Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Games

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 6, 2002, 11:14 AM   #1
Geert
macrumors 6502a
 
Geert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: .be
Halo

I know that there was a thread once which had a link to someone's iDisk if not mistaken with a halo movie on some heavy metal music.
I have been searching through the forums, but couldn't find it anymore, does somebody remember the link/thread...
Geert is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2002, 11:40 AM   #2
topicolo
macrumors 68000
 
topicolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ottawa, ON
Speaking of halo, what happened to the pc and mac ports of it? did MS shaft us again and cancel both of them?
__________________
Do not disturb. Blood alcohol experiment in progress...
topicolo is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2002, 04:19 PM   #3
ericb88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
I highly, highly doubt MS woudl allow there prized possesion to be realeased on anything that doesn't have an x or a box in it.
ericb88 is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2002, 05:29 PM   #4
AlphaTech
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Natick, MA
Send a message via ICQ to AlphaTech Send a message via AIM to AlphaTech Send a message via Yahoo to AlphaTech
Halo IS coming for the computers... just a matter of time before it is released. It SHOULD be out sometime before the end of this year.

I got that from a person that has connections... There are a lot of people that have been waiting to purchase Halo but refuse to spend the money to get a hexbox (I am one of them). Why should we go out and blow $200 on a console for a single game?? I'd rather play it on either of my computers, and not have to play it only when I am at home, or someplace where there is a hexbox. With laptops (especially the latest TiBook's) you can play games just about anywhere you want, and not be tied down.
__________________
"Wake up, time to die"
800MHz PowerBook G4,1GB RAM, 40GB HD (internal) with 130GB in external drives
2002 Harley Davidson Softail Standard
main site:theTechPub
store site:store
AlphaTech is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2002, 05:36 PM   #5
topicolo
macrumors 68000
 
topicolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ottawa, ON
Sounds like M$ is trying squeeze halo to generate sales for the xbox for as long as possible before bringing it onto even his beloved windoze computer platforms. *sigh* By the time halo comes out for the rest of us, it'll seem as old as if Quake III was release this year.
topicolo is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2002, 06:04 PM   #6
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
Re: Halo

Quote:
Originally posted by Geert
I know that there was a thread once which had a link to someone's iDisk if not mistaken with a halo movie on some heavy metal music.
I have been searching through the forums, but couldn't find it anymore, does somebody remember the link/thread...
http://www.macrumors.com/pages/2002/...11044850.shtml
arn is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2002, 06:06 PM   #7
AlphaTech
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Natick, MA
Send a message via ICQ to AlphaTech Send a message via AIM to AlphaTech Send a message via Yahoo to AlphaTech
Quote:
Originally posted by topicolo
Sounds like M$ is trying squeeze halo to generate sales for the xbox for as long as possible before bringing it onto even his beloved windoze computer platforms. *sigh* By the time halo comes out for the rest of us, it'll seem as old as if Quake III was release this year.
The same person that gave me the skinny on Halo coming for the computer DID mention that a Mac version is still intended. I don't know if it will be released at the same time as the peecee version, but we can hope.

I fail to see m$'s logic in keeping Halo from everyone. I would imagine those money grubbers would want to saturate the market and get everyone to buy the game (Mac, peecee and hexbox alike).

I guess that's why they are an EVIL empire.
__________________
"Wake up, time to die"
800MHz PowerBook G4,1GB RAM, 40GB HD (internal) with 130GB in external drives
2002 Harley Davidson Softail Standard
main site:theTechPub
store site:store
AlphaTech is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2002, 06:51 PM   #8
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
Quote:
Originally posted by AlphaTech

I fail to see m$'s logic in keeping Halo from everyone. I would imagine those money grubbers would want to saturate the market and get everyone to buy the game (Mac, peecee and hexbox alike)..
Oh, I see it alright. Halo is one of the few reasons to buy an XBox, with sales in the toilet, we'd be lucky to see a PC or Mac version before Xmas. My guess is it will comeout next year sometime. One of the keys in seeing a double release, PC and Mac is the fact that Bungie is still involved to a degree in the production. I hope it happens.
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2002, 11:22 PM   #9
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally posted by dukestreet


Oh, I see it alright. Halo is one of the few reasons to buy an XBox, with sales in the toilet, we'd be lucky to see a PC or Mac version before Xmas. My guess is it will comeout next year sometime. One of the keys in seeing a double release, PC and Mac is the fact that Bungie is still involved to a degree in the production. I hope it happens.

dukestreet hit the nail right on the head. Halo is the only killer app for the X-box (and in some cases is itself enough to get people to buy an X-box). I think Halo will come out for the PC about the same time Duke Nukem Forever hits the stores...

I have heard rumors that Halo for the PC is coming... it's just a question of when, but I won't believe it until I seem offical confirmation that it is still being developed for the PC.

Lethal
LethalWolfe is online now   0
Old Jun 6, 2002, 11:31 PM   #10
AlphaTech
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Natick, MA
Send a message via ICQ to AlphaTech Send a message via AIM to AlphaTech Send a message via Yahoo to AlphaTech
Any guesses on how long before someone comes up with a hack that will allow you to play hexbox games at least on a peecee??? I would go for that, since I have a game (only) peecee here. I'm actually formatting the drive(s) right now on the RAID I will soon be booting from. RAID 0 with a pair of 160GB hard drives... yep, that's ~320GB total as a single drive (as far as the computer is concerned).
__________________
"Wake up, time to die"
800MHz PowerBook G4,1GB RAM, 40GB HD (internal) with 130GB in external drives
2002 Harley Davidson Softail Standard
main site:theTechPub
store site:store
AlphaTech is offline   0
Old Jun 7, 2002, 12:47 AM   #11
Durandal7
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Quote:
Originally posted by AlphaTech
Any guesses on how long before someone comes up with a hack that will allow you to play hexbox games at least on a peecee???
I'd say September. CompSci students all across the country are probably making this their "summer project."
Durandal7 is offline   0
Old Jun 7, 2002, 12:52 AM   #12
AlphaTech
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Natick, MA
Send a message via ICQ to AlphaTech Send a message via AIM to AlphaTech Send a message via Yahoo to AlphaTech
Quote:
Originally posted by asurace


I'd say September. CompSci students all across the country are probably making this their "summer project."
Sweet... I will be looking forward to that. I just hope we can get a hold of some copies of Halo before m$ plugs the holes the crackers open up.
__________________
"Wake up, time to die"
800MHz PowerBook G4,1GB RAM, 40GB HD (internal) with 130GB in external drives
2002 Harley Davidson Softail Standard
main site:theTechPub
store site:store
AlphaTech is offline   0
Old Jun 7, 2002, 01:27 AM   #13
Geert
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Geert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: .be
Re: Re: Halo

Thxs Arn, you're the best!
Geert is offline   0
Old Jun 7, 2002, 02:26 AM   #14
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally posted by AlphaTech
Any guesses on how long before someone comes up with a hack that will allow you to play hexbox games at least on a peecee??? I would go for that, since I have a game (only) peecee here. I'm actually formatting the drive(s) right now on the RAID I will soon be booting from. RAID 0 with a pair of 160GB hard drives... yep, that's ~320GB total as a single drive (as far as the computer is concerned).

I had RAID 0 setup on my PC until one of my drives suddenly died. I sold my RAID card and purchased a straight controller card shortly there after. Current IDE speeds are fast enough for me, and it's one less thing to go wrong.


Lethal
LethalWolfe is online now   0
Old Jun 7, 2002, 09:41 AM   #15
AlphaTech
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Natick, MA
Send a message via ICQ to AlphaTech Send a message via AIM to AlphaTech Send a message via Yahoo to AlphaTech
Quote:
Originally posted by LethalWolfe
I had RAID 0 setup on my PC until one of my drives suddenly died. I sold my RAID card and purchased a straight controller card shortly there after. Current IDE speeds are fast enough for me, and it's one less thing to go wrong.
Considering how I picked up a pair of ATA133 drives, I wanted them at full speed. The RAID card only cost $130 (with shipping and sales tax), so it wasn't bad at all. It will support up to four hard drives, in case I need more then the ~305GB (after formatting) worth of space at some point in the future.

With a game system, you want speed everywhere you can get it. The RAID card has two channels, at ATA133 each, which gets doubled when you use a drive on each (ATA133x2=ATA266) for Stripping (RAID 0).

From what I experienced last night, after formatting the drive for about two hours (damn you windblows) the RAID card does make a difference (I know, no brainer).
__________________
"Wake up, time to die"
800MHz PowerBook G4,1GB RAM, 40GB HD (internal) with 130GB in external drives
2002 Harley Davidson Softail Standard
main site:theTechPub
store site:store
AlphaTech is offline   0
Old Jun 7, 2002, 10:03 AM   #16
topicolo
macrumors 68000
 
topicolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ottawa, ON
Quote:
Originally posted by AlphaTech


Considering how I picked up a pair of ATA133 drives, I wanted them at full speed. The RAID card only cost $130 (with shipping and sales tax), so it wasn't bad at all. It will support up to four hard drives, in case I need more then the ~305GB (after formatting) worth of space at some point in the future.

With a game system, you want speed everywhere you can get it. The RAID card has two channels, at ATA133 each, which gets doubled when you use a drive on each (ATA133x2=ATA266) for Stripping (RAID 0).

From what I experienced last night, after formatting the drive for about two hours (damn you windblows) the RAID card does make a difference (I know, no brainer).
Wow, that's insane how just formatting that RAID array would chop off 15gigs. My Piece of Crap (PC) only HAS 26gigs of storage!
topicolo is offline   0
Old Jun 7, 2002, 10:42 AM   #17
AlphaTech
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Natick, MA
Send a message via ICQ to AlphaTech Send a message via AIM to AlphaTech Send a message via Yahoo to AlphaTech
Quote:
Originally posted by topicolo


Wow, that's insane how just formatting that RAID array would chop off 15gigs. My Piece of Crap (PC) only HAS 26gigs of storage!
Consider this... drive makers list the size as 1MB=1000KB (not the true 1024KB). Which means that a 160GB drive is really 156.25GB Doubled is 312.5GB, minus the bit that windblows uses for the formatting and such, you only loose ~3.75GB per drive. When you are talking about over 300GB, would you miss 7.5GB??? I won't. Apple's formatting does similar things to drive sizes, where you never see the advertised size, it's ALWAYS a little less. Depending on the drive size, is how much less you actually see.

I was not all that happy that it took so damned long to formatt, considering how fast the Mac does it (even on same size drives, the Mac utility is many times faster). At least it is done, and I hope to never have to do it again.
__________________
"Wake up, time to die"
800MHz PowerBook G4,1GB RAM, 40GB HD (internal) with 130GB in external drives
2002 Harley Davidson Softail Standard
main site:theTechPub
store site:store
AlphaTech is offline   0
Old Jun 7, 2002, 01:47 PM   #18
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally posted by AlphaTech


Considering how I picked up a pair of ATA133 drives, I wanted them at full speed. The RAID card only cost $130 (with shipping and sales tax), so it wasn't bad at all. It will support up to four hard drives, in case I need more then the ~305GB (after formatting) worth of space at some point in the future.

With a game system, you want speed everywhere you can get it. The RAID card has two channels, at ATA133 each, which gets doubled when you use a drive on each (ATA133x2=ATA266) for Stripping (RAID 0).

From what I experienced last night, after formatting the drive for about two hours (damn you windblows) the RAID card does make a difference (I know, no brainer).

I'm familiar w/RAID. But for me it wasn't worth the risk. Of course, my PC at the time was for editing so I really got scared that I'd lose a project if a RAIDed HDD failed again (thankfuly I was in between projects when on of the HDDs went).

When I bought my G4 to be my editing workstation I went w/a straight contoller card and put one 80 gig HDD on each channel. For my needs the added speed of RAID 0 didn't out weigh the added risk.


Lethal
LethalWolfe is online now   0
Old Jun 7, 2002, 01:51 PM   #19
AlphaTech
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Natick, MA
Send a message via ICQ to AlphaTech Send a message via AIM to AlphaTech Send a message via Yahoo to AlphaTech
Quote:
Originally posted by LethalWolfe
I'm familiar w/RAID. But for me it wasn't worth the risk. Of course, my PC at the time was for editing so I really got scared that I'd lose a project if a RAIDed HDD failed again (thankfuly I was in between projects when on of the HDDs went).

When I bought my G4 to be my editing workstation I went w/a straight contoller card and put one 80 gig HDD on each channel. For my needs the added speed of RAID 0 didn't out weigh the added risk.
Well there is more then one type of RAID setup you know... from what you said, you might not know. For protection of data, use RAID 1 (mirroring) for the best of both speed and data protection use RAID 0+1, or you can splurge and go for RAID 5 (stipping with data protection/integrity with a spare drive). With RAID 1, and two drives, you have essentially one of the drives, with the data being 'mirrored' on the other one in case one fails. With 0+1, you get the performance of stripping, but data protection of mirroring (use four drives, see the size of two of them). RAID 0 is mostly used in servers where 0, 1 and 0+1 can easily be used in desktops. MOST of the cards I have seen (and pretty much all the newer ones) offer the 0, 1 and 0+1 options.

Something to think about there wolfie...
__________________
"Wake up, time to die"
800MHz PowerBook G4,1GB RAM, 40GB HD (internal) with 130GB in external drives
2002 Harley Davidson Softail Standard
main site:theTechPub
store site:store
AlphaTech is offline   0
Old Jun 7, 2002, 02:23 PM   #20
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Now we're getting into another issue... money. If I could afford 0+1 I'd use it. I keep asking for more HDDs... but the HDD fairy hasn't left anything under my pillow yet.


Lethal
LethalWolfe is online now   0
Old Jun 7, 2002, 02:27 PM   #21
AlphaTech
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Natick, MA
Send a message via ICQ to AlphaTech Send a message via AIM to AlphaTech Send a message via Yahoo to AlphaTech
Well, you COULD just get another 80GB drive and mirror it... I am pretty sure that there are Mac RAID cards that run right about $100 +/- a few $$. All you really need to do is get a drive identical to the one you have and set it up as mirrored. Most of the cards allow you to do that without loosing anything on your current drive.

Just imagine how much you would save with that kind of peace of mind... you wouldn't need to go to the shrink because you are worried about loosing a project you have spent xxx hours on.
__________________
"Wake up, time to die"
800MHz PowerBook G4,1GB RAM, 40GB HD (internal) with 130GB in external drives
2002 Harley Davidson Softail Standard
main site:theTechPub
store site:store
AlphaTech is offline   0
Old Jun 8, 2002, 04:00 AM   #22
j763
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Champaign, IL, USA
Send a message via AIM to j763
is there an M$ page about halo for mac or is it all rumored so far???
j763 is offline   0
Old Jun 9, 2002, 05:26 PM   #23
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
Quote:
Originally posted by j763
is there an M$ page about halo for mac or is it all rumored so far???
this is the best I could do, its from the original creators of Halo and it looks like we *might* see it this year (Xmas) but who knows...

http://halo.bungie.org/faq/general.html#platforms
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0
Old Jun 11, 2002, 05:17 PM   #24
mr.w
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to mr.w
Halo may be M$' prized posetion, but everyone that has an xbox already has Halo... M$ is really only about the ca$h money, and there is a market for Halo on both mac an pc platforms. tHat is whay i expect to see both versions out by 2003.
mr.w is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Halo 4 sundog925 Console Games 3 Nov 1, 2013 10:55 AM
OS X: Halo demo help Sparky445 Mac and PC Games 1 Jul 31, 2013 03:56 PM
OS X: Has anyone tried Halo 2 in Wine? onirocdarb Mac and PC Games 0 Mar 19, 2013 01:08 PM
Halo Seth Mac Fan Mac and PC Games 7 Jul 27, 2012 03:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC