Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 1, 2008, 07:54 AM   #1
tjones60
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
How To Delete a Back-Up on Time Capsule

I have purchased a new MacBook Pro & wish to delete the old back-up profile that resides on my time capsule so as to free up capacity on it's HD.

I have not started a new back up yet with my new MAcBook Pro...So in addition to wanting to delete the old back up from the Time Capsule, I was wondering if I do that after or before I have created the new back-up...

Thanks For Any Info...
tjones60 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2008, 01:03 PM   #2
skorpien
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones60 View Post
I have purchased a new MacBook Pro & wish to delete the old back-up profile that resides on my time capsule so as to free up capacity on it's HD.

I have not started a new back up yet with my new MAcBook Pro...So in addition to wanting to delete the old back up from the Time Capsule, I was wondering if I do that after or before I have created the new back-up...

Thanks For Any Info...
If your old backup is the only thing on your Time Capsule, then the easy way would be to erase the hard drive through AirPort Utility (Manual Setup > Disks). If there are other data on your drive that you would like to keep, then mount the Time Capsule through Finder and navigate to the folder where your backups are kept. You should be able to select and delete the backup file from Finder.

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....sageID=8509172
__________________
17" 2.6 GHz Penryn MBP
Collector's Edition 2.4 GHz Alu MB
Time Capsule 2TB (1st Gen); Apple TV 160GB; iPhone 5S 64GB; iPod Video 30GB
skorpien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2010, 12:35 PM   #3
azeeuwnl
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: near Rotterdam
Time Capsule - What if you use multiple User Accounts

ok, so re-formatting is the most straight forward way to remove all data from the Time Capsule.

In my case, I have 3 User Accounts setup on the Time Capsule; I backup my MacBook Pro and 2 Windows systems. I want to remove 1 of the Windows accounts, incuding the backup data. The Airport utility allows me to remove the User Account, that's easy. But will this also remove the backup data? I cannot find anything about this on the Apple site + docs.

Thanks in advance for any response!
Anton
azeeuwnl is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup iTunes library on Time Capsule to Another Time Capsule? schmidt65 OS X 0 Jul 27, 2011 03:47 AM
Recovering formatted Time Capsule gwelmarten Mac Peripherals 1 Jun 23, 2011 01:53 PM
Apple TV 2 & iTunes library on Time Capsule bmorris Apple TV and Home Theater 11 Mar 18, 2011 03:02 PM
How to set up 2 Time Capsules in separate rooms? icapricorn Mac Peripherals 12 Jan 5, 2011 07:25 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC