Granitel iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 12 Oct 30, 2011 09:08 PM
Since Apple abandoned iPhone 3G, I'm thinking of jailbreaking for speed improvement?? benji888 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 28 Mar 14, 2011 03:10 AM
is it ok to restore my unlocked iphone 3g? & no pushnotifications/unlocked iphone? poohbear19 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Dec 10, 2010 07:55 PM
Is the Iphone 3Gs out of date? cootersgarage6 iPhone 22 Nov 29, 2010 12:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC