Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 29, 2008, 03:34 PM   #1
lakshi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Cannot activate iphone

Hello,
I have one factory unlocked 3G iphone that was hanging a lot so i restored it with 2.1 firmware again. I then proceeded to activate the iphone by inserting an ATT simcard in the phone and then trying to activate it. But i then get the following error message "Iphone cannot be used with iTunes because information required for activation could not be obtained from the iphone. Check that simcard is inserted in the iphone and that it is not pinlocked".
Someone please help since i cannot use iphone without activating it..
Thanks

Last edited by lakshi; Nov 29, 2008 at 03:48 PM.
lakshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 03:49 PM   #2
fireshot91
macrumors 601
 
fireshot91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern VA
Did you think that the AT&T SIM isn't valid anymore?
fireshot91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 03:52 PM   #3
lakshi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireshot91 View Post
Did you think that the AT&T SIM isn't valid anymore?
Maybe yes it isnt valid anymore but i live in the UAE and it wont activate my iphone with the local Etisalat simcard also saying that it is not supported. But i have activated many iphones with my local simcard in the past few days, im just having problems activating this particular piece...any help?
lakshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 05:20 PM   #4
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakshi View Post
Hello,
I have one factory unlocked 3G iphone that was hanging a lot so i restored it with 2.1 firmware again. I then proceeded to activate the iphone by inserting an ATT simcard in the phone and then trying to activate it. But i then get the following error message "Iphone cannot be used with iTunes because information required for activation could not be obtained from the iphone. Check that simcard is inserted in the iphone and that it is not pinlocked".
Someone please help since i cannot use iphone without activating it..
Thanks
Ok, first off, you are 1/2 screwed.

Download and use Pwnage tool to create a 2.2.0 custom made .ipsw (iPhone Software). You can use Pwnage to make your phone activate itself and jailbreak itself (what you cannot do is unlock the 3G since there is no soft unlock for iPhone 3G outside Apple).

That makes the Activation problem solved.

That will activate the phone, but you will still not be able to use it in the United Arab Emirates. Reason is, the phone is still locked to AT&T and you have to wait for a soft unlock to appear.

There are xSIM solutions, but those are advised by the Dev Team to be avoided. Zf_ from the iPhone Dev Team found these solutions used very illegal trickery making the xSIM solutions stand in a grey area (gray area as law varies from country to country) in the legal sense and you would do good in avoiding in possible problems with the law.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 09:55 PM   #5
vtxdig
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Same problem i am having, i have a Rogers iphone with a rogers sim. Sim show unsupported in itunes and also shows no signal at all. I jailbroke it to get past the activation but still had no signal... Any ideas?
vtxdig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 11:34 PM   #6
The General
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Are you sure you have a factory unlocked iPhone 3G? Did you buy it from a different country?
The General is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 03:29 AM   #7
lakshi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Hello,
I used winpwn-2.5 to jailbreak and activate my iphone but after the process it is still not activated and shows no signal...what should i do now?
lakshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 12:57 PM   #8
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakshi View Post
Hello,
I used winpwn-2.5 to jailbreak and activate my iphone but after the process it is still not activated and shows no signal...what should i do now?
Read my previous post in this thread. You will see why.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 01:23 PM   #9
TheConfuzed1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Send a message via AIM to TheConfuzed1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
...That will activate the phone, but you will still not be able to use it in the United Arab Emirates. Reason is, the phone is still locked to AT&T and you have to wait for a soft unlock to appear...
He said that his phone is factory unlocked.
__________________
http://www.last.fm/user/theconfuzed1
Words With Friends: theconfuzed1
Chess With Friends: theconfuzed1
GameCenter: theconfuzed1
TheConfuzed1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 06:24 PM   #10
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheConfuzed1 View Post
He said that his phone is factory unlocked.
If the phone brings an AT&T SIM card then it cannot be factory unlocked.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 09:57 PM   #11
lavrishevo
macrumors 68000
 
lavrishevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Georgia
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
If the phone brings an AT&T SIM card then it cannot be factory unlocked.

That would probably be the case...
lavrishevo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I activate my iPhone 5? Mr. RPG iPhone 8 Oct 4, 2012 03:58 PM
Can I use prepaid sim At&t to activate iphone5 ( just activate not use) bboyp90 iPhone 1 Sep 27, 2012 11:47 PM
how to activate your new iPhone 5... raggdoll iPhone 5 Sep 20, 2012 08:36 PM
Activate iPhone 4 ? elmo3466 iPhone 0 May 31, 2012 09:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC