Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 29, 2008, 04:54 AM   #1
vailance
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MY
6800GT AGP flashing without pc?

hi, i have a dual 1.8ghz G5. i planned to buy a 6800GT AGP PC and would like to flash it to mac, but i found that flashing requires a PC, is there any possible way to flash it without a PC because i don't have a AGP based PC. I heard VNC through the g5 and flash a 9800 will work, how about 6800GT?
vailance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 10:14 AM   #2
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by vailance View Post
hi, i have a dual 1.8ghz G5. i planned to buy a 6800GT AGP PC and would like to flash it to mac, but i found that flashing requires a PC, is there any possible way to flash it without a PC because i don't have a AGP based PC. I heard VNC through the g5 and flash a 9800 will work, how about 6800GT?
I flashed quite a bit of 9800s a while back on my G4. I used Chicken of the VNC from an iBook and screen shared the PM G4. You can also do it blindly by setting the program to run automatically on startup to flash the card.

I will find all the sites for guides that you will need and post them back.

Here's the list of Mac Roms.
Also check around that site as there is pretty much everything you need to know or how to successfully flash a PC video card with a Mac Rom. Good luck and be sure to post back with any updates.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4

Last edited by OrangeSVTguy; Nov 29, 2008 at 10:25 AM.
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 12:32 PM   #3
vailance
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MY
hi, i knew that the flasher will work, what i mean is will the 6800GT pc card able to boot my g5 into leopard so that i could connect to the screen via my macbook over vnc? i knew some of the card will stopping the mac to boot .
vailance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 03:19 PM   #4
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by vailance View Post
hi, i knew that the flasher will work, what i mean is will the 6800GT pc card able to boot my g5 into leopard so that i could connect to the screen via my macbook over vnc? i knew some of the card will stopping the mac to boot .
Yes, the G5 should still boot up, just without video of course. It will ignore the PC video card until you flash it and restart it.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 04:12 PM   #5
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Not gonna happen.

The ATI flasher will overwrite a PC BIOS in OSX.

The Nvidia one WILL NOT.

Must be done on a PC.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 09:44 PM   #6
vailance
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MY
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
Yes, the G5 should still boot up, just without video of course. It will ignore the PC video card until you flash it and restart it.
hi, i saw your signature you has a 256mb 9800 se, i've tried to flash a 128mb 9800 SE 256bit, no matter what rom i flash in it still wont recognize by the G5, it just showing card with vendor id and revision id:0000 on slot-1. Im using the same method as the one posted on the web on step to step flashing via vnc with graphicaccelerator . May i know how to done it?
vailance is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best AGP card for G5? iamMacPerson PowerPC Macs 4 Apr 6, 2014 10:58 PM
Different 128GB Limit behaviour of different brands on AGP G4 Cox Orange PowerPC Macs 1 Jan 27, 2013 04:23 PM
G4 AGP-card (with ADC) in G5 ?? Bug-Creator PowerPC Macs 3 Oct 13, 2012 05:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC