Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2008, 10:59 PM   #1
dong08
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Steps to bypass passcode on iPhone 3G OS 2.2

iPhone setting:*
- Auto-Lock: 1 Minute;*
- Passcode Lock: On, require passcode immediately, after 15 min or 4 hours etc;*
- Network: Turn 3G Off

Scenario 1: Home screen is active with screen on*
1. Press power button for seconds until asked to '"slide to power off"
2. Slide to power off
3. press power button to turn on iPhone
4.*When asked to enter passcode, touch the "Cancel" key, then slide to unlock
5. bypassed passcode

Scenario 2:*
1. On the screen of being asked to enter passcode, press power button for seconds until asked to '"slide to power off"
2.*Slide to power off
3. press power button to turn on iPhone
4.*When asked to enter passcode, DO NOT touch any key on the screen, press power button for seconds until asked to '"slide to power off"
5. Slide to power off
6. press power button to turn on iPhone
7.*When asked to enter passcode, touch the "Cancel" key on the right bottom corner, then slide to unlock
8. bypassed passcode

Notes:
1. When Network setting changes to Enable 3G: ON, “3G” signal shows up, passcode CANNOT be passed through
Go to a underground parking lot or a lift where 3G signal is weak, when 3G signal switches to “E” (Edge), passcode CAN be passed through following above steps
2. When no 3G or Edge signal, above steps don’t work

Conclusion:
Seems passcode security is related to network status
Possible security hole under Edge

ref: http://www.glandell.com/iphone/bypas...de-os-2.2.html

Last edited by dong08; Dec 5, 2008 at 11:10 PM.
dong08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2008, 11:01 PM   #2
sergiuria
macrumors 6502a
 
sergiuria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Near a bunch of T-Rex
Can anyone one confirm this?
sergiuria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2008, 11:07 PM   #3
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 68040
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
Doesn't work for me. Either method.

They also closed the "double-click the home key to bring up your quick-dial list in emergency dial" hole.

If you had the shortcut set so that you could double-click the home key to bring up your quick-dial list; you used to be able to do that when in "emergency dial" mode, and get from there into your entire address book, send an SMS, open a web browser (if you had a URL in one of your contacts,) etc. Basically anything you could do directly from the quick-dial page, you could do. Including moving over to other apps.
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2008, 11:15 PM   #4
dong08
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
This works only when 'E' showing on status bar so far.
I will post some video to show it if I am not busy recently.
This is a security hole, totally bypass passcode.
dong08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2008, 01:02 AM   #5
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 68040
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
Sorry, tried it again; both on my 3G iPhone with 3G disabled, and my wife's original iPhone. Doesn't work.

Tried it in a part of the house that I get a roaming signal instead of a native AT&T. Tried it where I don't get any cell signal.

Tried it with WiFi on and connected, tried it with WiFi on but disconnected, and tried it with WiFi off.

Tried it in Airplane mode.

Doesn't work.
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2008, 03:10 AM   #6
dong08
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I have put a video at:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NWORUthyZU

Try it while iPhone working on Edge and wifi disconnected.

I have tested on two iPhones, it works as expected.

If no wireless signal or working on 3G or wifi connected, it does not work.

If 3G on, try to make signal weak, when iPhone switches to Edge, it also works.

It is simple, but a little tricky.
dong08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2008, 03:04 PM   #7
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 68040
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
Quote:
Originally Posted by dong08 View Post
I have put a video at:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NWORUthyZU

Try it while iPhone working on Edge and wifi disconnected.

I have tested on two iPhones, it works as expected.

If no wireless signal or working on 3G or wifi connected, it does not work.

If 3G on, try to make signal weak, when iPhone switches to Edge, it also works.

It is simple, but a little tricky.
Very odd. I wonder what either I'm doing wrong, or what is different about our phones.
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2008, 10:17 PM   #8
dong08
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehurtley View Post
Very odd. I wonder what either I'm doing wrong, or what is different about our phones.
So what info do you need to reproduce it?
dong08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2008, 11:13 PM   #9
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 68040
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
Quote:
Originally Posted by dong08 View Post
So what info do you need to reproduce it?
I have no idea. I'm following your instructions (and the demo in the video) to the letter.
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2011, 05:34 PM   #10
NewtonsHEAD.com
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
no luck here either...

I have been trying to exercise this method with a 3GS & it is not working. I have tried numerous ways with various settings...
NewtonsHEAD.com is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2011, 05:36 PM   #11
enoC
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewtonsHEAD.com View Post
I have been trying to exercise this method with a 3GS & it is not working. I have tried numerous ways with various settings...
Can I borrow your timemachine?
__________________
|iPhone 5|32 GB|iOS 7B|
|iPad 3 Wifi|16 GB|iOS 7B|
|MacBook Pro Retina 2,3 GHz|
enoC is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
passcode bypass for apps vhl71 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Apr 8, 2014 09:53 PM
iPhone: How easy to bypass 4 digit passcode on jailbroken Iphone 4S fox777 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 9 Oct 29, 2012 01:30 PM
Resolved: Need to bypass iphone 3gs passcode (no i did not steal it) Darthmnkyrpm iPhone 11 Sep 5, 2012 01:24 PM
Ipod 4 passcode Bypass amar4ever iPod touch 3 Aug 24, 2012 10:36 PM
Help w/ passcode bypass kreno99 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 9 Jun 24, 2012 11:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC